We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small Room With Bathroom Shower Head ontop of the toilet (All-In-One Shower, Toilet and Sink)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #201 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Small Room With Bathroom Shower Head ontop of the toilet (All-In-One Shower, Toilet and Sink)”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The Casa Hotel standard double room is extremely small, as soon as you walk in the door you take two small steps before you hit the bed.

Behind the room door is a small cubical, which has an all-in-one bathroom shower head, toilet and sink in the one area. This bathroom/toilet area is extremely small. You will not be able to fit in the toilet to go to the toilet properly; if you are bigger than the average asian, you will not fit in the bathroom/toilet area at all!

No one can fit in the shower to have a shower. If you turn on the shower head, you will get everything wet, including the toilet and wash basin as it is all in the same area.

After raising our concerns with the hotel admin staff, they said that this is the standard and provided us with the option to upgrade to a larger room which costs 100 - 300 HK more. From visual inspection of the premium room, the bathroom/toilet area is slightly larger, but still not adequate to fit us in for a proper shower (maybe a very unhealthy skinny short person, but not an average person). Having said all this, the hotel staff was very respectful and did not disagree with us about the bathroom being small. They were helpful by showing us the larger rooms to see if we would like to upgrade.

We booked the Casa hotel through wotif.com. After contacting wotif.com with our concerns, then calling wotif.com on the HK toll free number, the wotif.com admin staff was very helpful and assisted us with cancelling our booking with the hotel straight away.

The wotif.com admin staff confirmed with us that they would not take any cancellation fees, as we have already stayed our first night, and also agreed to stay out our 2nd night (since Casa was going to charge us for 2 nights stay).

Moral of the story:
1. Don't book Casa hotel standard room if you want to take a shower.
2. Always book your hotels through WOTIF.COM, as the admin staff are very helpful. We have always booked through wotif.com, and will always do so in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    405
    252
    52
    16
See reviews for
59
92
108
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Near to MTR exit, within minutes of walk. Nearby convenience store eg 7-11. Easy to get food just behind the hotel. Room is consider ok but small, especially the bathroom..quite difficult to move around for plus size travellers..reasonable price among HK hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Reasonably cheap hotel which is very accessible. 5 mins walk to MTR station. Fantastic location. Rooms are clean but small.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Eugene,

Thank you for choosing Casa Hotel for your recent trip to Hong Kong and for taking the time to write a review of our property.

I am so pleased to note that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the location convenient.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
May | Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

A standard room at the Casa Hotel is perfect for budget travellers expecting no frills. The room is small but clean and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom is a wet room with a decent shower. The location of the hotel is fantastic, a 20 second walk from the Yau Ma Tei MTR Station in Kowloon. It is next to Nathan Road and Temple Street Night Market, which is always a good attraction on the way to bed.
The window is facing the inside of the building, and there is an air con so the room is always fairly cool.
The negative points would be that despite being very clean, the sheets on the bed were not changed everyday and that the tea bags used were hardly ever replaced. Also, the staff at the reception were very polite but not helpful at all. Everytime we asked them for information, they did not know, and even asked us why we wanted to visit a given place, which was a main tourist attraction!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froggyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May L, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Froggyfran,

Thank you for choosing Casa Hotel for your recent trip to Hong Kong and for taking the time to provide us feedback.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the hotel location convenient and the nearby attractions charming. On the other hand, I was disappointed to learn that the staff at reception was not helpful and the tea bags were not available when you were looking for them. I will address these points with the team to help ensure that we will prevent them from re-occurring in the future.

Regarding the bed sheet, we believe that changing sheet every 3 days can contribute to saving thousands of fresh water while also reducing waste water and the use of chemicals. Nevertheless, guests are more than welcome to request more frequent linen service at no charge. Fresh sheets are provided for every new guest.

I hope that you had a pleasant trip in Hong Kong and would love to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
May | Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at Casa for 4 nights. The rooms are really small and the bathrooms are even smaller. The shower in the bathroom is not great at all, and it's right above the sink, so prepare for everything to get wet, however I've been living in Korea for a few years now and these types of showers are typical. It's really not that bad!!

The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was also very very clean. We got clean towels every day.

There's a cafe on the 2nd floor (Casa Cafe) and they do a really nice breakfast for HK$28 including proper tea or coffee. They also do lunch.

It's not even a block from the MTR subway and the bus from the airport (BUS A21) stops opposite the hotel, and the pick up point is also only a block away. It's about HKD33 to take the airport bus. Really convenient!

I would definitely recommend it. It might not be the best hotel in Hong Kong, but we were hardly "home" anyways since we were out exploring every day. Coming back from that, the bed was probably the most comfortable bed in Hong Kong. :) Really enjoyed my stay there.

Just one thing: They do have a HKD300 deposit - which we didn't know of until we arrived. The staff were very friendly - even when we arrived at midnight to check in.

Room Tip: We didn't have a street view at all so maybe ask for that - however Hong Kong is busy, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed there in August 2011 as part of a solo travel. On the good sides the location of the hotel is ok, on Nathan Road. Also the hotel is clean. But frankly the rest was totally disappointing. I had a single room that was amazingly small, even in HK standards. And i was all the more angry about it that I was paying over 75 euros a night! To have such a small room for this price is clearly unacceptable considering there are better hotel around for the same price.

I finally decided to move to another hotel where i got for the same price a room 3 times bigger.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Casa Hotel is very conveniently located in that it is just a stone's throw away from Yaumatei MTR station. There is also a direct bus which goes to the airport at a very reasonable price - the exact amount I have forgotten.

The interior of the hotel is fairly new though the exterior is that of a very old building. Room rates are reasonable for that particular part of Hong Kong (HK).

We got a deluxe room. While I had gone with the expectation that rooms in HK are small, I had not expected it to be so small, especially the washroom! The toilet "walls" are made of frosted glass so it can be a little embarrassing. Moreover, there toilet door has a opening at the top which means your room mate can practically hear everything that you do in the toilet!

Otherwise, the room is fairly clean with a small flat screen TV and kettle. It is decent for a short stay. Prepare for a long wait for the small sized lifts every morning as guests check out with their luggages.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. But I might pay a bit more to stay at the newer Langham which is down the road.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sherrie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#185 of 717 in Hong Kong
109 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#120 of 717 in Hong Kong
255 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#171 of 717 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#280 of 717 in Hong Kong
163 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#167 of 717 in Hong Kong
650 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.487-489 Nathan Road, Yau Ma Tei Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Hotel Hong Kong 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing