We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Introduction to Hong Kong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Butterfly on Prat
Ranked #51 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing Introduction to Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

This was our first time in Hong Kong. We followed recommendations found on Tripadvisor and booked via www.asiatravel.com. The whole experience was amazing! We took Airport Express from the airport to Kowloon and then jumped on Airport Express' free shuttle to the Park Hotel (they don't drop off at Butterfly). The Park is a block away. We walked through the alley and were right in front of Butterfly. It was the easiest/cheapest airport to hotel experience we've ever experienced. We arrived around 1PM and were instantly checked-in, upgraded, and shown to our room. The service was impeccable and the room was spacious and gorgeous.

We immediately began to explore our location and found that we were situated perfectly! We were near two MTR stations (Tsim Sha Tsui and East Tsim Sha Tsui), the waterfront, Peninsula, and all the action that Tsim Sha Tsui has to offer. What an amazing experience!

The hotel provides two laptops in the lobby for internet access. We used this service often. Although the location doesn't provide for privacy, the service was appreciated.

We were on the 10th floor and could occassionally hear the party on the street. This didn't bother us at all, though. It actually made us smile because we were so happy to be located so close to the action.

The hotel restaurant appeared to be closed for renovations. We didn't ask to confirm because we didn't care.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    1,166
    240
    53
    22
See reviews for
556
893
279
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

Hotel is situated just 3 min walk of the MTR station, nearby there are lots of local restaurants and you just walk a little bit away to see those shopping malls. There is a karaoke and pub next to it so at night there is a bit noise, but overall the experience is good. Staff are friendly and room is good for 2 people, they only have double bed. Their baby cot is new too. A little downside is the toilet, which seems that the staff didn't clean it properly, but the shower space is ok. Will stay there again for more crazy shopping if I have chance!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemjewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

A very nice hotel on the best location possible. Kowloon is from a tourist point of view much nicer to stay then HK island. Rooms are clean and new. Because the serve NO breakfast, the room has a cooker and a microwave. But just go around the corner to have breakfast in one of the bars / restaurants. Recommended !!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prodessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

excellent hotle stay - brand new rooms and very good ambience...good for honeymooners, as well as newly weds..great interiors..keep it up!!!!

  • Liked — therroms and its decor
  • Disliked — the bathrooms had transparent doors..
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank corvinaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

I do find Butterfly on Prat is valued for money as the room is big in Hong Kong standard. The room is clean maybe because it's new. The hotel lobby may be small but trendy. Location wise, I won't say it's far from MTR stations but still a walking distance. If you are traveling with elderly, you may find this hotel is noisy during night time as there are a few pubs along the street. There's a 24 hours restaurant few doors away, which is convenient and Neway Karaoke is just next door. I'll definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends...

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catlazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2009

I booked this hotel and stay for one night with my beloved one as it was our anniversary.
Upon check in, the staff was very nice and check it was very efficient. Surprise was that original I booked a Superior room somehow the hotel upgrade our room to Deluxe room remain the same price.

The room size was comparably large compare to other new boutique hotels in Tsim Sha Tsui area and be honest, land in Hong Kong is very variable and don't think it's like you can get a 100 sq. m standard room in other countries.

Normally there are bathroom amenities, slippers, tooth brush and tooth paste in the room. But when we explore more in the room, we realize there was nothing in the mini-bar and there was no slippers & tooth brush/paste but only bathroom amenities. When I called down to the front desk and enquired on such, they explain due to environmental friendly, slippers and tooth brush/paste are on-request. Fair for me I think as now people always talking about save the world. Still I asked for two pairs of slippers and two sets of tooth brush/paste. The room attendant showed up within 5 minutes and gave us what we ask.

It was a bit noisy outside at night because there are some local bars and karaoke outthere, and we realized the Deluxe is facing the main street and the Superior room is facing the back street. So it's talking about give and take: a smaller quiet room OR a bigger room with some noise from outside.

For the bathroom, the glass is transparent which you can see what people are doing from inside the bathroom. This I wouldn't mind because I came here with my family. For business traveler if you share a room with your colleages, you may ask the staff to give you a room with cover on the toilet glass.

Other than that I would say it was nice and my other half and I have a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insomnialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worlds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Butterfly on Prat is located in a dense populated area TST, it has a great transport link from/to airport by bus or MTR.

The room was clean, tidy and simple - a door-lock problem was occurred when we stayed there, the door-handle was loosed and the key cannot open the locked door - but it was repaired immediately. There are in-room safe box, refrigerator, microwave, LCD TV and free internet connection for deluxe room (although, there is a problem at the first night which caused us to move to the next door room in order to get a plug-in internet connection).

Bathroom was small but clean with standard amenities - rain droop shower was good and the water pressure was strong enough to release your fatigue after long flight trip or a hectic day.

Pictures tell us a lot, so trust them :-) - overall, it is a recommended one and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripaddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#81 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#82 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Property: Butterfly on Prat
Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of pulsating Tsim Sha Tsui, Butterfly on Prat is the ideal launch pad to indulge in the best shopping, museums and panorama Hong Kong has to offer. Step outside of the hip and chic comforts of the hotel and loose yourself in the mega shopping maze of Harbour City. Go catch up with arts, culture and past of the ex-colony, wine and dine Michelin-grade gourmets and drink in the uninterrupted views of some of the world's finest skylines. Whatever you do in this part of town, you simply wish you'd have more eyes, ears, taste buds and time. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! And once your heady day is over, return to the stylish relief of our 158 rooms, where branded amenities and device-friendly docking stations mix with free Wi-Fi and strong pops of colours to craft enhanced inspirations for both work and play. Guests will even get the treat of a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Families with children are well taken care of too, with thoughtful amenities and ample space to fit comfortably a family of four. Whenever help is needed, our 24-hour front desk is on stand-by. Need travel advice? Try our 'Local Ambassadors'! How well connected are we? - 4-minute walk to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Kowloon Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick and Ctrip TA so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing