We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“efficient and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #48 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“efficient and centrally located”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great location for shopping but not too convenient in terms of being a little far from the MTR station and local "hole-in-the wall" eateries, which are one of the greatest experiences in HK. Staff were efficient but a little too business-oriented.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    374
    80
    14
    9
See reviews for
174
217
70
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The good thing about this hotel is the location. It's a 5 mins walk to Times Square and quite near to the other shops and restaurants. It was a standard 4-star room so there's nothing much to comment on that. Just that i had requested for plastic bags for diaper disposal and they sent me two crumpled up packets as if they had been used elsewhere. That was a bit disappointing.
Remaining stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarknan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
311 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A clean and nice property in the heart of busy Hong Kong. Service was very good. Times square a mere 5 minutes walking distance.Lots of restaurants, malls and markets within walking distance. As the hotel is in Causeway Bay, there is no harbor view from the rooms, so its better to opt for rooms over looking the Happy Valley race course.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaadSeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

There is nothing wrong with the room. The F&B is soso...the fornt desk very small. The location is ok, but not near the MTR. The most anoying thing is that the elevators are not build for this building. During peak hour in the morning I waited for about 15 minutes before being able to go down. Every day for 3 days in a row. And all 3 small were functioning. I will definately not stay there again for this reason.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michiel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkytong, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused. April was our peak season. The hotel occupancy was very high in many days. We are sorry that the elevators were kept being full and busy so that your time has been delayed. We will try the best to control the traffic and assist the guests whenever they need.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,863 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Took the airport express to HongKong station and a 10min taxi ride to the hotel, easy enough. Arrived at the door but the 2 young bellboys didn't bother to come out and help open the taxi door or with the luggage. It was only after my icy stare, 1 of them did. The front desk and lobby reception was small. But at least they had chuppa chups lollipops!

The hotel is just a 5min walk from the megamall Times Square so it'll have everything you'll ever need. Try the Lei Garden for chinese food in the mall, it's excellent. There aren't any good restaurants nearby the hotel other than Lei

The room was average sized, and had the shower which i prefer. The bath is a safety hazard. The view of the racing track was good. Toiletries were in-house branded and bland . Tea was Lipton. The 4 star feeling is creeping in ...

Breakfast at Kudos was pretty average and i wrote a seperate review here in tripadvisor

I didn't have time to go the gym and pool so can't comment. They have a rooftop bar and chinese restaurant which i didn't go to either

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Admittedly my mum and I were in a desperate situation and needed to feel human again after an awful 24 hour experience at Hotel Nikko in Kowloon- please do not stay there, but Crowne Plaza Causeway Bay was as a refreshing a change as the turn of Spring.

The staff were super attentive even when the lobby area, which is quite cramped, got busy. The hotel could benefit from a fourth elevator but the staff coordinated them from the lobby level and made sure there was one available for the next batch of guests.

The room, for my mum and I was spacious, clean and relaxing with the most exquisite view of Happy Valley. The floor to ceiling window captures a breathtaking scene of Hong Kong's greenery and high rise residential buildings- it's perfect.

The breakfast room was always busy but the food was varied and deliciously fresh and never short of plentiful. The dim sum was particularly great, as was the selection of omelette fillings.

My only gripe with the hotel would be the inconsistent temperatures, or rather the consistently frigid atmosphere. This goes for Hong Kong in general, where going indoors is like going into an igloo while being outside is more beneficial to your health even with all the pollution. Even when we switched the air conditioning off there was still cold air blowing out from the ventilation. It was not too bad but we did freeze when we got out of the shower. This is the only aspect of our hotel experience that prevents me from rating my overall experience as excellent, but it honestly is an excellent hotel.

The location is also excellent with the MTR is right on your doorstep with a plethora of restaurants all around the hotel. Time Square is a maze but there's so much character and energy to tire you out but knowing there is a big fluffy bed waiting for you at the hotel is reassuring.

The rooftop Club @28 is a chic lounge bar sitting within Hong Kong's skyline with some incredible views including a sliver of the bay between the buildings. Although I didn't use the pool, it's fantastically located next to the bar and is very sleek.

My mum and I loved it here so much (she actually stayed here when it first opened in 2009) that it made what could have been an awful 10 day break at Hotel Nikko, a great stay in the heart of all the action.

It was so great that I now can't wait to make a second visit but I would really appreciate the hotel taking the unreasonably cold temperatures into consideration! Nonetheless, I can still smell the lobby's distinct aroma...

Room Tip: Get a room facing Happy Valley. It's such a peaceful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kewpielovesyou
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Flew into HK late. by the time we got the the hotel via taxi, it was a little bit past 11pm. check in took a little longer than i was expecting - 10mins plus, it's something that annoys me alot. especially after a 9hr+ flight with a child in tow.

the rooms: fabulously appointed. very thoughtful. power points and USB wall sockets for charging smart devices. floor to ceiling windows (we got a room with a view of the happy valley race course). the bathroom: spacious and with every modern day traveller amenity you could think of (without being wasteful). a full sized bath (deep) and a separate shower complete with rain forest shower head or a more conventional handheld / wall mounted shower. the bathroom is lit in 2 stages: one for complete illumination (if you need) and one level down for when you go to bed and or just need something less BRIGHT. the TV comes with the full range of cable and local channels. and they are crystal clear, and not fuzzy like alot of hotels. great surround system too! Bedding comfort is good as well. A comfortable duvet type blanket for that home-away from home feeling and a very couple friendly sized LARGE KING bed. We also got a rollaway for an extra cost per night to our room rate for our 2+ yr old - he loved having his own bed....right beside the wall to wall, floor to ceiling windows.

the pool: located on the roof top level along with the gym. not a fan of the pools that are next to bars. but i know that space is a premium with hotels in HK. the gym is also decently sized with views of happy valley. i wish the pool was heated though. was a little hard to swim in cold water. even with the morning sun blazing down. there are also life guards on duty poolside.

the location: is unbeatable. it's 2 mins walk to Times Square and the slew of malls in the area. Ocean Park is a short cab ride down the road. Mcdonald's (you shouldn't need that when in HK) is across the street. Taxis, buses, trams are aplenty at the door step. Local food is a couple of streets away where the morning markets trade (near the bridge) and for those needing more modern cuisines, there is plenty to choose from: chinese, jap, western. you name it. my favourite was the congee from ho hung kee (hysan place) and the ice cream at Via Tokyo and also Saboten (jap tonkatsu chain).

the staff: very friendly. i was emailing the hotel to request for an extra bed for my son - very quick to reply. also got a pre arrival confirmation of my booking and my additional requests.

the only thing: housekeeping dropped my wife's make up bag during one of the day's clean up. it cracked a couple of things inside (which upset her alot). other than that: it's a hotel i definitely will return to. spacious, well appointed rooms. safe. proximity to everything (especially shopping). Slightly pricey, but when you travel with a 2 yr old, space and comfort is worth paying for.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel's name in chinese (written) so that the taxi driver knows which hotel it is. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kewpielovesyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,393 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#31 of 718 in Hong Kong
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#63 of 718 in Hong Kong
569 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing