We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great unit, excellent location”
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CHI Residences 279
Ranked #147 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Tura Beach
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, great unit, excellent location”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The staff were amazing - they were genuinely interested in making our stay there as comfortable and pleasant as possible. The night manager even came out to the street with us (in the rain) to flag down a taxi when we left. The unit itself was fairly large by HK Standards when compared with a standard hotel room, very well-equipped (including wi-fi access and an in-room "thin client" internet PC, excellent DVD player and big TV), clean and very comfortable. Good-sized bathroom with ***massive*** shower enclosure.

The location was brilliant - 2 minutes walk to Nathan Rd, 1 minute to Temple Street Night Markets, 1 minute to supermarket, 3 minutes to MTR station, under 10 minutes stroll to Kowloon Park, maybe 20 minutes (or an MTR ride + 5 minutes walk) to the Harbour. Taxi to airport around HK$250.

We were lucky to stay in a number of excellent hotels and units while we were away (Europe and Hong Kong) and this was as good as any of them. A modern, professionally-run apartment hotel.

Room Tip: Traffic noise from Shanghai St was noticeable but not intrusive from our room on the 7th floor. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    77
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
69
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This was my first stay in Hong Kong I will definately be back for longer. The staff at the Chi are the stars everything was anticipated Kate was so helpfull and the lovely lady who came outside to hail a cab for me on the day I left. I was on the 12th floor so very quiet I coild not fault the apartment HUGE shower, great bed nothing was too much trouble. Will definately recomend to others.

Sandra New Zealand

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Sandra, thank you for your review and we're glad we could make your first time to Hong Kong a memorable one. Do let us know when you are planning your next trip and we will make sure your stay is just as comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast, australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I have used TripAdvisor on numerous occasions to research accommodation and have never written a review before for a variety of reasons. Lots of places we have stayed all around the world deserve a positive review but I have usually arrived home a day or two before returning to work and then time flies by and I never seem to get around to doing it BUT this time I am as the Chi Residences is " a hidden white pearl in the middle of chaos".
Having only stopped in Hong Kong for 2 days on a previous trip on our way to Europe, we were determined to return and explore further. We required a place that had a kitchen so we had the option of preparing our own meals, if we wished and room to spread out a bit, not just a hotel room. The use of space is cleverly used. The apartment has everything you could want. We stayed for 5 days and the location is excellent, so handy to everything, local markets for shopping, a "normal" supermarket, a Wellcome, a block or 2 away for western style groceries, eg, milk, cereal etc. The staff were always helpful and very friendly and the cleanliness of the apartment was so lovely to walk back into at the end of a hot day of sightseeing and shopping. The towels were thick and lovely and I agree the shower was the best. I loved the red shower door also.
We always check out the front of a place on Google Earth before travelling there so we know what to look for and the Chi Residences does has a large sign just not at street level.It is illuminated at night.We were on the 3rd floor and even though Shanghai St is very busy in the day, it does settle at night. I am a light sleeper but was not woken once by street noise.Even though the Chi was fully booked during the Mid Autumn festival, we did not hear other people,as there are only 3 units per floor.
Staying in the area of Ya Ma Tei gives Westerners a taste and feel of real Hong Kong. It is a street that has everyday people going about their daily business. We always felt safe even when returning late at night.The A21 bus to and from the airport is in Nathan Rd just around the corner as is the MRT which takes you anywhere quickly and cheaply. We will most definitely be staying here again when we return next year. Our Check out process was quick.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brobi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Firstly, congratulations on your first Tripadvisor review and thank you for writing such an encouraging one for us. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and a comfortable stay in our apartments. Yau Ma Tei does give an authentic Hong Kong experience and it's good to know you enjoyed exploring the neighbourhood. Thanks again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back to CHI, your Hong Kong home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kowloon City, null, Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I allow you to leave a little comment on this resident CHI 279 it is now 13 months since I live here.
although sometimes there are slight noise but this evening and a lack of education of some person passing.
First of all you are very comfortable apartment with complete equipment very clean with household makes every day which is not the case with alot of other apartment in hong kong.
Your staff is very courteous and very professional.
all my congratulations to all of you for this excellent service

regards / ck

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Christophe, thank you for taking time to write an encouraging review even after some months of your stay with us. It's nice to know our CHI hospitality has been memorable and we hope we can extend this service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed at Chi between 17-20th Sept. We arrived in the late evening and when the cab first turned into the street you feel slightly worried as the area is quite run down and untidy however as soon as you step into Chi greeted by fresh white walls and peaceful water features. Group of 6 of us stayed in two apartments - it was great having the entire floor to ourselves during our stay. Great apartments - wifi - big internet tv, daily water bottles and housekeeping. Location is perfect can walk to night markets and cabs to other parts of town were very reasonable. During the day the area is great - really feel like you are in are in proper Hong Kong rather than commercial and business side of Hong Kong. Only downside was the checkout procedure - stayed in many apartments before but never had to wait for the entire apartment to be searched and each spoon counted before checking out - especially since you leave a security deposit at the beginning. Since we had an early morning flight and rush hour to contend with did not appreciate this delay or the big deal made out of not being able to find one of the entry cards used to activate the lift - would have appreciated the staff helping us to get a cab rather than worrying about a card. Overall though would recommended the apartments - clean, great location and loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for taking time to write such an encouraging review. It's good to know you and your family enjoyed our apartments and explored the surrounding local neighbourhoods. Regarding the lift card, please understand it is a security issue, and so we have to take certain measures. Your feedback is appreciated and we will review early morning check out procedures. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again - perhaps try one of our other properties to experience another area of Hong Kong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We arrived late at night and we had a hard time locating the hotel, it is situtaed at a relatively dark and quiet street, the dim signboard means it could easily go unnoticed if one didn't pay much attention. We're given a room on 11th floor, it was huge and equipped basically with everything you need, a living room, kitchenette and dining table. However, do note that there's hardly any room for an extra bed. The full wall window in the bedroom offers an amazing view of the street. Close proximity to Yau Ma Tei MTR and just right opposite to temple's street. Though we didn't spend much time in the apartment since we checked out ealy the next day but it's definitely worth the price we paid in a country like Hong Kong, let alone the fact that it's in the city area. The only drawback was the alarm turned itself on during early in the morning and we couldn't figure out a way to disable it, eventually we just removed the batteries. All in all, it was a indeed nice stay at CHI residence 279, would recommend it to anyone that prefer a spacious room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillarossi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay with us. We're glad to have been able to provide a comfortable space for you to relax and rest, even just for a night. We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The location in a safe older part of town is opposite Temple Street Markets, the Big Bus Stop and a Viator Tour pick up point. The apartments are clean, modern, comfortable have an excellent Wifi connection and the best shower you will get in China. There is a Welcome supermarket, McDonalds and restuarants nearby. You can catch up on the washing with rooftop washers and dryers. Traffic noise is low at night and the staff are most helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor near the office which saved time using the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubenjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of CHI 279 and we're glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the good showers! We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,291 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#120 of 718 in Hong Kong
251 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#186 of 718 in Hong Kong
107 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 718 in Hong Kong
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Property: CHI Residences 279
Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing