We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent sized room and good location”
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CHI Residences 279
Ranked #146 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Near to the MTR station of Yau Ma Tei on Shanghai Road, just behind the very long shopping street of Nathan Road. The building itself doesn't look much but once inside the decor is more than fine.

We arrived around 7pm. Check in was slightly haphazard and as our room was being right next to the check-in area we missed out on the useful information that was in the lift. We received no information about Hong Kong on check-in.

The room itself was a decent size with a living area of a table and sofa plus full-size fridge/freezer, one electric hob, microwave, 2 pans, a frying pan and cutlery. We had two of everything - the place could do with more dishes since there is no washing-up liquid or cloth to clean used dishes. There was a huge TV in the front room with internet connection.

The bathroom had a separate shower, not the usual wetroom. It came supplied with a full array of toiletries.

The bed fit snugly into the bedroom, which can be divided by pulling across French Doors. There were also built-in wardrobes with a safe inside. We also found a handy bag, hairdryer, golf umbrella and slippers in the room.

The apartment is very well proportioned and is very clean. The housekeeper does an excellent job, including the washing up.

The Chi Residence is a pretty good place to stay should you want an apartment. If you want to cook it does lack some items such as cooking oil and some utensils. Just next door there is a homeware shop! If you like shopping then the Chi is ideally located with Nathan Road just one street away. For food shopping there is a Wellcome nearby. Step out onto the road and go right, then take the next right, cross the next street and walk until you pass the McDonalds and it is on your right. For seeing the sights of Hong Kong you can walk, it is about 30 minutes to the Harbour front or take the metro.

If you want a decent sized room that is clean and fairly well resourced and close to transport links then this is a good choice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for CHI Residences 279
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very helpful staff,easy check in and out process. Our apartment was perfectly functional, with a double bedroom that includeds a large wardrobe, a kitchenette with appliance and bathroom with LARGE shower room. :)

But the best thing about these hotel apartment is the location in Kowloon. A very short walk to Temple Street and the night markets, with lots of options for eating locally. The harbour, Star Ferry, Avenue of Stars etc is also in walking distance, straight down Nathan Road.

Would definitely book this again when we visit HK again! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juanitaninay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here last August 2011 with my family for 3 days and 2 nights. Well ventilated, well decorated and very friendly staff. Near MRT. 5 minute walk from the hotel. Hawkers at night.We really loved our stay. They also have a kitchenette and very comfortable bed.
Recommended for family travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaVerneParedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely and helpful staff provided a relatively easy check in and out process. They were friendly with recommendations aplenty when asked.

Our apartment was compact but perfectly functional, with a double bedroom which included a large wardrobe that would be perfect for longer stays, a kitchenette with a basic assortment of kitchen essentials and bathroom featuring a large shower room.

The finishes and furnishings were mostly new and modern and throughout the building, everything was spotlessly clean. One fault was a litted ‘damaged’ blind in the kitchen (but that was so minor it barely seems worth mentioning – check the photos).

The sleeping arrangements of 1 x large bed and 1 x fold-away for 2 adults and 2 children, was not great for us. We were fine for a night but we couldn't manage a long stay in this room. I’m not sure what the other room options were but I would investigate that if we were to stay again, because everything else was spot on.

But the best thing about these apartments is the excellent location in Kowloon. A very short walk to Temple Street and the night markets, with lots of options for eating locally. The harbour, Star Ferry, Avenue of Stars etc is also in walking distance, straight down Nathan Road.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We loved our stay at CHI Residences 279, it was pleasant right from the start - the service staff Ray was very friendly, and we had personalised notes waiting for us in our apartment telling us where to locate amenities and how to connect to the all-important wifi.

With a living room, kitchenette and bedroom spanning 60sqm, it was a luxury in cramped Hong Kong. It felt like we were going home every night. There's a rooftop balcony where you can do your laundry too. Best of all - it was only 5 mins from Yau Me Tei MTR and right smack in Temple Street with loads of good food, yet not noisy at all. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spunktitud3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at Chi 279 for 3 nights. For 4 adults and Chi management recommend we book two rooms. The price was fair, a little bit more then what I would normally pay. However, it was a great decision. They are very courteous and answered all our questions. Very help! Zoe who was our housekeeper was great!! Kudos to everyone working there!

My parents stayed in 5B, my husband and I stayed in 8A. My parents loves the room and rave about the cleanliness compared to other hotel/apt we previous stayed. If noise bothers you ask for a higher floor. My mom mention she hears all the delivery trunks at night, it annoying but she able to fall sleep. On other hand, I didn't hear a things being on the 8fl. The kitchen filled with cookware and other utensils help greatly for morning breakfast and such.

My room is showing a bit of wears and tears. There was a burned mark on kitchen stove from previous stayer. The sliding door that partition living room and bedroom has black marks on inside and small areas with smutches in bathroom. The decors were homey even with the minor flaws. Shower pressure was amazing and I enjoy it thoroughly. I did find it odd that toilet paper will not flush. I notified management on two separate occasions and they tried to fix it. No avail, so reminding of trip we just toss used toilet paper into a wastebasket. It’s good thing, the basket has a lid!

The location is fantastic! We went to eat (recommended by Ray) claypot rice. Very crowded and you’re there to eat. A few minutes to Yau Ma Tei station to everywhere. We walked from Tsim Sha Tui back to hotel in Yau Ma Tei. A meager 10 minute walk to Ladies Market up in Mong Kok, which happens to be near another night street area. There also a Electronic Center/building near Ladies market. Great for fella if they don’t want to go to Ladies market with their other half.

Will stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floor for less noise. Washing machine and dryer on roof help but you must supply your own det...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights in December. A little pricey but we were there for New Year countdown so everywhere else was equally expensive and paying a little more, we got to stay in this one-room compact service apartment with a mini kitchen. Location is excellent, 5 minutes from Yau Ma Tei MTR and a street away from Temple Street (where the night market is). It is also 3 minutes from the very famous claypot rice on Temple Street. Free (and good) Wifi, extremely efficient housekeeping and I couldn't take my eyes off the TV.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#192 of 721 in Hong Kong
111 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#27 of 721 in Hong Kong
896 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#129 of 721 in Hong Kong
266 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
#209 of 721 in Hong Kong
108 reviews
Metro Winner Hotel
#203 of 721 in Hong Kong
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £77 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing