We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent stay one more time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #53 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
194 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“an excellent stay one more time”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Crowne Plaza Causeway Bay is clearly one of the best hotel in town, far away better than the other hotels of the same brand, even better than an Intercontinental...
Nothing to say about the exceptionnal location, right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Causeway Bay, a true paradise for shoppers but close to the serenity of Happy Valley area. I don't think there is a better location for staying for business or leisure travellers.
Actually, i'm staying in HK but i've selected this hotel for my parents and i've spent time with them in this beautiful property. Staff is absolutely great, professionnal, smily, efficient, anticipating every need. The check in was quick and at any time we went to a bar or a restaurant of this hotel, we have been extremly satisfied by the high standard of service.
The bedroom was simply wonderful, a Corner Crowne Plaza Club Room, spacious, extremly comfortable with one of the best bed ever, extremly well equiped even with a cellular phone really useful and with a view to die for with large windows making the room so bright and nice. There is a perfect blackout at night, soundproofing is fautless as well as a discreet air conditionning system which is often a problem in a lot of hotels.
The decoration is nice, with a good scheme of warm colours and the bathroom with a window overlooking Happy Valley was so good.
Nice surprise as well for F&B department... Since there is renovation at the Club lounge, the benefits are offered at the bar with a good selection of wines and spirits and some yummy canapés but don't miss Club 28 at the top of the building, next to the small but amazing pool. Having a drink in this bar is a very nice moment and again, the staff is perfect. The buffet breakfast offers a large selection of top quality dishes in a perfect atmosphere for the best wake up.
To conclude, let's say this property is better and better, offering an impressive value for money and a real five stars service in a cool and trendy atmosphere making you as comfortable as in your own place. I've suggested to my parents to go to The Upper House, one of the most exclusive hotel in HK, for their next stay and they told me they just wanna come back to Crowne Plaza Causeway Bay... It means everything...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCBLHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    368
    79
    14
    9
See reviews for
167
216
70
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We knew this was a brand new hotel but we were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the guestrooms. Room furnishing and layout are very modern and well done. With its excellent location, within the heart of Causeway Bay, a shopping heaven and mega selections for restaurants, there is no need to eat in the hotel.

The staffs were helpful so do ask before you venture out because Hong Kong streets can be very confusing, with its complex street crossing implemented.

The rooftop bar, pool and gym are also recommended, a hidden jewel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I have just spent 5 nights at this hotel with a friend and cannot fault it.
The greeting at reception was nice and friendly, which is what is needed after travelling for over 17 hours.
The room was not the largest on the floor, but still a very good size to some in Hong Kong, and very clean.
The view from the bedroom window of the Happy Valley racecourse up on the 2th floor was great.
It was only a 5 min walk to the stadium for the 7s, ( we could just see one corner of it from our room).
A nice easy walk to Times Square where there was the MTR Causeway Bay station, and just a small distance further was the trams. The transportation in Hong Kong is so easy to use you can get most places easily.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights last week on a business trip to Hong Kong. Location was great, just less than 5 minute walk from Time Square ( Causeway Bay MTR).
The room I stayed in, had a nice view of Happy Valley and wasn't disappointing. It was spacious for Hong Kong standard and broadband internet was included.
I didn't have the chance to try the restaurants but the breakfast was just okay, nothing special.
Overall, this is a decent business hotel in Causeway Bay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siera1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Definitely a business hotel more than a family vacation hotel but if your staying for a short period of time with your family and will be out the whole day sightseeing then it wouldn't really matter anyway.. Lobby was quite small typical of a business hotel but I did like the waterfall effect they had going in the lobby... I couldnt help myself but stare at it while waiting for our bus, very calming presence.. Location was a big plus.. very near Times Square and lots of shops nearby and the MTR.. I was very impressed with the room, was very nice, clean and looked very new or well maintained with a big LCD TV.. Bathroom was very, very clean.. I could'nt find any flaw in it except that when taking a bath, I felt the rainshower wasted a lot of water (zero points in water conservation there)..

Food in the hotel were good for sharing which is good especially if your saving your money for your shopping spree.. preparation and taste was also excellent.. we weren't able to try out the swimming pool, i think it was indoor but then again, why spend your time indoors when you have lots of things to do and go to outside..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prince_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This is the third time I stayed at Crowne Plaza. It's located in the heart of the shopping mecca of the world - Causeway Bay, one block from Times Square, and the subway system. There are restaurants open at any hour of the day (I went out for a meal at 3am).

The room is very spacious, especially for Hong Kong. The bathroom is great, with a full size bathroom, a shower, and an option to open the bathroom (with floor to ceiling glass) into the bedroom/TV or closed. There is a large desk and a Herman Miller chair, and fast wireless Internet. There is a comfy sofa to relax if you wanna read a book or watch TV (large flat screen).

The only problem is that the lift needs to the room key to operate; which means if you have guests, you have to go down to fetch them. Also, you need to search your wallet to get the key, and the key reader is not that sensitive; which means it may take a minute or so before the lift will actually move from the time you walk in. In a city that has the lowest crime rate in the developed world, is such security really that necessary?

The other problem is that even as Platinum member, I was not allowed to use the Club lounge. I stayed at Crowne Plaza in Times Square in New York, and the rates in Hong Kong are higher than in New York, and yet, New York allows Platinum member full Club lounge access. My guess is that they have lots of Platinum members staying there visiting from Mainland China, and they don't want the Club lounge to be too crowded. Then again, there are lots of Latino Platinum members using the Club lounge in New York, and I don't see them restricting access over there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davolaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in February for 2 nights.

The location is very convenient, with restaurants and cafes just across the street. Bakeries and convenience stores are also near by, which made it easy to go to pick up breakfasts or water. Also, it was only a few short blocks away from the subway station and the Times Square.

We were very impressed by the lobby and the room itself. The entire building is very new. The room was very nice, complete with flat screen tv and a plate of fruit to welcome us. The room and especially the washroom were spacious (they were actually bigger than our North American new condo!). Therefore, I feel the room and bathroom were big especially by Hong Kong standards (which tend to be small since Hong Kong is so crowded). The room had a view of tennis courts nearby and the bathroom had a fancy big window which gave great natural light (with the option of blinds for privacy).
One other note, I should mention the bed was one of the widest we have ever slept in. It was so comfortable and nice, especially after a 13-hour flight.

We loved the service and the staff was very helpful and polite.

In summary, we highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are new, the service is great and it is so close to eateries and the subway system.

Let me know if this review is helpful....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,357 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#28 of 716 in Hong Kong
973 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#60 of 716 in Hong Kong
553 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing