We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for a budget price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong
Ranked #175 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient location for a budget price”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mini Hotel Central at the beginning of August for 4 nights whilst visiting family. Fantastic location, minutes from Lan Kwai Fong (late night drinking), MTR, trams and the Hong Kong Station (to airport).

The Hotel is up some steep steps so some people may find it difficult to get to with luggage. We originally took a taxi as I wasn't 100% sure where it was, only cost HK$22 and literally a 5 minute journey from the Station. On our departure, we simply walked down to the Station as we just dragged our luggage down Ice House Street.

The rooms as the hotel name suggests, are small but convenient. A double bed with shower and toilet, safe deposit box under the bed and air-conditioning. Adequate for our needs and the price is definitely a bargain compared to other hotels in the same area. My only negative bit is that the bed was quite hard but I guess that is personal preference. Walls are quite thin between rooms as we could hear next door's conversation word-by-word!

We had arrived at 8am and checked-in but our room wasn't available yet, which we were aware. A HK$600 is required as deposit, refundable upon checking out. We left our luggage at reception and walked to City Hall to have dim-sum at Maxim's Palace; the tradional way with ladies pushing trolleys laden with food and the menus are in English too.

Food isn't available at the hotel however they have vending machines in the hotel lobby containing snacks and essentials (toothpaste etc). 7-11's are within walking distance and we found the Tsui Wah restaurant in Wellington Street to be quite reasonable with food from all cultures and an English menu; they are also open 24/7!

We did have problems operating our safe however reception dealt with it promptly. They also disposed our broken (from our flight over) luggage without any issues. Albert (the manager, I believe) was very welcoming and always greeted us with a smile and always had time to ask us about our day. House-keeping staff were efficient and the hotel elevators were also readily available when required compared to our previous stays at other hotels in Hong Kong.

Overall, both me and my partner were happy with the room and location, and we will definitely be returning to Mini Hotel in Hong Kong!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dezidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Our value guest,

Many thanks for having taken your valuable time to share you feedback about your recent stay at mini hotel central with the tripadvisor.com

We appreciate all your kind words and rest assured and we definitely welcome you back to our
hotel in not distant future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
mini hotel central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    466
    365
    105
    104
See reviews for
65
353
422
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

mini hotel is very nearest to central. it's covenient!:)
but room is too narrow space,unfortunately...
can't open the suitcase.

・free WIFI
・hear dryer
・kettle
・towel

that's it!!!

ミニホテル^ ^
名前の通り部屋がめちゃ狭かったです。
スーツケースを広げるスペースがないくらい。
なので、ベッドの上で広げるしかないです。
ただ、無料Wi-Fiが唯一良いところですかね。
あと、セントラル(中環)に近いところが
便利ですかね…55段の階段の昇り降りがありますが。

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_TANAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for devoting your valuable comment to mini hotel central with tripadvisor.com

We definitely welcome you back to our hotel in future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
mini hotel central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very chic yet comfortable hotel in Central District Hong Kong...

Room = Mini
Bed = Mini
Bathroom = Mini

All in Mini size, but still lovely.
Great for people who wants to hang out in Lan Kwai Fong (LKF)

P.S : The location might be very tricky, so prepare your detailed map before arriving to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErickGiovano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr. Giovano,

Many thanks for having taken the time to share your feedback about your recent visit to mini hotel central with the tripadvisor.com .

We are glad to hear that you have a good time with us during your stay. We look forward to serving you in future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
mini hotel central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. I had local friends come and visit me and all of them were amazed at the rate for a room in that location of the city. It's located within short walking distance to the financial center, subway station, airport train, trendy shops and restaurants, and the best night scenes in Hong Kong, namely Lan Kwai Fong and SoHo.

The size of the room adheres to the hotel's name, mini. It was a really small room, but clean, and it had a shower inside. There were very little amenities in the room and you had to buy anything if you needed it, like an electrical socket adapter, and water. The staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely would try to go to the same hotel if I decide to visit the city again.

Room Tip: I had a very small room, but it had a full bathroom with shower. If you need anything extra, like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Mr. P Richard,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at mini hotel central on tripadvisor.com

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our hotel personalized service during stay. We hope that you will come back to our hotel in future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
mini hotel central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Mini hotel at Central, HK started out to be a great deal in the beginning, and turns out to be a combination of simpleness and economy. Located at the heart of the HK nightlife, you can be sure you'll never get lost in the sophisticated LKF alleys!
**GUYS SPECIFIC** A great place if you're looking for some love.
This hotel has its downs too.
1. User unfriendly air-con system
2. Limited shower space and toilet
3. Excessive loud noise level at LKF

In conclusion, if you're looking for a great deal, and you dont really give a damn about the room size and bathroom area, this is a helluva deal for sure! Mini hotel @central is trully simple and botique.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lesterk96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Our value guest,

Thank you for devoting your valuable comment to the mini hotel central with Tripadvisor.com.

We definetely welcome you back to our hotel in not distant future !

Yours Faithfully,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
mini hotel central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I booked 5 nights stay in this hotel, during our 2nd day, after long day out what we want is a good rest, there was air con pipe leakage inside our room when we returned to our hotel room after a long day!! The floor, wall shelving, our luggage and some documents that placed under the leakage pipe are all wet!!!

When I report this incident to front desk manager thru phone, another round of nightmare begin , due to poor reception from the front desk, the manager simply just cut off my phone without put in any effort to call back. After my 3rd attempts and explain the situation to the front desk manager Albert, and he know my situation, he dont even apologize for all these inconvenient caused!! I requested to change the room, he didnt agreed at first , he arranged a guest service staff to came and check. After confirmed that it was the air cond pipe leakage, he then allowed me to change the room and just reminded me to return all my existing room keys to service room staff!!!!
What kind of service is this!!!! From a hotel front desk manager!!!?? and not a single word with regarding to our wet luggages and documents due to this aircon pipe leakage!!!!
We are not going to book Mini Central Hotel again!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Christoper C,

Thank you for giving us your valuable comment to mini hotel central with Tripadvisor.com. We will strengthen the customer service training to our staff to ensure our guests are able to enjoy good quality of services.

Please accept our apology for your recent stay experience with us and do stay with us if you
need any booking assistance from us.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future !

Yours sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
mini hotel central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I staid in the hotel only one night between a flight and the other. Surely the position is the strong point, however not so convenient to walk there if you have even a light luggage. I was prepared to find a really small room - as it was- whose cleanness can be improved, especially for the washroom that is practically behind your pillow! A chinese family was sleeping in the room closed to mine and in the very early morning I was waken up by such a noise as they were in my same room.... Finally reception people are just ok, no more. I would not recommend, in two weeks I'll be again in hk and I've chosen to stay in another hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Chiara,

Thank you for devoting your valuable comments to mini hotel central with Tripadvisor.com.

We look forward to serving you at our hotel in future !

With warmest regards,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
mini hotel central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#161 of 718 in Hong Kong
668 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
793 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#153 of 718 in Hong Kong
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,695 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong

Property: Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong
Address: No.38 Ice House Street, Lan Kwai Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Ice House Serviced Apartments)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice House Serviced Apartments Hotel Hong Kong
Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing