We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape from the ordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #52 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Escape from the ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here for a week when visiting family in nearby Tai Po. In our experience the Hyatt turned out to be an excellent choice, very convenient by metro to Tai Po or Sha Tin. Getting to the HK city centre is also ok but requires either 1 or 2 changes of train. Travel is very easy and user-friendly for English speakers. Trains generally arrive every 2 minutes and are clean and air-conditioned.

The hotel itself is a modern 5-star with 26 floors of rooms featuring either harbour or mountain views. There is a full range of high-quality facilities including business and fitness centres, outdoor pool and choices of bars and restaurants. As with most hotels in this part of the world, there is an abundance of staff who have a passion for providing outstanding levels of service. We were constantly delighted by their professionalism and commitment; even when passing staff in a corridor or lift they would always take time to ask if they could do anything for us. They also show a real talent for remembering your drink preferences right through from breakfast to late night.

At various times we tried all of the food and drink venues and found them to be uniformly excellent. The classy Tin-Tin bar has live mellow jazz from 8pm and offers food choices from both the western and Chinese restaurants. The ground-floor Café has lunch and evening buffets which seemed to be extremely popular with local families, particularly over the weekend. The a-la-carte dining is in a separate and quieter area with an excellent choice of western-style food from snacks to full meals. The Sha Tin 18 Chinese restaurant had a delightful offering of local dishes, beautifully prepared and served with great style and passion. The Pool Bar was a superb outdoor oasis and the staff there were just amazing in their knowledge and standard of service. They take great pride in anticipating your needs and making sure that you are constantly cared for. Throughout the hotel we found that all front-line staff were very proficient in English.

There is a comprehensive choice of room types including standard and 'Regency'. Regency rooms are more expensive but include extras like dedicated staff, free wi-fi and access to the 25th-floor Regency Club for complimentary breakfast, all-day tea and coffee, and evening drinks and nibbles. These extras made the additional cost worthwhile. We found the breakfast to be excellent, served by very attentive staff in a far more intimate setting than the main hotel restaurant. There is a choice of western or Asian dishes cooked to order, plus an impressive buffet. The club caters for a relatively small number of guests so the spread is necessarily more modest than a Vegas mega-buffet but is nevertheless very well thought out with plenty of options. The buffet food was always fresh and beautifully presented. You also get great views across Tolo Harbour from this exclusive eyrie; a wonderful way to start the day.

We are aware that our review may sound a bit too good to be true, but we tell it as we found it; it really is a very, very good hotel that makes guests feel really spoilt. Just occasionally some of the younger staff could show a bit of inexperience but they made up for it with an abundance of enthusiasm and goodwill. The managers were very attentive and did a great job of making sure that everything went smoothly.

High summer is the quieter season for tourism in Hong Kong (it can be very hot and wet) so the hotel did not seem to be overly crowded and we were given a complimentary upgrade from a Regency Club room to a 2-room Regency Suite. Our rooms were large, comfortable, modern and very clean with magnificent harbour views from the full width, floor to ceiling windows. The whole hotel experience was so consistently above expectations that we'll definitely be back next time we are in HK.

The fitness centre has modern, 24-speed mountain bikes for a reasonable hire (about AUD/USD$15 for 3 hours). They also had a range of smaller bikes suitable for children. Cycling on the busy highway in front of the hotel could be a bit suicidal but there is an excellent harbourside cycleway with safe access from the hotel. It is a flat and scenic 6km ride to the Tai Po waterfront park, very enjoyable early in the day but take plenty of sunscreen and water. There are toilets, kiosks and drink vending machines along the way so it is a very pleasant ride before it gets too hot. The vending machines work with the same Octopus card that you use for the railway, buses, harbour ferries, convenience stores and other uses. Take a hat on sunny days – bicycle helmets are not provided and are rarely used in HK.

For a little extra treat we pre-booked the limousine transfer service to and from the airport, and we can certainly recommend it. It is only slightly more expensive than a regular taxi but a world apart in comfort and convenience. HK taxis are cheap, but the vehicles are mostly small and tired. Also you have to make sure you get into the right one – they have a strict zone system so not all taxis are allowed to go to the hotel. We had the experience of getting settled into a taxi, then getting out of the taxi, and then having to search for a different colour taxi just for the short ride from Tai Po back to the hotel. In contrast, the airport limo transfer was effortless and indulgent. A Hyatt representative was waiting in the arrival hall and immediately took over our luggage so we didn't touch it again until we were in our room. The limo offers plenty of space and legroom, bottled water, English newspaper, quiet music and a super-polite and caring driver. The driver also shepherded us directly up to the Regency Club where there was a welcome drink and dedicated check-in. We booked the arrival transfer through the web e-concierge service and this worked well. For the departure we booked through the desk in the Regency Club and this too worked well. Our luggage was collected from our room and next seen at the airport. As we drove away from the hotel there was an impressive line-up of suits outside the main entrance to wave goodbye, and they kept on waving until we were out of site. A lovely and unexpected touch.

Overall we find it hard to find any negative points in this hotel. We had a great time and were frequently delighted with the exceptional level of service and hospitality. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus_and_Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Marcus and Wendy, thank you very much for taking your time to post such a detailed review of our hotel. We are extremely delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that our team's efforts are recognized by our guests. Your compliments and encouragement will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sha Tin. Best regards, Robert Hamer - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    611
    117
    30
    27
See reviews for
354
337
145
564
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed for 2 peaceful and well rested nights. I agree its slightly away from the city life. By MTR its about 35 minutes to Hong Kong Central and requires 2 interchanges also. By cab, it should be around/less than 200 HKD to Central including toll charges. Didn't try that one but its an approximate figure.

First of all, let me comment about the customer service I received for the hotel booking. I was booking the room through Hyatt website but at payment confirmation page, my card was not getting accepted because the booking system accepts cards with maximum expiry year of 2019 only. Hence online booking was not possible for me. I called the reservation on phone and they in turn connected me to central reservation desk where the person proceeded to collect my card details and informed kindly that I do not need to make a prepayment until I arrive at the hotel even though the room I was booking was on "Advance Purchase - Full prepayment" offer only. Well, I was very much impressed by this gesture. And a note to those who read this - "Hyatt Sha Tin has one of the cheapest rates for a 5 star hotel in Hong Kong".

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised to get a room upgrade to Harbour View King and the check in process hardly took around 10 minutes. The room was well furnished and the views were amazing. The best part of the room was that, I could soak myself in the bath tub and watch the TV in the bedroom without twisting my head in any awkward angle. The whole stay was very very comfortable.

We did have dinner at the Cafe and the buffet spread was excellent. The desserts were excellent. Especially the pan cakes. Don't miss that one. You can choose what all toppings to go into it. The Cafe Manager was always ensuring that all guests get what they want and he personally came to our table along with few more assistants and sang Happy Anniversary / Birthday for us and made us cut a small cake as well.

Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay and totally felt like being at home.

Room Tip: Pick a harbour view room. Its definitely worth it and would be the cheapest 5 star harbour view in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Arryan,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us, we are thrilled by your comments. Everyone of us are very proud of our rooms, restaurants and employees. We all enjoy your review, and it certainly made their day. Please visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We brought our son to HK to celebrate his 4 yr old b'day. We chose to stay at Hyatt, Shatin mainly because of its Kids Club. Booked for 3 consecutive nights (Hyatt's website) and we were given an upgrade to a 1 bdrm executive deluxe. We loved the bedroom so much that we didn't want to go anywhere else. It's large and has the view of the mountains, waterfall and the constant MTR plying in front of us (minus the noise). We only left the hotel twice for an early lunch and some shopping at Shatin shopping center (2 MTR stops away). The rest of the time we spent in the room watching free in-house movies. Our stay was made extra special when my son was given a complimentary birthday cake (large chunks of fruits) which was so yummy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirthdayGirlNov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear BirthdayGirlNov,

Thanks you for the compliments and happy belated birthday to your son! We are happy to know that you and your family enjoy your stay here. Our Camp Hyatt is an excellent place for children and we often receive great comments from them as well as their parents. Thank you so much for your 5-star review and hope to see you back with us soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, we wanted a quiet, tucked away location that was still easy to do some sightseeing from. Our room was everything we had expected of an esteemed hotel, lovely bed, big tub and great shower. The front desk staff was very proffesional and helpful during our entire stay.

We had the barbeque buffet on our first night and it certainly did not disappoint, fresh and perfectly prepared meat and fish made to order, followed by a lovely dessert selection. Ordered from the menu for every other meal and every dish was great. Tin Tin Bar for happy hour each night was a delight.... enjoyed the cocktails and entertainment (vocalist and pianist) very much.

All in all a lovely stay, would recommend to anyone who wishes to have a nice break away from the husle and bustle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devilish_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here when visiting local relatives, just one stop on the metro to the main area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhysManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear RhysManchester,

Thanks for taking your time, we really like our location and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

A regular guest at this hotel, the service standards are continously increasing. The staff, service, ambience, nearess to metro..everything is perfect. The only thing better could be the price of the buffet breakfast for the in- house guests. The harbour view rooms provide a better view though both types of rooms are equally good. Try out the buffet lunch at its restaurant...it is nice!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanChd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear sanChd,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you found our hotel both convenient and comfortable. I must agree that our harbour view rooms and buffet at Cafe are unbeatable! We will share your comment with our team and look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a little way out of the cente of Kowloon but a lovely fresh greeen alternative to the concrette and traffic. The service at the hotel is superb and the food is excellent. There is a super pattiserie pastry shop in the lobby which is a perfect alternative if you arrive back too late. I have stayed there 5 times now and all fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Neeta52,

Thank you for the 5 Stars review! We are thrilled to hear that you have an excellent stay and we look forward for your 6th visit! Thank you for sharing your review, we really appreciate it.

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Royal Park Hotel
#44 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#73 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#36 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 559 guestrooms and suites, including 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing