We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to expectations ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #56 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations ”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel property is nice enough. The entrance lobby is grand (although always smells heavily of cheap air freshener), and the hotel pool is fantastic with skyline views. Our room was compact (we had a standard room) but offered everything needed for a city break.

Our main issue was the poor levels of service from the staff. With the odd exception, check-in staff, concierge and bar staff were disinterested to the point of being rude. We were quite taken aback with this, given the hotel rating.

We were also disappointed with the breakfast - plenty of choice, but all poor quality ingredients for an extortionate price.

Wifi is also extremely expensive - surely a hotel of this standard would offer free wifi in at least the public areas, but this was not the case. Instead it was 130hkd (£13 gbp) per 24hrs.

I would not return to this hotel or recommend if to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sianevans82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoit H, Manager at Harbour Grand Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear "SCE",

Greetings from Harbour Grand Hong Kong,

I firstly would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It seems we have failed to deliver a service that met with your expectations on more than one count and I sincerely would like to apologise.

I would appreciate if you could please contact me directly with your name and room number so that we can fully investigate the points you mentioned. This will also allow us to implement any remedial actions as this is definitely not the level of service that we aim to deliver.

I also would like to inform you that Internet is now free when booking direcly with us or through most of websites and that we also do offer packages inclusive of breakfast.

In the meantime, please accept my apologies for the shortfalls you have experienced and kindly shared with us so that we have an opportunity to rectify those.

Benoit Heumez
Director of Guest Services
Email: benoith@harbourgrand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,610
    1,148
    320
    99
    53
See reviews for
533
1,305
184
667
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was the last 2 days of our holiday and we thought we would treat ourselves to a 5 star hotel. I was mistaken. the rooms are very small and the one thing they don't mention on their website is that the hotel is situated in the heart of a construction zone. The view of the harbour was nice but if its peace and quiet you are after, this place is not the place. When you walk out the front door you are surrounded by construction along with a panel beaters and workshop. Went down to the pool but the noise was herendous. The 2 spas they had were empty.

The rooms are dated, carpets need cleaning and they need new towels. Thought the food was overpriced even for a 5 star hotel. When I went out to see if there were any other options around, you realise how isolated you are. There is a Starbucks and McDonalds close by if you like that sort of food or you just need a quick snack.

The plus is that the staff were friendly and the MTR was only a block away.

This was our second stay in Hong Kong but if I were to visit again would stay where we stayed the first time, close to Nathan Road in the Tsim Sha Tsui Distict. Its just close to everything.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a harbour view room on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoit H, Manager at Harbour Grand Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear "Wayne B"

Greetings from Harbour Grand Hong Kong,

I firstly would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I am sincerely sorry that we have failed to deliver our usual service and that you were disappointed by the surroundings and hotel location. In order for us to further investigate your comments, I would appreciate if you could contact me directly with your name and / or room number.

I once again would like to apologise for the shortfalls you have experienced and kindly shared with us so that we have an opportunity to rectify those.

Benoit Heumez
Director of Guest Services
Email: benoith@harbourgrand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

this is one of the best places with the best of services if you are visiting HK! the management of the hotel is very caring and understands the needs of guest, like providing them with the free shuttle service to the shopping area, good concierge service for all the sightseeing needs etc. the buffet meal spread is also very impressive, the chef takes great effort while setting the menu as he takes into consideration the meal preference of people coming from across the globe! keep up the good work :)

Room Tip: choose the sea facing rooms, it offers an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monesh-Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlenbach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been staying for 2 months at the hotel and I can say that the staff is very very friendly and well trained. I had 2 dealings with the Business Center (3 weeks apart) and the guy could still remember me and my room number (shame on me I did not remember His name). Housekeeping was very efficient and clean.
The staff at the Gym were also very friendly and supportive.
Also the location is quite convenient with the MTR (Subway) - which brings you everywhere - a few steps away. Hotel complimentary bus also had a convenient schedule.
Food is excellent and the view from the top Lounge spectacular.

Definetivly a hotel to recommed even for short stays :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerErlenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Rooms are dated in terms of decor but the views are spectacular with large windows. Breakfast buffet was delicious and complimented by the views of the harbour. Beds comfy and room was spacious but internet is not free at this stage. Location close to main Kowloon station to Guangzhou by train which is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monza J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on my way back to US. The rooms are small but comfortable for a single traveler. The hotel is on the Hong Kong side and walking distance to the subway that will get you to Kowloon/Nathan Road. Nice harbor views from my room. Overall satisfied with the hotel and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajivT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fantastic rooms, excellent service. We arrived at 9.00am and they put themselves out by getting us into a room by 10.00am which we thought was excellent. They gave us a voucher for coffee while we waited for the room. They run a good shuttle service to down town Hong Kong. On leaving again the service by the concierge was first rate. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hong Kong

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,850 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,782 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,635 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing