We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here - Great position - great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #56 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stay here - Great position - great service!”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We read a few reviews about this hotel and we were a bit worried about the location, but we had no worries when we got there. Okay, there are a couple of auto shops nearby but if you are offended by these, I don't think you will like HK! There are high end shops near stalls everywhere and the positioning of the hotel gave an insight into real life.
The hotel is convenient for the tram, MTR and bus and the hotel's free shuttle will take you into town.
It's well worth seeing the deals on offer, or ask, about upgrading to the Harbour Club. You can have breakfast, including eggs benedict, afternoon tea, including scones etc and alcoholic drinks from 6-8pm. This includes a range of cocktails. The staff are very helpful and warn you when the bar is closing! Having breakfast looking over the harbour really gets you going in the morning, ready to explore. Tea and coffee is available all day and free internet access.
The rooms are a little small but who wants to spend time in their room! (Although the beds are really comfortable). The bathroom is a treat and the range of toiletries superb! (flannel, soap, shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpaste, sewing kit, shower gel, shampoo)
See the travel desk as soon as you arrive and arrange some trips, we particularly recommend the "Come Horseracing tour"
Also, take your swimmys, the outdoor pool (even in December) is beautifully heated and you can see across the harbour. We were very impressed that a lifeguard was immediately sent out as soon as we stepped out of the changing room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laney365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    1,133
    318
    99
    53
See reviews for
520
1,288
182
664
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We were very happy with the harbour Grand, we stayed on the club floor, and spent a lot of time relaxing in the Club Lounge on the top floor, drinking and eating with spectacular views of the Harbour, it was well worth the extra. We used the train a lot which was very close by and convenient. The food at the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billybunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Hotel was beautiful and clean. I love the fact that it was away from the tourist areas and I love the local feel. The Fortress MTR station is just about 3 blocks away from the hotel. The hotel employees were nothing but kind and helpful. They showed me what my charges were at check-in so there were no surprises at check out. Housekeeping was great, they provided bottled waters everyday and even brought more at your request. The only negative thing about the hotel is they charge for Wi-Fi. I believe $15US for 24 hours or $40 HK for15 mins. If you go to the local Starbucks they provide free Wi-Fi for up to 20 mins. The Hong Kong Public Library which is about a 15 min walk provides free Wi-Fi if needed. Overall, great place to stay, never heard any noise from other rooms. Hallways are a bit smokey but you don't smell it in your room. Bathroom was awesome. I will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babychipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed for 6 nights in 2 rooms with husband and 3 kids. Was a bit wary of the hotel after reading some of the reviews but was very pleasantly surprised!! We were upgraded from the basic room to one that was slightly larger as we had a rollaway bed. Rooms were still quite small but probably quite large in Hong Kong standards!! The hotel is still quite new so everything is lovely and clean and fresh. The view from the room is the main reason I chose this hotel and it didn't disappoint. The beds were probably the best hotel beds we have ever slept in - very plush and comfy. The bathroom was fantastic - lovely big bath with overhead shower head - very easy to use. Location was not an issue. There are a few small car repair places around the hotel but it is definitely not a problem and I always felt safe. It was actually quite nice staying out of the madness that is Hong Kong, and I think the view makes up for this.

Breakfast buffet at the hotel was a little disappointing so we only did this once. Very expensive and almost no fruit to speak of. The eggs they use for the omelettes came out of a carton which totally put me off!! The dinner buffet however, was exceptional!! There are plenty of little eateries around the hotel (Starbucks x 2, McDonalds, 7Up, small bakery etc) so we got breakfast from these each morning. Train station is only a short walk away (2-3 min).

Room service was great - reasonably priced and tasty.

Concierge were helpful and they have a harpist playing in the lobby every night which is a lovely touch. Taxis are cheap (around $40 from hotel to Central - Star Ferry), plus they have a free shuttle bus that runs hourly.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone - and I am quite fussy!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goofy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Recently stayed at this Hotel on the HK Island, with a superior Harbour View room. Everything that you would expect. Very clean, spacious, polite staff etc.... Close to the MTR stations for Wan Chai, Kowloon and all the tourist spots. We did not encounter any problems with this Hotel and we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimocuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol U.K
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Location not central. Service could be better. Hotel excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABDULGANI_ISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed in Harbour Grand for three nights and we really enjoyed our stay. We had booked a Deluxe Harbour view room. The hotel is not located in the busiest center but it is very near the MTR station and the Causeway Bay shopping district is not too far away. Service was almost excellent and the hotel was very clean. Rooms were quite small but we didn't think it was a problem. Beds were excellent!
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Positive:
+ Nice rooms with a great view
+ Beds
+ Service
+ Breakfast
+ Facilities

Negatives:
- They tried to charge for one breakfast when we were checking out even tough we had already paid it earlier
- They haven't got a free shuttle bus to the airport
- Soundproofing between room and corridor was poor
- There was not free internet service

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fintravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#50 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing