We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #53 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Crowne Plaza isn't usually among my choice of hotels (I usually prefer something a little more higher end), but I chose to stay here for two nights because I was trying to keep costs down for my business related travel (HK is expensive!) and because it was relatively new. I wasn't disappointed.

Service was very attentive and the room was sizable and comfortable. There were nice touches that you would expect from a higher end hotel such as a fruit plate in your room that they refresh every day. Though they don't offer free Internet, they offered an all-you-can-use Internet and breakfast package that you could tack on to your room that saved you a little bit. Breakfast was fairly extensive -- pastries (just ok), fresh juices, eggs etc as well as chinese fare like congee, made to order noodle soup and a small selection of dim sum.

I had a problem opening my safe on my last day, and they came to fix it right away. When I told them I needed to go get breakfast right away so I can make a meeting. The manager, who would've preferred I was there, was very accommodating and took responsibility for the security of my things -- she promised to stay while the engineer worked on it, and personally brought me the contents of the safe to the restaurant so I can inspect it and make sure nothing was taken.

Location was very good. In fact, I chose it partly because of it -- It's minutes away from the lively Times Square district in Causeway Bay. It's slightly more of a walk to the MRT than I expected, but it's still only about 10-15 min to the train platform.

No complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Happy Valley racetracks are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    368
    79
    14
    9
See reviews for
168
216
70
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
220 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

This is the hotel you want to stay in when in Hong Kong. As soon as you arrive, you feel welcomed and appreciated as a guest. The little things are even taken care of, as nice candy at the reception desk, two mac's for free internet in the lobby. a special open deck floor (5th) for smokers, or just for somebody that would like some fesh air.
the rooms are excellent, all in a nice modern design. Especially the glass wall shower is a eye catcher when you first enter the room. I didn't have time to see the top two floors (pool en bar) but what I have heard it is a must see. So next tip will certainly include a swim on the 28th and a cool drink one floor higer.
The location is great, with just a short walk to the MRT station, some nice shopping nearby and a Starbucks across the street.
I am particular happy with the service. After arriving home, I noticed I left clothing in the closset. I e-mailed to the general info e-mail and recevieved a postive answer within a few minutes. Not somethingI was expecting sending an e-mail to such address. It is for sur a hotel I will revisit, and will recommend to others.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The place was good and especially if you like Causeway Bay it is even better. Everything was very satisfactory, but especially as the hotel offers some amazing deals. Based on such deals around there is absolutely nothing to be critisized and all is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed in this hotel, although the 1st time round I was very impressed with the place, this time round I was a little disappointed.

The hotel itself is fine, well located in Causeway Bay and within walking distance to Time Square and MTR and it is surrounded by very nice restaurants. The rooms are roomy and bathroom facilities are above average, also the view from our room was quite nice. The bed has to be said was very nice. The bar by the swimming pool was a nice plus point, its a chic place to be for a drink and a chat with friends.

The less impressive things this time round was a toilet that blocked, a dirty bath robe and a less than enthusiastic concierge despite being a platinum member. OK I did get a free upgrade but the service as a whole was very average for a 4.5 star hotel in HK, very average porters as well. Another thing is the TV channels are very mainland Chinese Biased, only 1 Cantonese channel and no free movie channels. Even a small hotel like Hotel de Edge beats this and had a much better choices of channels.

Just a very average stay this time for me, certainly didn't set my pulse on fire and the prices are steep for such an experience.

They need to try harder.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallophunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Pros/Likes:
- Fast efficient check-in and -out
- Nice wonderful staff
- Big room with comfortable bed, large table/desk, and great view of Happy Valley
- Big bathroom with separate shower and bathtub plus a scale and good bathroom amenities
- Excellent location; just a 7-minute walk to the Times Square mall and MTR station
- Room came with bathrobes, sandals, and an umbrella
- In-room safe-deposit box
- Mini-bar refrigerator had some extra space to store own beverages
- iPod/iPhone charger, one of my favorite features!
- Nice big flat-screen TV with multiple channels in English and Chinese
- Free mobile phone to receive in-room calls and call the hotel
- Free daily newspaper
- In-room tea/coffee

Cons/Dislikes:
- The only issue I ever had was a leaky noisy toilet for a couple of days that I had to open up to adjust myself

Neutral:
- Small unimpressive lobby; the decoration and building itself were not particularly appealing
- Breakfast buffet was so-so, had variety of American/British/Asian items but the bircher muesli was acidic, the made-to-order omelet was too soft/bland and the pancakes came from a machine that made them in miniature size one-by-one...not worth the price.
- In-room internet access is $40HKD/hr or $140HKD/day (mine was free as Priority Club Platinum)
- Turn-down service did not leave anything on the bed (chocolates would have been nice)

Miscellaneous:
- Free water bottles daily (unsure as to whether this was a Priority Club Platinum benefit)
- Complimentary fresh fruit basket on day of arrival (unsure as to whether this was a Priority Club Platinum benefit)
- Seemed more of a business than leisure hotel (noticed several business guests)
- Did not try any of the restaurants, other than breakfast
- Did not try the small exercise room with cardio and free weights/machine
- Did not try the roof-top pool but it was right next to the bar

Impression:
Great stay that shows Hong Kong efficiency at work

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MBWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this well located gem.
Great fresh design. Large bathrooms. Friendly staff.
Located in the heart of causeway bay's sprawling shopping district. Give it a go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Stayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Room Nice and Clean. Great location Great Value. Excellent Service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Optics999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#28 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#60 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#73 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing