We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #54 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the last leg of our honeymoon as we passed through Hong Kong. After the craziness of the wedding, and a week in Bali, we honestly hadn't thought much about the hotel we'd be staying in in Hong Kong. We expected to be out on foot most of the day. However, we were completely blown away by how beautiful and immaculate the Harbour Grand Hotel was. We upgraded to a club room with only came out to about $200 more for our 3 nights there, and this included a buffet breakfast (pancakes, dim sum, cereal, sausages, eggs, danishes, etc etc) also a free cocktail and appetizer hour (actually open for 2 hours).
The rooms were perfectly fine for 2 of us - the king bed was huge and soooo comfortable, they even offer a menu of different pillows for you to choose from! The bathroom fixtures were modern and fun, and the view was breathtaking (a harbour view from every room!)
It ended up raining hard for most of our time there, and though we made it to a few site seeing locations, we were so comfortable and happy at the hotel, we really didn't mind watching the rain on the harbour through all the floor to ceiling windows :)

Also, they offer a free shuttle every hour to Central, so the fact that it's a little out of the way, is a non-issue, it was actually nice to explore the streets around there as well.
This new hotel is truly top notch. I wish them well!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Diavia713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,360)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Grand Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,603 - 2,609 of 3,360 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

Stayed for seven nights in June 2010. Arrived late and booked into our standard room and the following morning requested an upgrade to a Deluxe Harbour view with lounge access. Well worth the money and view of Hong Kong harbour from the lounge must be one of the best in Hong Kong and a great vantage point to watch the evening light show.
The swimming pool is great to cool off in after a hot day out.

The location of the hotel is fine and only a short walk from Fortress Hill MTA station. Do try walking further up into North Point or get the tram for a few stops and try some of the local restaurants, good value and good service.
Don't bother with taxi's trams (if yo are not in a hurry! )and subwayare the way to get about.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alfielanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week for business
very nice clean hotel with comfy beds, lots of pillows.
nice bathroom with big round bathtub.
the hotel is not a cosy one, its a big hotel, everything is big, huge.
friendly and helpful staff.
very nice breakfast, a bit noisy room but nothing to coplain about.
I do recommend the barbecue on satudays or fridays in the bar on ground floor.
excellent food indeed
the pool area is a bit noisy as there is a huge road below. the view from pool is nothing really. Its like the pool is placed in the back yard. The pool is very nice and clean but you dont go to this hotel for relaxing at the pool.
i found the location of the hotel great, a bit off from the busy city center but that could easily be reached by the tram or the mtr.
one night we woke up from a fire alarm saying that we should remain in our rooms until further information. that information never came so it was a bit frustrating for a while knowing i was in a room on 34th floor.
but after calling the reception i was told it was false alarm. felt a bit strange i had to call to find out.
beside from that i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viola789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed here for nine nights, the only complaints we had were that we were in a room near the inside corner of the building so our views were slightly restricted.I thought we were in a deluxe not a grand deluxe room with being in this position but the staff insisted it was right but didn't seem to be very knowledgable about this.The other thing I didn't like was that the toilet wasn't clean, it had blue flush and the stains in the bowl were still quite visible and it stayed that way. Apart from that we had a very nice stay, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. It was nice to go outside and not be pestered with people trying to sell you watches and make you clothes as we were on other holidays here. MTR is only a couple of blocks away as is the tram and we used the free shuttle on a few occasions. We had the buffet b/fast every morning and also had dinner at the Cantonese restaurant in the hotel both were excellent. Iwould stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blueberry93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed at the Harbour Grand Hong Kong for 6 nights. We were on holiday/visiting friends and this was our second visit to Hong Kong. From check-in through to check-out all of the staff we came into contact with were happy, polite, attentive and genuinely seemed keen to help. An upgrade to a room on one of the Club Floors (which included complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea etc in the Harbour Club Lounge) was offered on check-in. At the time we declined this as we weren't sure how often we would eat in the hotel. On reflection this would probably have been a good deal as the daily upgrade charge was only a few HK dollars more than the cost of breakfast for 2 in the Harbour Grand Cafe. If you're planning to take breakfast in the hotel each day it's probably worth taking the upgrade package and making the most of the additional things included.

We had a Deluxe Harbour View Room on 31st floor. The view of the harbour, Causeway Bay and Kowloon was great and the room was well equipped, although a little short on storage space if there's two of you, with too many clothes and you're staying more than a couple of nights, but extra coat-hangers were quickly provided on request! Beds and pillows are very comfortable and bedding is also high quality - best nights sleep for ages for both of us. The glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom was a bit unusual but there is an electrically operated blind for privacy if you're sharing. The bathroom was dominated by a large circular bathtub which was lovely for relaxing in after a hard day's shopping/sightseeing. However it is a little difficult to get in and out of due to the position of the sliding glass door and the basin and toilet are a little short on space around them. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are not large, but no smaller than many in London and other big cities. Cleaning standards were good and unlike a previous reviewer we did get a turn-down service every day during our visit.

We had breakfast twice in the Harbour Grand Cafe which we thought was very good - a large buffet with something to suit all tastes and good quality coffee. We also had the buffet dinner once. This was typical international hotel style but an excellent selection, well presented and good quality. It included an array of seafood (lobster, oysters, mussels, prawns etc), Chinese, Indian and Thai dishes, various salads, a choice of roast meats and numerous desserts. We thought it was very good value - it worked out at less than 400 HKD per person due to a discount available at the time of our visit and included unlimited food, soft drinks and house wine (not the best but drinkable) . We didn't eat at any of the other restaurants in the hotel although we did check them out. and they looked good but expensive. The view from Le 188 has to be one of the best in Hong Kong - we planned to get a drink there after returning to the hotel one evening but as we were both wearing flip flops unfortunately there dress code meant we were very politely declined!

The Pool area is attractive with a great view of the water. We noticed menus on the tables and food being served to other guests so it seems they've now introduced a pool side service.

Yes the location of this hotel is unusual - there are a number of commercial premises on the street leading from the MTR to the hotel, many delivery vans and taxis seem to park up at the end of the street on a daily basis, there is construction going on near the waterside and a large flyover just next to the hotel! We too spotted the tin bath outside the car repair workshop on the street leading up to the hotel! On the plus side it is lively, interesting, non-touristy, safe, easily accessible and has shops, banks and the MTR all within a couple of minutes walk; if you can't live without your international fast food outlets McDonalds and Starbucks are also both within spitting distance! While it's a little out of the way taxis are very easy to get from the hotel (and throughout the city) and are cheap. The fare from the hotel to Central was only about 35-40 HKD (approx £3.50) and to Cyberport on the West of the island to visit our friends was approx 95 HKD (£9). There is also a free hotel shuttle bus to Central and other key locations. Useful tip - as many of the taxi drivers have limited English it's worth getting the address of your destination written in Chinese as well (unless of course you speak Cantonese). The Concierge desk will print you a map showing your destination and the address in English and Chinese characters or ask one of the doormen to translate for you.

Overall we thought the hotel was very good and we would happily return. It's probably not on a par with some 5* hotels like the Four Seasons, the Mandarin or the Intercontinental but perhaps that's more down to the inadequacies of the rating system rather than because this hotel is below standard (and those hotels will cost you at least twice what we paid!). I spend at least 3 nights per week in UK hotels so I am particularly fussy but this hotel definitely met and exceeded expectations!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Zorball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Conveniently located, awesome breakfast and nice view of the harbor from the room. How ever room was small for family.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajeev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Harbour Grand is one of the better hotels that you can stay in while you are in Hongkong - be it business or pleasure. One carries an excellent memories back after staying at this beautiful hotel.

The service is excellent - Be it ordering water in your room or ordering a cup of coffee in the restaurant, you are sure to get it with a smile! The staff here is courteous as well.

I recollect one incidence while I was staying here. At around 2 am in the night when I got up to go to the washroom. The bathroom entrance door was locked by itself due to some problem. I called the hospitality desk telling them about my problem. Within a matter of minutes, I had 3 people in my room (which also included the duty manager) and fixed the lock. They even apologised for the incovenience caused to me. This defines quality service.

The room had a good view and was well maintained! It is just about great to stay there. The bathroom was also well maintained!

This hotel is located very close to the Fortress Hill MTR. It is a 2-3 walk from the MTR. The hotel is also sourrounded by many general stores (including quite a few 7-11 stores) in case you want to pick up some essentials! It also has in it's viscinity, Starbucks and Mc Donalds and a few other locan restaurants. The bus bay and taxis are easily available too!

The best thing I liked about this hotel is the over all stay and service. I don't recollect anything where I was dissatisfied.

What the hotel could improve on is their respect towards Vegetarian Food lovers.

It is a little challenging to get good vegetarian food around Hongkong as most of the local population there is Non Vegetarian. Hence it is expected that the same trend follows in majority of the hotels as well.

The food quality and spread was indeed good in the restaurants. However, there could be more options for the vegetarian lovers! All one can survive over there is on Bread Toast, Fresh Fruits/ Juices and Danish Pastries.

However, over all I will definitely recommend a stay in this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#55 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,944 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,930 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
6,544 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,959 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £119 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing