We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Butterfly on Prat
Ranked #50 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times, and have no complaints whatsoever.
The rooms a clean, tidy, and a reasonable size compared to others in the area I have tried.
The staff are very friendly, and helpful too.
No breakfast served, but the are many good, cheap places a few metres away.
Free WiFi is included, and it is quite fast too.
I will definitely come here again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay. We are delighted to learn that you had a great experience at Butterfly on Prat, that you enjoyed our central location and friendly guest services. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    1,182
    241
    54
    23
See reviews for
575
910
285
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Ideal place for shopping and entertainment. The hotel is very modern and bright and rooms are small but clean and well equipped. Great restaurants and bars close by and like most of Hong Kong transport is amazing and efficient. The staff are friendly and efficient and I was impressed that when my room that I was allocated had a problem I was immediately upgraded and moved to a suite. Overall I would recommend this hotel highly and I enjoyed my short stay greatly. It was also good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are preferable and pay the small extra charge for a signature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 581Robroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review and appreciation! We are thrilled to know that you found our hotel location an ideal one, and were impressed by our friendly guest services team. It's our goal to offer each one of our guest a satisfying, enjoyable experience and we are glad it's what you feel as well. Thanks again for your recommendation, we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed over here just one night for transit. A room is very small and it isn't allowed to open a certain in a room. i glanced outside from the windows and I understood why I shouldn't open it. There was a building very close to the room... as there is in HongKong.
Anyway, a room was very clean and staffs works well enough and quickly, i love their quick working style in HongKong. I needed to get on a MTR to go to Guangzhou so i choose this hotel, and it took 5min from the hotel to the HongHum station by a taxi.

There aren't anything in a fridge of a room. Only 2 bottles of water are prepared.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHKRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thanks for the review. We are glad that you enjoy our convenient location and our friendly guest services team so much. Next time when you are coming back for a longer vacation we hope to be your host again and to offer you an even more satisfying experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here either side of a week in China. First for 4 nights and then 6 on second occasion. Easy taxi ride from Kowloon MTR station on airport express line into HK. About 10 minutes walk to the waterfront & Star Ferry, and only a few minutes walk to the nearest MTR station. Close to local shops and restaurants.
Both rooms we booked had a fridge was very useful. Shower excellent and we had no problems with the wifi for our i-pad. Air con seemed very efficient.
Staff all friendly and happy to help whenever asked. Check-in and check out both very easy and desk open 24/7.
No restaurant but cafe just round the corner for breakfast.
We'd go there again if we go back to HK as it was such good value for money.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the highest floor you can get. Some nights there was a disco down the street that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We feel fabulous that you found everything great here at Butterfly on Prat. It's lovely that we are capable to offer you a comfortable and convenient experience, we definitely look forward to be at your service again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I would first like to not that calling this hotel "simple" isn't necessarily a bad thing. It is a nice, comfortable hotel in the heart of Kowloon, but there really are no amenities at the hotel.

My experience at the Butterfly was short. My one night stay was in a fairly comfortable room. Though there are limited amenities, there are a lot of food options in the immediate vicinity.

The Butterfly on Pratt is a great location and jumping off point for Hong Kong, just don't go there expecting more than a nice rest, which is really all you need a hotel for anyway I suppose.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smuckuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoy this one night stay over with us and found our location convenient. Besides being 'simple', we believe Butterfly is more than capable to offer you much more memorable experience. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer and more pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We love the location. It's 2-minute walk to the MTR, 1-lane away from the airport express bus stop, and several eating places are just down the road. The deluxe room is of a comfortable size for a tall couple like us.

The wifi was unstable. We addressed it to the staff. The hotel was only able to rectify it on the third day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence191213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It's great to hear that you like hotel location and found our deluxe room comfortable for your stay. But we also wish to extend our apologize regarding the lead time for fixing the Wi-Fi connection issue, the efficiently of such is way from our usual standard and we will surely review and make improvement on that. We are glad your overall experience is a nice one and we hope to see you again soon at Butterfly on Prat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Like others commented there are a lack of amenities- it's sometimes nice to have a lobby to wait for others rather than a couple of plastic chairs. Having said that check in was quick and fast lifts. Rooms small ( even the de-luxe) but functional with good free Internet and decent showers. I did get woken up several times by a banging fire door beside my room which the cleaners used but hopefully they will have fixed that. We paid a high rate as it was sevens weekend but overall not a bad choice for location and amenities surrounding being 5 mins from MTR and 10 mins from star ferry. Perfect for a no frills stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your recent experience with us! It is so great that you found our conveniently location and efficient guest services to be good. We apologize for the noise that you experienced in the morning, it's not up to our usual standard and we will surely review and rectify it timely.

We are glad you had an overall nice stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Property: Butterfly on Prat
Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of pulsating Tsim Sha Tsui, Butterfly on Prat is the ideal launch pad to indulge in the best shopping, museums and panorama Hong Kong has to offer. Step outside of the hip and chic comforts of the hotel and loose yourself in the mega shopping maze of Harbour City. Go catch up with arts, culture and past of the ex-colony, wine and dine Michelin-grade gourmets and drink in the uninterrupted views of some of the world's finest skylines. Whatever you do in this part of town, you simply wish you'd have more eyes, ears, taste buds and time. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! And once your heady day is over, return to the stylish relief of our 158 rooms, where branded amenities and device-friendly docking stations mix with free Wi-Fi and strong pops of colours to craft enhanced inspirations for both work and play. Guests will even get the treat of a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Families with children are well taken care of too, with thoughtful amenities and ample space to fit comfortably a family of four. Whenever help is needed, our 24-hour front desk is on stand-by. Need travel advice? Try our 'Local Ambassadors'! How well connected are we? - 4-minute walk to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Kowloon Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing