We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Nearby Hotels
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotel Direct
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,064)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveller rating
1,077
751
147
46
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
751
147
46
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuniversity stationnew territoriestolo harbourchinese universityscience parkthe tin tin bartai popeking duckmountain viewnew town plazachinese restaurantfitness centerfive star hotelbreakfast buffetthe club loungespacious roomcomfortable hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,006 - 1,011 of 2,064 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt Hotel in Sha Tin is one of my favourite hotels in Hong Kong. From experience, having stayed there many times it is also the most friendly. Located in the New Territories it offers a much more peaceful setting than the hustle and bustle of the Island or Kowloon. It is actually located besides University MTR and one should avoid referring to the hotel as Sha Tin as taxi drivers will sure be confused. It is located next to the Chinese University of HK.

I make my reservation directly with the hotel and always stay on the Regency Club floor. The hotel is super efficient and the Club staff go out of their way to be helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they are a great aide in planning meetings and working out logistics. The hotel has two good restaurants Shatin 18 which is Chinese and an international buffet restaurant on the lobby level. The bar next to Shatin 18 is a good place to unwind - enjoy a beer and some pub food whilst listening to a Filipina singing her heart out!!

The swimming pool is very pleasant and generally not overcrowded,

If your staying a few days consider the option of having a Harbour facing room - which overlooks the Tolo Harbour and costs approx HK$ 300 extra per night. The Regency Club has indoor and outdoor seating which is magnificent to watch the sundown over the Harbour. Be sure to view the Harbour at night - truly magnificent. Breakfast is served in the morning, and canapés and drinks are served at happy hour.

If you are using a taxi, make sure to ask the hotel staff to explain to the taxi driver in Chinese your destination. Make sure to have 'UNIVERSITY MTR' written on a card in Chinese or photograph the station sign on your mobile phone. Both red (urban) and green (NT) taxi's serve the hotel.

Surely the best hotel in the New Territories, with good access to the Chinese frontier and to the Sai King peninsula. A fraction of the price of more centrally located hotels but with an excellent rail link adjacent and easily accessible. If using MTR - University Exit B is the nearest.

Wifi is good, but at times temperamental requiring you to re-checkin.

My preferred choice unless business dictates otherwise. Relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Nigel G,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. It is our pleasure to know that our rooms and surroundings fulfilled your expectations. Personally I like the live performance at Tin Tin Bar as you do, the singers are amazing! Next time, please also try our newly launched Sha Tin Honey Cake at Patisserie, it is an excellent afternoon delight.

Thanks for your continuous support to our hotel and we look forward to having you again soon.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

hotel location is very good, it's just 5 minutes walk from Metro Station, very convenient for you if you wish to travel by Metro, actually in Hongkong it's the best transportation. but it little far from Airport, and seems no shuttle bus to Airport, taxi fee is too high if you go to airport from Hotel.
hotel property is well maintained and hotel room is clean, quite and comfortable, it's better if you can have sea view room, even it's not very open sea view, Club lounge is very comfortable, and very good quality of food.
I'll recommend this hotel both for leisure and business travel, and price is always attractive for Hyatt Regency like this.

Room Tip: you can try to ask have sea view room, that would be more enjoyable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bandhoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Bandhoot,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are glad that our services and facilities met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Wilson Lee

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Newish hotel with large well planned rooms. Child friendly hotel although we did not try the kids club. Customer service was top class in the Regency Club and other staff we encountered throughout the hotel were also professional, courteous and helpful. Fantastic gym, large pool. A shuttle bus runs to Kowloon 4 times a day. We did take the MTR railway a few times which was easy and about 20 minutes to the main shopping districts - although we seemed to be the only tourists travelling on the line apart from university students. We would prefer to stay here again if returning to HK.

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook Sha Tin bay.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 386EllieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear 386EllieC,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. It is a pleasure to know about your satisfaction regarding our services and facilities and your appreciation of our colleagues. We look forward to your return and hope that you will have the chance to try out Camp Hyatt (our kids’ club) during your next stay, I believe the children will have loads of fun there. See you next time!

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

enjoyed my stay in Hyatt regency , it's quiet and luxury , the reception's employees are meticulously accurate , friendly and professional , rooms are clean,tidy and have an amazing view which overlook Sha Tin bay and the main freeway ,the limo service is very good , i recommend it mainly for business trips in Hong Kong , but it is far away the downtown and the main attractions in Hong Kong island , Lantau island and the airport , we had to take subway from Sha Tin ( University station) to downtown ( Central or Admiralty Station ) and it takes 45 min. duration one way trip , but overall it deserves a five stars ,

Room Tip: Choose a room in higher floor , better view and away from the freeway noise ,,,
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maged E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Maged E,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are glad that our services and facilities were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users. We looking forward to your return soon!

Best regards

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a conference and in that regard it was excellent. Rooms were very big with great desk/business facilities. Gym was one of the best I've seen (great aircon too!) and breakfast had an amazing selection too.

Other than that, location is quite far from central HK with very few dining options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel (other than the hotel itself, which isn't cheap as you can imagine). Probably more of a business rather than holiday hotel if that's what you're after. Awesome for business though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaffiTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews