We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs on 3rd Floor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong
Ranked #172 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs on 3rd Floor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel had a great location and a decent view of Hong Kong from my room......

But they had bed bugs and I got bite, once I told the night staff they said they would change the sheets for me (like that actually helps). Of course I got bit more so I went downstairs and they told me that they have no more rooms for the night. So i rested on the couch and 2 hours later the receptionist for the late night shift showed up and apologized profusely and said she could give me another room instead, luckily it did not have bed bugs!

Of course in the morning they refused to give me any discount or anything. Of course I had to spend $50 getting all my clothes and bag cleaned to get rid of the bugs. I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krishnartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    439
    345
    101
    89
See reviews for
59
334
385
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for a total of 5 nights. The rooms are tiny, but I booked it for the location. It's in LKF, at the top of a long flight of stairs. If you're planning to spend some time in your room, or are a light sleeper - you may want to find another hotel. If you want to be right next to the bars in LKF or be in the center of HK, then this is the hotel for you.

I didn't have any problems with the rooms. Yes they were small, but they were clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was (sometimes too) hot. They do have larger rooms available, which are 2-3x the mini-room sizes and should be spacious enough for almost anyone. Keep in mind, this is HK and hotel rooms lean towards the small & expensive side.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have just checked out after staying 10 nights at M.H.Central. My c.v.: solo traveller, had to have accommodation in Central for $100 USD/AUD or less. A big ask considering the highly desirable area - after a lot of research, reading reviews, and carefully studying what the hotel states it offers, I was very happy to book several months ago for the price I was seeking. I had a single room on the 10th floor with great views out to the bishop's house and surrounding high rises. The housekeepers were lovely and did a great job. Had no issues with cleanliness. They do provide all over body shampoo in the bathroom. I brought 10 plastic coat hangers with me so was able to hang nearly 15kg of clothing on the pegs provided. The room is white, light, and bright - with a lot of really clever touches in the way of pegs, ledges, especially the L shaped ledge on two sides of the bed. My suitcase and carryon went under the bed - and the safe (slides out from under the bed) was really great. The hotel's location is absolutely fantastic, and for this I would give the location more than 5 stars. You can walk to the Peak tram, up Battery Path to St John's Cathedral and the old French Mission, Dr Sun Museum, Hollywood Road, Graham Street markets, IFC Mall, also 15-20 minutes max walk to the ferries. I did all of this. On check-out day (yesterday), I trundled my suitcase down Ice House Street to Queens Road, to the IFC Centre, and then underneath to the airport express. What a cinch, no taxi fares needed. If you are arriving at MHC, do NOT take your suitcase up the next door stairs via Wyndham Street, get a taxi to drop you off at their door, or walk your suitcase up to the hotel from the bottom of Ice House Street. I find it a bit irritating when people moan about the room size and amenities : we all have the responsibility to do our homework and not enter an establishment with unrealistic expectations. This is Asia: space is precious, if you want big rooms with all the frills, then pay hundreds of dollars per night to get this. I will be staying at Mini Hotel Central on my next trip to Hong Kong without any hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianneMuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Leverage on the promo and stayed for 3 nights. Its horrendous. Fancy paying for about $500 for 3 nights is not worthwhile. It stated in the website that there are fully facilities but there is none. Despite a boutique hotel, there still should have toothbrush & toohpaste plus shower cap. But there is none. The exterior and interior of the kettle and hair dryer is filled with black dots which seems like it havent been cleansed for months.The phone is spoilt and cannnot be dialled in or out. Due to the small compound the whole room is filled with stench smell after showering and using the toilet. Rooms are not soundproofed.. The hotel is way too small to evn accomodate 2 pax. I can only climb about on the bed if 1 of them needs to walk to the washroom - only to give way. Also, when we need the receptionist to repeat herself, she showed a really disgruntled look. Luckily... For our last day, we are pleased that we have found a cheap and good hotel in Mongkok. Though a little bigger, they provide fully facilities and all clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBugsBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Beijing
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Location is very good but the rooms are tiny. OK if all you want to do is sleep. No room to work or really relax.

There is a very good lobby area which is good for relaxing, using internet etc.

Cheaper than other and it should be given the smallness of the room.

Good for budget travellers who want better than some of the regular small and cheap rooms in HK.

Clean and good free wifi in room etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and that was enough to last me a lifetime! Rooms are tiny (as expected) but also not overly clean. Every time I showered or used the sink the room was filled with a sewage-like stench. Hallways were in a state of disrepair with torn carpets etc. Rooms were not soundproofed or even close. It is close to central station but there are many, many steps that need to be walked up so if you have luggage you will want to get a taxi – I was absolutely exhausted when I finally got up to the hotel. The location of this hotel is very good in central Hong Kong Island though. For the same area, I could only find rooms that were double the price of this place and if I were to return to Hong Kong I would definitely pay the price to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgysnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

It's not good option, if you want to stay in HongKong. Every thing is very small and wet in the room.
Mini hotel is nearby the Central Station on the map, but it's not truth. There are lots of stairs on the way to hotel. If you have large or heavy luggage, I'll recommend you to take the taxi.

房間小又溼,隔間是使用玻璃,如果不是好朋友或家人的話建議完美不要考慮這間.
另外在地圖上飯店離中環站很近,但實際上中間有很多的階梯,如果有大行李的人,建議搭計程車吧

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WuJungLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Bishop Lei International House
#151 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
#169 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#35 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong

Property: Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong
Address: No.38 Ice House Street, Lan Kwai Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Ice House Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice House Serviced Apartments Hotel Hong Kong
Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing