We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service Apartment”
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CHI Residences 279
Ranked #139 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service Apartment”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The service apartment is fully answer my requirements. Cleaness, modern, comfortable, good location.

There are only 12nd floor and 24 rooms which 1 floor per 2 rooms; kicthen, microwave, dish, bowl, pot, pan, iron, bread maker, air purifier, mosquito killer machine, umbrella, shopping bag, etc

I am strongly suggest all traveller to stay in this place. You will never feel to go back home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pimsiri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're glad that CHI 279 was able to meet and exceed all your expectations and that it contributed to making your trip a memorable one.
Again, thanks, we look forward to having you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    78
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
71
70
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed in CHI Residence 279 with my husband and my 16 months boy from 23-Jun to 26-Jun. CHI 279 is very suitable for a family with a baby/toddler. Apartment is similar to a one room flat in Singapore with everything provided.

How to reach CHI 279? Buy MTR ticket from HK Airport to Kowloon MTR. (HK$90 Adult, HK$45 Child). Take free shuttle bus (K1) and alight at Eaton Smart Hotel (6 Stops), walk estimiate 350m to CHI Residence 279.

Service: 100% Service Excellent from the Staff. Room is always clean & tidy after we returned back from shopping. Two persons who serve us during the trip are Johnny and Ying. The rest not sure of their name, they just greet us with a smile everyday.

Toilet: Big toilet. All toiletries provided, except shaver. Shower hose/tap is using GROHE brand. (Branded).

Bedroom: Suitable for 2 adults and baby/toddler. Not suitable for an extra person cos there will not be enough space to put a bed. Even a cot-bed is quite cramp. Our baby sleeps in between us. Bed is very comfortable, my baby can sleep very long. Two big cupboards with hangers and a safe provided.

Kitchen: Almost all utensils are provided. All bowls, plates, cups, glasses are made of glass, might not be suitable for children. Microwave, bread toaster. Iron, iron-board, umbrella, room slippers are found in a cupboard.

Living room: Smart TV. (Don't have to bring your personal laptop). H-Fi, DVD player. Ionizeer, air-con.

Location: 2-3 min walk to Yau Ma Tei MTR. 2 min walk to Tin Hau Temple. 2 min walk to temple street. You can purchase Mango Dessert everyday from the same building, level 1. Opposite the street are the hawker stalls.

Others: Dryers x02 and washing machine x02 provided on rooftop.

Price: Worth the price. Comparable to a 4 star and 5 star hotel.

Overall: Tidy and well-maintained apartment. Location: Very convenience. Excellent service. Definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank JeanNgYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for taking to the time to write such an in depth, detailed and encouraging review. We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and our amenities. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Johnny and Ying and the rest of the staff. It sounds like you managed to see and experience a lot of what Hong Kong has to offer, we hope you had a great time during your stay. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you and your family with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I just returned from a one month stay at Chi 279 in Yau Ma Tei. This is my second time staying at a Chi property. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment, love the furnishings and the aircon worked perfectly! It was always nice coming back to Chi 279 after a busy day. Extra special thanks to Johnny and Zoe for making me feel at home. I also love the Yau Ma Tei neighborhood, so much character!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. We're glad that our comfortable furnishings and our friendly staff were able to make your trip an enjoyable one and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Johnny and Zoe. Again thanks for the great review, we hope to have you back again when you visit Hong Kong again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We visited hong kong for 6 days and stayed at chi residences 279. We rented 2 appartments - one for parents and 1 for 3 teenagers. The location is good,3 min from the mtr.the app are very clean and well maintained ,the staf is friendly and likes to help.the single con is that you have to walk 5 min for the nearest western breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. We're glad you and your family had a good time on your visit to Hong Kong and are happy we were able to play a small part in that. Thank you again for the kind review, we hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

My husband, nearly 2 year old son and I visited Hong Kong for first time in April. After I read other reviews, I decided to book this hotel. I'm glad I did!

The room was a bit smaller than what I saw photos but it's clean, there are absolutely everything we needed, we enjoyed very comfy bed. As we have a small toddler, the kitchen and washing machine (on the roof) were so handy. Also all hotel staff were very friendly.

A twist? It's located in a quite funky or i should say interesting area which my husband and I loved it. It's in the middle of shanghai street, there are so many interesting shops also close to jade market and Yau Ma Tei station. We visited other area but we prefer where we stayed! You can see the real hong kong.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiFiYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for writing and sharing your review. We're glad that you and your family enjoyed your time here and were able to experience the authentic side of Hong Kong; it truly is great place. For your next visit, please check out our other properties which are also located in local neighbourhoods around Hong Kong. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you and the family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We (2 adults, 1 teenager, 1 pre-teen) stayed in HK for 3 days. Trying to find a place that is not too tight for US standard, and doesn't cost you an arm and a leg - no easy task. We are very satisfied with this apartment. We got a room for 3 people and requested an additional bed. Our room has 1 double bed and a twin size bed in another room. The added bed was squeezed in between the double bed and the TV. Without the added bed, it's a very good size room for 3 people. It's a bit tight for 4 people, but we managed. The bathroom is spacious and we can store all of our luggages in a spare space in the bathroom.

Staff is very friendly, contrast to most people in HK. They also speak good English. When we arrived, they knew us by names and welcomed us warmly. The security is pretty good. This is not a hotel where there is lobby area. It's a serviced apartment. So you have to ring the bell to get in. We feel very safe. The room is also very quiet. They also stored our luggages on the day we checked out until we are ready for the airport.

The location is super convinient. An airport bus is just 2 blocks away. The bus runs every 10 minutes for $33 HKD each person. We took the taxi because we have 4 people. Taxi is about $220 HKD from the airport. The Yau Ma Tei MTR station (subway) was just about 5 minutes away and it has trains to all the major sites. You can get an Octopus card. You need to put in $150 in total minimum - $50 deposit and $100 to use for almost all the public transportation, including the airport bus. (Airport train is very expensive) You can add more money to the card in any of the subway stations, or in any 7/11 stores. You can also use it in many store, like McDonald, 7/11. When you return it, you will get the deposit back plus any unused balance. But they charge $HK9 if you return within 3 days, which is just a little over US$1.

The famous night market "Temple Street" is just one block away. We had a lot of fun going through the night market. You can get really local food if you are brave enough. It may not look that clean, but we didn't get sick at all. Lots of shopping around. We went to the Peak at night. Beautiful. It's a must see in HK if you are there for a limited time. Take the ferry over so that you can see the HK island view at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you Nancy for taking your time to write such a helpful and encouraging review. We're glad you and your family could enjoy the comfort and convenience of our CHI apartments. It sounds like you managed to see and experience a lot of what Hong Kong has to offer, we hope you had a great time during your stay. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you and your family with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for a week in march and we couldn't praise this place enough.Perfect location within easy reach of everything including mtr.Spotlessly clean,management and staff superb and the apartment has all the amenties you will need for your holiday.The shower is powerful in a good way with plenty of hot water and the bed is like sleeping on a cloud.

Room Tip: We stayed in 11 on the top floor but I would imagine all the rooms are just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you kindly for your encouraging and positive review. We're glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
879 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#188 of 718 in Hong Kong
109 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#117 of 718 in Hong Kong
255 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,341 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Property: CHI Residences 279
Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing