We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & what a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #56 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location & what a view”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed 10 nights in January 2011 with my wife. Requested a room with King size beds, on arrival, the check in staff acknowledged & check in was smooth. The slow lifts was the only hitch (considering there are 9 banks of elevator)
Our room is on the 32nd floor. Decent size room by Hong Kong standards, very clean, modern, with flat HD TV, cordless phone, very nice view of the harbour (could be better if facing the Central side). Can't really ask for more for the price I paid. The bathroom is probably the biggest I've seen in a Hong Kong hotel & get use to all glass wall.

Like others have mentioned, not a lot happens in the area, the garage wasn't a bother, just another corner shop. The hotel location is a problem since its safe andit is close to lots of eating establishments & very close the MTR(subway) Fortress Hill station. It takes a few minutes to get to the station & the hotel provides shuttle to Central.
Most of the staff I came across were polite, doorman always did his job with a smile.
Overall, rate our stay excellent, I will stay at this hotel again. Service was good & location is close to MTR, we can't complain about the room & for the price, I don't think I can find another hotel in Hong Kong with higher standards. The only thing to watch for is local call is not free ($6/call) & internet access is $140HKD/day (considering this should be part of the price for the room for most places).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvick5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    1,133
    318
    99
    53
See reviews for
520
1,288
182
664
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Arrived here after nearly 4 weeks in China, and reception couldn't find our booking. This took ages to sort out which wasn't quite a good start. We were eventually upgraded to a Club room, but its benefits weren't explained to us, and we only found all the things we could have had towards the end of our stay.
We had booked a harbour view room, and the view of the island from our room was magnificent. Room large and well maintained, although not as well appointed as some of the hotels we stayed in in China.
The breakfast restaurant was awful. Breakfast was supposedly served until 10am, but on the dot the staff started to clear everything away making it impossible to have a leisurely breakfast even if you came down at 9.30am. This we found very annoying especially as we were on holiday and wanted to start our day in a leisurely fashion.
Although location a little way from the centre, very close to the Hum Hom ferry terminal and also the hotel ran a very efficient minibus shuttle every half hour to the centre.
We do not have a laptop so went to the business centre to reconfirm our flights prior to our trip home. Whilst many 5 star hotels around the world offer this service for free, the hotel did not have any staff to do this, and wanted to charge for use of a computer to do this ourselves. Just a small point but really not acceptable.
Whilst I could recommend this hotel in lots of ways, I would need to be assured that the niggles would be ironed out before I personally considered returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed 5 nights in January 2011. Requested a room with 2 single beds on arrival, the check in staff acknowledged, but when we arrived at our room, it was a king bed configuration... not nice after a 12 hours flight and anxious to hit town before the shops close, the slow lifts doesn't help either... However, when I returned to the lobby and reported the mix up to another staff, she apologised and quickly arranged the right room for us, then she personally walk me up to the newly assigned room and made sure everything was OK. Very nicely dealt with.

Our room is on the 28th floor. Decent size room by Hong Kong standards, very clean, modern, with flat HD TV, cordless phone, very nice view of the harbour. Can't really ask for more for the price I paid. The bathroom is probably the biggest I've seen in a Hong Kong hotel.

Like others have mentioned, not a lot happens in the area, the garage wasn't a bother, just another corner shop. Can't really say location is a problem since its safe and the MTR(Metro/Tubes) station is very close by. But at times, it takes a few minutes to cross each road(theres 3) to get to the station, quite annoying knowing that its so near by. And if its at night, after a few drinks, I just wish my hotel was more central.

Most of the staff I came across were polite, doorman always did his job with a smile. But they let themselves down on the last day, when I was leaving for an early morning flight. I had plenty of luggages and literally needed someone to open the door. The doorman wasn't there, (ok I didn't expect a doorman to be on duty at 5:30am) but staffs at the concierge were busy doing their own work, I had to ask them to open the door, they didn't respond very well...

Overall, if their rate stays low, I will stay at this hotel again. Services were hit and miss, location is not the best, but I can't complain about the room. And for the price, I don't think I can find another hotel in Hong Kong with higher standards.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ak3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We were a little worried by previous reviews about the poor service, but were pleasantly surprised to have no such experience. The hotel rooms are luxurious and well appointed (if a bit small), the bed extremely comfortable-- after walking around all day in Hong Kong it was nice to come home to our room (upgraded to the upper Harbour Club floors at no charge). While there are auto shops on the street it's located on (less than scenic), it is really only a 3 minute walk to MTR Fortress Hill Station, with 7-11, McDonald's, Starbucks nearby if you want a quick breakfast. Free shuttles depart every hour to Causeway Bay, door men will walk a distance away to grab you a cab if none are sitting out front...Overall, great value for money. Everything in Hong Kong is so close together, you are only a quick cab/train/shuttle ride away from everything. We will be back again and would recommend it easily to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0mleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This Hotel is great for anyone who hasnt been to HK before and wants travelling around HK made easy. Its not far from the airport and its nearest metro station is Fortress Hill and you need exit A to find the hotel. The only small down side is there is no where to eat close to the hotel if you didnt want to travel to find some where to eat however the hotel restaraunt did look nice. Breakfast was good and the choice was wide. I didnt use the swimming pool but it did look nice and relaxing. All the staff where very helpful. Rooms were excellent and very clean and big and if you have a room with the harbour view you certainly wont be disappointed. The bar at the top of the hotel gives you great views of the harbour & well worth a cocktail before you head out for the evening I certainly wasnt disappointed with my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We read a few reviews about this hotel and we were a bit worried about the location, but we had no worries when we got there. Okay, there are a couple of auto shops nearby but if you are offended by these, I don't think you will like HK! There are high end shops near stalls everywhere and the positioning of the hotel gave an insight into real life.
The hotel is convenient for the tram, MTR and bus and the hotel's free shuttle will take you into town.
It's well worth seeing the deals on offer, or ask, about upgrading to the Harbour Club. You can have breakfast, including eggs benedict, afternoon tea, including scones etc and alcoholic drinks from 6-8pm. This includes a range of cocktails. The staff are very helpful and warn you when the bar is closing! Having breakfast looking over the harbour really gets you going in the morning, ready to explore. Tea and coffee is available all day and free internet access.
The rooms are a little small but who wants to spend time in their room! (Although the beds are really comfortable). The bathroom is a treat and the range of toiletries superb! (flannel, soap, shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpaste, sewing kit, shower gel, shampoo)
See the travel desk as soon as you arrive and arrange some trips, we particularly recommend the "Come Horseracing tour"
Also, take your swimmys, the outdoor pool (even in December) is beautifully heated and you can see across the harbour. We were very impressed that a lifeguard was immediately sent out as soon as we stepped out of the changing room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laney365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We were very happy with the harbour Grand, we stayed on the club floor, and spent a lot of time relaxing in the Club Lounge on the top floor, drinking and eating with spectacular views of the Harbour, it was well worth the extra. We used the train a lot which was very close by and convenient. The food at the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billybunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#50 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing