We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern rooms, great location and nice roof top bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #45 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Good hotel for this price range, as Hong Kong hotels can be really expensive. I visit Hong Kong at least twice a year for the last 10 years and this is probably the best one I have stayed in. Spacious modern rooms, and great location. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Checking In- I requested for a high floor and they gave me one of the lowest levels and was told that this is all I get for rooms in my price category- in effect telling me that S$300 per room per night would make us the lowest category of customers for this hotel. Not a good start.

If i wanted rooms any higher, I would have to pay quite a big sum for breakfast which worked out to about an additional HK$500-600 per room which was not worth the breakfast.

Location- Actually not ideal as the main areas tourists go to in HK are along the red line i.e. Central, Tsim Sha Tsui and Mongkok while Causeway Bay is on the blue line, which would entail a transfer to virtually everywhere you go. Also, the walk from the Causeway Bay MTR station to the nearest exit to the hotel entails an extremely long walk. Elderly folks should note this.

view from room- View is average if you get rooms facing Happy Valley (from my low level), but if you get rooms facing Leighton Road, all you see out of the window are buildings just metres away. Absolutely not worth the money.

Furnishing- The furnishing in the rooms were new and relatively plush. Bathrooms were decent sized with a glass wall separating the shower area from the room.

Pool- was very small and situated right beside the hotel bar. Seems like an afterthought.

Overall review- There are better hotels out there in better locations with comparable prices. Go get yourself another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Infinity00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Neph88,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We're glad to see you enjoyed the furnishing and the bathrooms which have been popular with other guests.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. We appreciate your candid feedback regarding the value you felt you received.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously. Your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you,

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Biggest thing in its favour is that its brand new, so everything is well kept. Rooms are large by HK standards, and well thought out. Especially useful is the multi-charger in the room for every manner of mobile device you could possible pack. The bed was wonderful, though. Otherwise, pretty much excellent service as I've come to expect of a Inter-Continental Group hotel.

Location wise, not too bad, easy walk to Causeway Bay MTR at Times Square; alternatively easy to hop on a tram to Central and back. However taking a cab can be quite a challenge at peak hour, but the bellboys are great at hunting down cabs, if you're prepared to wait a little. Not so good for tourists if you''re heading up to Jordan, which requires a change at Admiralty.

Rooftop pool looks nice in the pictures, but be warned that it is right outside the bar and watering hole, so if you don't mind being part of the scenery, that's fine. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in a Deluxe room and will absolutely stay here again. The Crowne Plaza is quite new, it only opened in the last year or two. Location is excellent, close to Times Square, Causeway Bay shops restauarants and MTR, etc. Also very close to Happy Valley racecourse. Service was helpful and friendly, no mesing around. The room was great, one of the biggest I have seen for this price range in Hong Kong. Large comfortable bed, very clean, iphone dock, and a huge bathroom with separate shower and bath. This is a god hotel for either business or leisure. Only thing I disliked was they charge extra for wifi/internet - ridiculous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeeingIsBelieving007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I stay in HK pretty regularly for work and was delighted to be put in the Crowne Plaza in Causway Bay as I had watched it being built. In a city famed for tiny hotel rooms, the Crowne Plaza's rooms are comfortably roomy, beautifully finished and amazingly well equipped. On top of that the service was really good. Would very much recommend it. My only criticism is that it is next to impossible to get a decent deal which makes is very expensive (come on Accor!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I have stayed here a number of times and overall it's a good hotel but I just wish they would fix the mess at reception.
On my most recent visit I arrived at 3PM to be told 'no room available yet, how about a free drink in the 28th floor bar while you wait'. This was OK and my son was happy to use the pool which was nice. We returned to reception after 4pm to be told 'yeh yeh, just wait a minute'. After it was clear that nothing was happening I approached someone who appeared to be somewhat senior and finally got a room key. When we arrived at the room we found it had a connecting door, which I hate. Back to reception to explain to a young girl who's response was 'it's ok because we won't give the people on the other side the key to the door....'. This was obviously going nowhere so I found another person who seemed to be in charge and she arranged a non-connecting room which we could move to later in the day.
Everything else during our stay was fine.
The check-in/reception area in this hotel is frankly a mess. There are lots of people behind the check-in desk but they all seem to be young and inexperienced. If management is interested in improving the situation I suggest they take a walk around HK and sit in the lobbies of any if the other fine hotels in HK. They can easily see how to make the reception area a pleasant place, as against the zoo which they have at the Crowne Plaza now.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

1. Plenty of power sockets and neat and easy to find! How many hotels have too few power sockets that are hard to find or are messy adapters?! This has them neatly presented as well as all the other sockets a business traveller needs.
2. Apple dock through the telly! Not many 5 or 6 * hotels have this. A business traveller always has his iPod and this is a GREAT touch! Very nice TV set up.
3. Good gym. Overlooking the hills and Happy Valley. Good new machines with iPod connectors and uploadable.Brilliant! The gym is light and airy and up high floor with full length windows overlooking Happy.
4. A little pocket map in the shoe cupboard to show a jogging route! Nice touch and attention to detail.
5. Full bathroom kit (toothbrushes etc). Maybe pretty standard these days but they top up everything everyday and it is neatly presented.
6. Fresh fruit in your room.
In fact everything about this hotel is clean, neat, sharp, functional. The rooms are bright, modern and clean. Nice bathroom layout. Excellent breakfast buffet. Rapid check-in/check-out.
I am usually very under whelmed by hotels over stating themselves and under delivering. This place does the opposite. I have stayed in most of the hotels in this area and this is the best by a mile. If it wasn't so popular I would only ever stay here on my HK business. BRAVO!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adlynmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,510 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#71 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,653 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £168 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing