We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #54 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed from Jan 14 - Jan 16 of 2012. This hotel is conveniently located, it is literally 100 yards away from Time Square and MRT. Hotel has exercise facility, pool and restaurant. All reasonably pricing. If return to Hong Kong, will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank link0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    366
    78
    14
    9
See reviews for
166
214
70
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Having stayed at a number of hotels in Hong Kong it can be hard to find something that strikes a good balance between value for money, service and facilities - for me this hotel gets that balance just right

The rooms are of a good size with great attention to detail such as the surround system and iPod dock

The rooftop swimming pool and bar are a great place to relax after a hectic day around the city

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fourstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have to confess that I tried my hardest to be very critical of this hotel because I used to be a platinum card member but for various reasons (including the poor service of their customer relationship management team in corporate, not at this hotel) I am no longer a platinum member so I used my points to stay here for free.

I took the train in from the airport and decided to take the subway to the hotel. The walk from the Causeway Bay subway station was not easy - it was confusing even with GPS from my iphone and I thought, in my own evil way, "Great - I can say the location is no good". But in reality, the location is very reachable by taxi, which are plentiful and super convenient by bus (I didn't know until I got there). The hotel is located next to the Happy Valley race track and the Causeway Bay area itself is quite a lively and happening shopping and entertainment district. It is a short taxi ride to Wanchai and a slightly longer ride to Central but, as I found out, you can take the bus from right outside the hotel (#690) and this will take you through Wanchai into the heart of Central.

The reception area was tidy and efficient, not grandiose like many hotels. The hallways were a little narrow and dark but once you enter the room, it is beautiful. The room was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in whilst in Hong Kong. It was a good comfortable size (unlike the Sheraton - where I am a platinum member) or even the Intercontinental (both Grand Standford and the main Intercontinental do not have rooms as nice as teh one I stayed in - forget about the holiday inns). The room reminded me a little of the rooms at Le Meridien Cyberport, including the little seating ledge in the shower.

Didn't try any of the restaurants due to time restrictions. Don't know about value as I stayed using points.

Room Tip: Don't bother walking from the subway station. Take a taxi or bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in Hong Kong for three days on the way back from Bali in April, all as part of our honeymoon.

The hotel was lovely and clean and the rooms immaculately presented. Breakfast was a real treat, the smoked salmon was to die for.

I do have one small issue however:

We had our wedding at the Crowne Plaza in London, and the manager of the hotel sent an e-mail to the manager at the Causeway Bay hotel to ask if they would kindly offer us a free room upgrade as we had our wedding at the Crowne Plaza in London. Unfortunately when we arrived we hadn't been upgraded, and had been given a room with a terrible view. My husband asked the hotel staff if there were any rooms with a better view available, and eventually they did agree to change our room (where to be fair the view was wonderful) though it did feel as though we had to beg just for them to give in. The room was changed like for like, just with a better view over Happy Valley as opposed to the other side. I was disappointed that the hotel didn't acknowledge our honeymoon, especially considering the London Crowne Plaza had gone out of their way to try and arrange something special for us when we arrived. I don't think it would have hurt to have offered us a glass of champagne or even just a note in our room to say congratulations.

Other than that, our stay was fairly enjoyable. The reception staff were a little rude at times, however the waiting staff in the bar on the top floor made up for that as they were absolutely fantastic and always very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_pa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear TiggerRooPoo,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel Crowne Plaza Causeway Bay. We are glad to see overall you enjoyed your stay with us. As for your small issue, although the room upgrade is always based on availability and how much hotel's occupancy was at the time, we certainly could have reached out more to make your honeymoon stay more memorable. We pride ourselves on delivering our guests a great experience at all times and we would like you to rest assured that the challenges you encountered are not indicative of our usual high standards.

Again, we thank you for bringing this to our attention and hope we have the opportunity to host you again and to show you the service improvement we've made.

Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great accomodations, bed, location, shower, service & decor!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor, nonsmoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilitaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I recently had a two night stay at this hotel and it was excellent.

I'm lucky enough to have (legitmate) access to the Intercontinental Hotel Group's friends and family rates which meant our Superior Room was at an even better rate. Our room was very spacious (even for three). The King size bed was exceptionally comfy and the extra bed in our room wasn't bad to sleep on either.

The room came equipped with everything that we needed and more. Things provided included dressing gowns, slippers, an umbrella, jogging map and international convertor. Mineral water is also provided and is re-stocked daily.

The rain shower (normal shower head is also provided) with view through the room to the outside was an interesting feature. I would recommend a superior for couples for this reason alone. A screen is provided for privacy.

The hotel staff were extremely attentive and helpful and there was always someone around when required. The majority spoke English which made communicating very easy.

A stay at the hotel wouldn't be complete without a visit to the rooftop heated pool (26C on the day of my visit) which has an excellent view of the surrounds. A rain shower is also nearby which proves refreshing and warm in the winter wind. Also on floor 28 is an exercise room which has treadmills, cross trainers and weights available for use. It overlooks Happy Valley so is worth the visit if your room has a city view.

Room Tip: Superier Room is great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamdeBurgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have corner room 1801 overlooking the Happy Valley racecourse. The view is nice, watching the sport on the racecourse and the action around it. The room is well equipped, excellent wifi, great working desk, it is big enough in my opinion. Bed is comfy and excellent pillows. Nice LCD Tv with DVD and IPOD connectivity with a really great sound system to listen to your tunes in the bath etc and blast them out in your room. Pool & gym upstairs is small buy very adequate. Staff are very friendly, opening doors, lifts with a smile and making sure your needs are covered. Haven't tried breaky, like to go out and find local cafes, plenty around here. The best part of this hotel is its so super quite, that is great and the curtains black out the room for your sleep ins. I really like this hotel and would go down as one of my top rated hotels on my travels.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room overlooking the race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#19 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#26 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#66 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing