We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #52 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Our stay was during the East Asian Games. The opening ceremony was around Hong Kong Harbour so we booked a Deluxe Harbour View Room to see the fireworks. In reality the sofa and desk were nowhere near the window and bed was set a bit further back creating a deadspace in front of window, so the view was completely wasted IMO. They built this hotel from scratch so found the long skinny configuration a bit strange.

Decor was very China glamour, dark wood, gold leaf, cream, funny fixtures, so luxurious-esque but not really our cup of tea. I did like the sofa though. The sunken round bath tub which was the main draw for us was difficult to get in and out, so again the design was not well thought through. Service was average. Room was sound proofed, but not the bathroom. - we had a old men/young escorts tourists as neighbours over the weekend and one of the girls was a funny screamer. Annoying but we found ourselves laughing.

Location was OK. We have stayed at the Shama serviced appartment next door, so knew what to expect. Its not terribly great for dining, a couple of good dim sum places nearby, but close enough to the restaurants and bustle of CWB which made the location acceptable. The quickest way is by tram in my opinion.

We booked because it was new and we were tempted by the seaview. The price was quite good too. In the end the overall experience was underwhelmingly average and we should have opted for our other choice the Crowne Plaza in CWB. Oh well!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dezzydez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,756 - 2,762 of 3,543 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed 5 nights in this 5 star hotel this week. We chose it because it looked great on the pictures (hotel has good website) and the price was quite affordable for such a fine hotel.
We took a harbour view room that had really fabulous views to both Kowloon and Hongkong sides. The pictures on the hotels site are great and give you accurate view of this brand new hotel. It celebrated it´s 1st year this week so everythin was brand new and shining.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They arranged the room for us even though we got there in the morning and for no extra charge!
Pool was heated and had great views. Our daughter wanted to visit the pool every day.
Room was very stylish, though not very big. Room had 42inch Panasonic flat hd-tv and there were many hd-channels available. The shower/wc also had a small tv as well.
We thought that the location was great because the mtr (subway) station was just a few blocks away (and the MTR is fabuously clean, efficient, easy to use and cheap!!!).
We stayed at the 37th floor so there were no traffic noise even though there is a big road just in front of the hotel.
Breakfast was really good and had great variety of different kinds of food so even our daughter found lots to eat.
I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Let me start from the top, we arrived at the hotel at 11.30pm with 4 very tired children 7, 6, 4, 2. the hotel foyer is lovely, fresh open and welcoming. We had booked 2 rooms interconnecting, however on arrival they put us in 2 seperate rooms, thats ok we were so bloody tired we would have slept on steps, but before i hit the hay i went down and spoke to the lads on desk and explained that we needed an interconnecting room becuase of the kids, and without a problem the young man showed me the room on the 37th floor and happily moved us in there first thing in the morning. Well breakfast in the cafe was brilliant plennty of choices excellent staff couldnt do enough to help and what a fantastic place to be. We stayed 8 nights the guys at the desk to the people at the door they were excellent. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and these guys were sensational. The rooms are clean and comfortable we had 4 kids in one room 1 in a cot and 3 in 2 x big beds very good. The views are excellent sometimes foggy but excellent.

I reccomend this lovely out of the way hotel....you get a good feel of hong kong here not touristy at all but not too far from the touristy areas.
the pool is great only down side is there is no real pool side service to speak of if they fix that that would be a great thing....

Have a great holiday at the Harbour Grand and in hong kong!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Our family of four (two kids ages 12 and 4) stayed at Harbour Grand for five days. We had a wonderful stay. Check in was smooth and a very nice person at the check in counter upgraded us as we were 4 to a room. Very neat clean rooms. Nice food and the harbour view from our 16th floor room is something I won't forget!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am_vs_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We stayed here in may as part of our honeymoon, we were not initially sure if we made the right decision.......boy were we blown away, the staff were fantastic and cared to your every need, food was superb especially 'le 188' restaurant with fantastic views from the island to kowloon, rooms were great with a harbour view, the only little niggle would be that it is located at North point which is slightly out of the way and very far from the airport (although taxis are plentiful)
GREAT HOTEL

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dora1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed at the Harbour Grand Hong Kong for 4 nights in May as part of a multi centre holiday. We had an upgrade to a Club room on the 37th floor. The room was gorgeous, very modern and had an amazing view. The hotel is in a little bit of a strange location as you have to walk past car garages to get there but it wasn't a problem and felt safe. It was only 5 mins to the MTR station so it was really easy to get around. We didn't eat in the hotel but we had a few drinks in the bar area which was very nice. Make sure you go out to the back of the hotel as you can get some fantastic photos of the skyline. I can definately recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairelou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We visited Hong Kong during the Easter holidays and chose this new hotel. When we arrived to our room and looked out of the window…!!! Apparently every room has a harbour view and image lying in bed, switching off the light and just looking at the harbour lights! The hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the Victoria Park on Hong Kong Island. They have regular shuttle buses to the Central and to TaiKooShing where there are shopping malls and cinemas. Supermarkets, restaurants (of various cuisines), and shops are very near the hotel and therefore incredibly convenient. The underground (MTR) is only 2 minutes away.
It was the day we were supposed to be leaving when our plane was cancelled because of the volcanic ash! Thankfully the concierge checked on-line and told me not to bother going to the airport but to extend our room stay because “there will be hundreds of stranded travellers checking into this hotel by the airlines!” Luckily we followed his advice and used our unexpected 9 extra days in Hong Kong to enjoy the sights while I managed to do some work thanks to the internet.
I have to congratulate the team at the hotel in making our stay so comfortable and their efforts in helping us in every way during the crisis. We all agreed that if one has to be stranded, this would be the best place!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etravelcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#57 of 727 in Hong Kong
3,099 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 727 in Hong Kong
6,224 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £117 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing