We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views - Ex Value for Money - Book the Club Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #56 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Views - Ex Value for Money - Book the Club Rooms”
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Half the cost of equivalent luxury hotels on Kowloon and no catch. We booked a club room which came with dedicated reception, lounge, internet access, breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails. Excellent views over the river to Kowloon. Good comfortable bed, and powerful shower (& bath), excellent service and fantastic staff. We had an early check in and breakfast and access to lounge until room was ready. This was especially welcome as we'd arrived at the airport at 5am. Similarly late checkout and lounge access until we left for a very late flight. Hotel is very near MTR station and easy access everywhere. Trams at top of road and ditto buses. Very safe area with more locals and atmosphere and no touts. Hint - get an Octopus card (like Oyster) for use on all transport. Try the Fish Spa at the Victoria Peak Gallery & take advantage of the free Cultural opportunities especially the Tea Appreciation class. Happy Valley Racing well worth a visit but go it alone not on an organised trip. $10 entrance!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,633
    1,162
    322
    100
    55
See reviews for
548
1,317
187
674
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We had the pleasure in staying at The Harbour Grand on our way to Sydney, unfortunatley we only stayed for 2 nights, looking back I wished it had been longer.
We had booked into the club floors and do they live up to a 5 star rating, the staff that looked after us in the club lounge went out of their way to make you feel welcome, the service was outstanding. I know its wrong to single out individuals but Cecelia and Kayan deserve a special mention for their dedication.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of planning a stopover in Hong Kong, Yes it looks slightly out of the hussel, but it is well worth the odd cheap taxi ride back. also the hotel provides a shuttle service into the main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Roger073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai-India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Nice, clean hotel with all the facilities that a business traveller requires (the pool was under renovation when we visited, though). Nice view of both sides of the harbour. (Hong Kong, and Kowloon). Located a 2 min walk away from the Fortress Hill Mtr station, with lots of breakfast/snack options close by.
Decent size room by Hong Kong standards, and a work table as well. Personal safe, work table, bathtub, tea/coffee maker available in the room. Service was extremely efficient as well.
Apart from the location (in a relatively down market location), nothing else to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakkkobera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Stayed 10 nights in January 2011 with my wife. Requested a room with King size beds, on arrival, the check in staff acknowledged & check in was smooth. The slow lifts was the only hitch (considering there are 9 banks of elevator)
Our room is on the 32nd floor. Decent size room by Hong Kong standards, very clean, modern, with flat HD TV, cordless phone, very nice view of the harbour (could be better if facing the Central side). Can't really ask for more for the price I paid. The bathroom is probably the biggest I've seen in a Hong Kong hotel & get use to all glass wall.

Like others have mentioned, not a lot happens in the area, the garage wasn't a bother, just another corner shop. The hotel location is a problem since its safe andit is close to lots of eating establishments & very close the MTR(subway) Fortress Hill station. It takes a few minutes to get to the station & the hotel provides shuttle to Central.
Most of the staff I came across were polite, doorman always did his job with a smile.
Overall, rate our stay excellent, I will stay at this hotel again. Service was good & location is close to MTR, we can't complain about the room & for the price, I don't think I can find another hotel in Hong Kong with higher standards. The only thing to watch for is local call is not free ($6/call) & internet access is $140HKD/day (considering this should be part of the price for the room for most places).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvick5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Arrived here after nearly 4 weeks in China, and reception couldn't find our booking. This took ages to sort out which wasn't quite a good start. We were eventually upgraded to a Club room, but its benefits weren't explained to us, and we only found all the things we could have had towards the end of our stay.
We had booked a harbour view room, and the view of the island from our room was magnificent. Room large and well maintained, although not as well appointed as some of the hotels we stayed in in China.
The breakfast restaurant was awful. Breakfast was supposedly served until 10am, but on the dot the staff started to clear everything away making it impossible to have a leisurely breakfast even if you came down at 9.30am. This we found very annoying especially as we were on holiday and wanted to start our day in a leisurely fashion.
Although location a little way from the centre, very close to the Hum Hom ferry terminal and also the hotel ran a very efficient minibus shuttle every half hour to the centre.
We do not have a laptop so went to the business centre to reconfirm our flights prior to our trip home. Whilst many 5 star hotels around the world offer this service for free, the hotel did not have any staff to do this, and wanted to charge for use of a computer to do this ourselves. Just a small point but really not acceptable.
Whilst I could recommend this hotel in lots of ways, I would need to be assured that the niggles would be ironed out before I personally considered returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed 5 nights in January 2011. Requested a room with 2 single beds on arrival, the check in staff acknowledged, but when we arrived at our room, it was a king bed configuration... not nice after a 12 hours flight and anxious to hit town before the shops close, the slow lifts doesn't help either... However, when I returned to the lobby and reported the mix up to another staff, she apologised and quickly arranged the right room for us, then she personally walk me up to the newly assigned room and made sure everything was OK. Very nicely dealt with.

Our room is on the 28th floor. Decent size room by Hong Kong standards, very clean, modern, with flat HD TV, cordless phone, very nice view of the harbour. Can't really ask for more for the price I paid. The bathroom is probably the biggest I've seen in a Hong Kong hotel.

Like others have mentioned, not a lot happens in the area, the garage wasn't a bother, just another corner shop. Can't really say location is a problem since its safe and the MTR(Metro/Tubes) station is very close by. But at times, it takes a few minutes to cross each road(theres 3) to get to the station, quite annoying knowing that its so near by. And if its at night, after a few drinks, I just wish my hotel was more central.

Most of the staff I came across were polite, doorman always did his job with a smile. But they let themselves down on the last day, when I was leaving for an early morning flight. I had plenty of luggages and literally needed someone to open the door. The doorman wasn't there, (ok I didn't expect a doorman to be on duty at 5:30am) but staffs at the concierge were busy doing their own work, I had to ask them to open the door, they didn't respond very well...

Overall, if their rate stays low, I will stay at this hotel again. Services were hit and miss, location is not the best, but I can't complain about the room. And for the price, I don't think I can find another hotel in Hong Kong with higher standards.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ak3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We were a little worried by previous reviews about the poor service, but were pleasantly surprised to have no such experience. The hotel rooms are luxurious and well appointed (if a bit small), the bed extremely comfortable-- after walking around all day in Hong Kong it was nice to come home to our room (upgraded to the upper Harbour Club floors at no charge). While there are auto shops on the street it's located on (less than scenic), it is really only a 3 minute walk to MTR Fortress Hill Station, with 7-11, McDonald's, Starbucks nearby if you want a quick breakfast. Free shuttles depart every hour to Causeway Bay, door men will walk a distance away to grab you a cab if none are sitting out front...Overall, great value for money. Everything in Hong Kong is so close together, you are only a quick cab/train/shuttle ride away from everything. We will be back again and would recommend it easily to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Br0mleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,875 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,395 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,841 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing