We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended by concierge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuk Yuen Seafood Restaurant

Chuk Yuen Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #984 of 7,786 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
184 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Recommended by concierge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel restaurant was full so the Concierge recommended this place. As others have written, although we had a booking we had to queue for a couple of minutes.
Service was typically efficient and quick.
We had steamed prawns with garlic, steamed fish with soy and ginger and a plate of broccoli, 4 Asahi beers and the bill came to HKD960.
Not a cheap meal but very tasty and handy to the Holiday Inn Golden Mile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pointyendpreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    68
    40
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Recommended by the Penisula's conceige no less!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is not an entrance way that we would have entered un-prompted but in fact down below is an excellent and, by HK standards, reasonable Chinese restaurant. We actually went two nights running! We had a booking each time but this only gets you in the door - you still have to wait in a queue for a while until a table is free (15 minutes in one case). Once seated the service is efficient and some of the senior suited waiters speak enough English to order from a menu with photos and some written English translation.

The place was packed with Chinese both nights we were there and therefore had a very good atmosphere. We, as English, got some slightly curious looks.

Food was good and tasty and well worth the visit.

Be brave and go for it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonNick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff, wonderful and fresh seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Having been invited to join friends at this restaurant, I read the reviews posted and we proceeded with open minds because of the mixed responses. Our friends have lived in Hong Kong a long time and love this place, returning over and over. So we climbed on the tram line and took it to the terminus at Happy Valley, clambered off and looked for the fish tanks right within a few steps.
The staff were friendly and welcoming. You can bring your own wine and they keep the whites cool in a wine bucket while ensuring that no one's glass is getting too low! They were very helpful selecting dishes and, though there was only one razor clam left, were happy to cook that one on its own so we could taste it.
We had deep fried tofu with garlic to begin. The tofu was golden on the outside and silky on the inside and the garlic was crispy and crunchy. Next we had a platter of steamed prawns that were hot and juicy followed by a dish of clams in black bean sauce. The clams were moist and succulent; steamed perfectly, they sat in their shells rather than on the bottom of the dish. The staff kept busy taking away plates full of clamshells and replacing them with clean ones.
We ordered baby bok choi with black bean and garlic which was cooked perfectly and a plate of dau mui ( Chinese pea shoots) with garlic. While we were finishing up the clams, along came one perfect scallop each, still on the shell and topped with rice vermicelli and (more) garlic. These scallops were the tastiest I have ever eaten - piping hot and plump! We added a little white rice as an accompaniment and finished our feast off with the passion fruit and orange slices always offered with the added bonus of sesame ice cream!
Now all of this wonderfully cooked food with efficient and friendly service as well as no corkage fee for pouring the wine we brought came to just under $800HKD or about $50 CDN per couple! So I don't get the complaints about cost unless people were ordering crab and lobster expecting it to be cheap!
Great meal, great evening and we will be back for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lgs701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We were looking for dim sum for lunch during a day of walking and shopping. Headed to Kimberley Road and were drawn in Chuck Yuen by the lady at the door with her siren song of 'dim sum, dim sum'. Asked about dim sum - when we finally lured a waiter to our table - and were met with a dubious frown and hurried gesture at the menu. Service very slow, food okay - not stand out, and the dining room very dank with mildew coating the ceiling in stinky patches. A wasted lunch in Hong Kong.

Helpful?
1 Thank simone h
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hong kong
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Far from Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Invited my good friend from France who often comes to HK and China and loves seafood.
I must say the staff and the service is great. Waiters are genuinely helpful and gives a great
effort to make the customers enjoy the experience.

Now onto the food. I have lived in HK too long to have eaten all the seafood staples.
-steamed shrimp-very fresh, cooked perfectly
-lobster in cheese with noodles-10/10 As good as it gets. Pricey but really good
-scallops. Nice large scallop streamed in garlic and vermicelli. 8/10. Scallop really large and fresh. In terms of the mix and taste of the garlic/ vermicellie, soy sauce, etc...ive had better
-Fried crab claw. Rather disappointing. I give it a 5/10. Lacked taste, lacked a lot of things.

-Fried pigeon. Meat very tender, but again lacked taste. 7/10
-Beef cubes with fried garlic. 7/10.


Overall, place was busy as usual. Service is wonderful, very friendly and attentive.
Food was just ok, nothing great. A bit on the pricey side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chuk Yuen Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chuk Yuen Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing