We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and comfortable”
Review of Wifi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wifi Hotel
Ranked #213 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was quite a find for me and my husband when we traveled to HK for our trip. I liked that the hotel room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very well kept. I am incredibly particular about bathrooms and beds so this was a big plus for me and my husband, who slept well all throughout our stay. I also like that the hotel had a big window and that was pleasant as most hotels don't even have one. My husband and also loved the fact that they had free (and very strong) wifi service in our hotel rooms.

The only down side was that the location was in the middle of two mrt stations so there's definitely more walking and at first we had a bit of a hard time looking for it. When you get used to it though, it wasn't so bad.

I also loved that this hotel was central to so many places and you won't get hungry as it is close even to major restaurants. If you're not into local food, there's a local Mcdonalds, Starbucks, Yoshinoya. There are a lot of local restaurants too and a lot of convenient stores nearby.

Room Tip: Try the ferry from wanchai to get from kowloon to get to hong kong island, it's very cheap and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ubechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    98
    46
    18
    13
See reviews for
29
36
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Spent 3 nights here whilst making a quick return visit to Hong Kong. The hotel is conveniently located in the wanchai / causeway bay area on HK island (having been brought up and schooled on HK island I'm perhaps biased to recommend this area over the many kowloon hotels). 5mins walk and you reach an MTR station or the hustle and bustle of shops and restaurants in causeway bay.

The hotel is like a converted residential block with very little facilities but the rooms themselves are clean and modern with everything you need. Rooms in HK are always on the small side so this was more than adequate with decent wifi (good enough for skype video). You're never gonna get a cheap hotel in HK and whilst I've stayed at far superior hotels in HK this place still represents great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_loyal_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I chose this hotel for the supposed close proximity to the Convention Centre. It wasn't particularly near but rather smack in between the Causeway Bay MTR (9 mins walk) and the Convention Centre (12 mins walk). With that said, there are a lot of shopping and eateries along the way and the adjoining roads so the convenience and accessibility is relatively good. Wifi was reasonably good and I could only hear sounds outside the door and none from rooms either side of mine. Good choice for budget travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0uri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This hotel has only one selling point, and it's in its name: the internet connection in the room and the promise of technological amenities. There are no other amenities. I was therefore shocked that the connection is very poor (worse than 80% of Hong Kong connections according to speedtest.net). I asked the front desk receptionist if she could do anything about the bad internet and she flat-out said no. I asked for help with connecting my laptop to the television and the receptionist said the televisions did not have HDMI ports--which they obviously do, like all televisions made in the last 5 years. I got the thing connected no thanks to them. For internet and technological amenities, you are much better off going to just about any hotel in Hong Kong. I even went to a hostel with better internet than this at a much lower price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The room is clean and has a nice interior and a modern design. For Canadian standards and first-time international travelers the room is small. For Hong Kong standards, this room is decent. The price is affordable at around $85 CAN per night. There are certainly nicer places to stay with more room, however if your goal is to see a lot of Hong Kong the location is excellent. The hotel is a short 5-10 minute walk from either the Causeway Bay or Wan Chai MTR stations. Personally I preferred the walk to Causeway bay station as this seemed shorter.

I stayed in the Wifi Hotel for 10 days in June 2013 during my vacation in Hong Kong. The standard room is very suitable for a single traveler. For a couple it is cozy, but manageable. The main points of concern if considering this hotel as a couple is that the bathroom has all glass walls. The shower in my room had a band of stick on stuff which is the cheap equivalent of frosted glass. This provides some privacy but the toilet is visible from the desk.

ROOM DETAILS
- Strong WIFI with excellent speed. No problems connecting.
- Staff provides an HK to North American adapter if you request it
- Shower has rain shower head with a detachable head
- Shampoo and Soap provided in the shower
- comb, tooth brush, and other things... didn't use these
- Toilet was clean!
- Bed is made, towels are changed, floor is cleaned everyday
- Tile floor in the entrance of the room and in the bathroom
- wood floor where the desk and bed. The wood floor is quite scratched up
- ipod docking station provided (also clock radio)
- AC works great
- No gym, restaurant, pool, or other such amenities

That's about all you need to know. Not a whole lot of suitcase room if there are two people staying in the standard room. More than enough for a single traveler.

SERVICE DETAILS
- Staff speaks English, Cantonese, and Mandarin (Pu Tong Hua)
- Later-ish checkout (12:00 PM)
- Room requires $500.00 HK deposit upon arrival, this can be redeemed at checkout
- Staff will check your room to see if you forgot anything at check out
- Staff will hold luggage between check-out and your flight if you have a later flight

NOISE DETAILS
The sound-proofing between hotel rooms is pretty good. I never heard anything from adjacent rooms during my stay except for the water running when other hotel guests were taking showers. The front door is unfortunately thin and not well sound proofed. You can hear everything that is going on in the hallway. Fortunately the hotel is small and very... vertical. There are only 3 rooms to a floor so there is not a lot of traffic in the hallway.

LOCATION DETAILS
Awesome location. Quick walk to Causeway Bay MTR station. MTR can easily take you to Mong Kok in 20 minutes or less. Sham Shui Po, Wan Chai, Seung Wan, Tsim Sha Tsui, are all locations that are extremely easy to access. Kowloon station and Tsing Yi take a little more time to get to.

Many restaurants and Cafe's in the wan chai area and also immediately underneath the hotel within 2 or 3 blocks. There is also a grocery store called fusion nearby. If you need a quick lunch or dim sum these are easy on the wallet. It is easy to eat around this area for around $40 HK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Wifi Boutique Hotel is a good hotel if you 1) are on a budget, 2) want a good location, 3) and a nice rest at the end of the day.

for about SGD$100/night (superior room), you get all basic amenities like toothbrush, shampoo, shower gel etc, a decent TV + DVD player and even a ipod/iphone docking station. There are also slippers if you don't like your bare feet stepping all over the sufficiently cleaned floor.

The bed is quite firm and can be a negative point for some people but it was great for me. Take note if you are soft mattress person.

The hotel is located near enough to Causeway Bay MTR station (5 to 10 mins walk). Lots of convenient stores, restaurants and cha chan ting all around it.

The front desk, which is located on the 2nd floor is staffed with helpful people who can speak Cantonese, Mandarin and enough English to tell you how to get to wherever you want. You can even borrow umbrellas at the front desk if you happen to visit during the rainy season, which we did.

We would stay in Wifi Hotel again if we ever go back to Hong Kong, which we most definitely would.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors if noise is a concern. Lower floors suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

i visited hongkong between june 2-8. originally, i stayed in soho, central but moved my parents to wifi hotel from june 5-8 as they wanted to be close to causeway bay. i booked the hotel on the same day of check-in from agoda at approx US$70/night. given the steep pricing of hotels in HK, i thought this was decent, but we were not expecting much.

the entrance to the hotel is tiny, could be easily missed but they do have a decent sized signage. the reception is on the second floor. we were given room 701 and noticed there's 3 rooms per level. the reception isn't really a proper reception if you consider that all the luggages crowding the foyer and there's no seat for waiting guests to sit (but there's 2 chairs on the ground floor). the lobby, reception is basic, but clean. check-in was ok, the service was decent - the staff answered our questions, informed us of a security deposit but nothing more. as its name suggests, there's free wifi in the hotel which is convenient (average speed but don't expect the whole youtube watching thing).

the room was pleasantly much larger than we had anticipated. i have heard horror stories of matchbox-sized hotel rooms, bed against door against wall situation. but no, the room we got was decent sized, and ample room for 2 to move. there's a little kitchenette counter with 2 complimentary bottled water in the fridge. in the bathroom, it's a lil tight. they provided basic toiletries like soap, shampoo, toothbrush, comb, razor, towels. the rainshower was a good temperature and pressure and aside from a small issue working the knobs, it was fine. there is no wardrobe but a small built-in hanging stand to hang your clothes in the hotel room and only large enough to rest one luggage.

in our room, we also had a dvd player and small ipod dock in addition to a flat screen tv. i thought these touches were great for a basic, "sleep only" hotel (which was my parents intention). however, do not expect much from the tv. i think at best, there's only 10 channels and the only one i understood was discovery channel.

bed wise, i think this is where the hotel falls short. for the most part, i believe people visiting causeway bay are in more for the shopping. so the hotel serves mostly a "shower and sleep" only use. therefore, while the additional ipod/dvd player touches were helpful, the shower and beds are of more importance. the bed was very firm (some may like it but i didn't) and they only provided one flat pillow. the airconditioning also tends to be quite loud at night for light sleepers like my mother.there's also daily housekeeping service and they will top up your toiletries, water, make the beds and provide fresh towels.

location wise, it is just off a fairly big street and i was a little concerned about loud noises disturbing my parents at night, as we were only on the 7th floor. it is undeniable we can hear street sounds, but it wasn't too bad. the hotel is a 10min straight walk to the left of causeway bay station (mtr exit C) and about a 15-20min straight walk down from the watering holes of wan chai. note that the watering holes of wan chai is in sort of a 'red light district' area and i was slightly shocked when i went there alone. so, the hotel isn't exactly stumbling distance after drinks but it's close enough for you to get there on foot and quick enough to return on taxi. there's plenty of food options all around to compensate for the lack of inhouse restro.

for US$70/night, i think the hotel is value for money. it's "no frills", clean and fairly accessible, good for the budget traveller looking to shop and drink in the causeway bay and wan chai area. i don't think you can find something cheaper at this standard. that said, for about US$30 more per night, you have plenty more options in causeway bay itself.

my ratings are based on the value of what i paid for and not in comparison to the standards of other hotels in HK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel-natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Walden Hotel
Walden Hotel
#404 of 718 in Hong Kong
156 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#514 of 718 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
JJ Hotel
JJ Hotel
#133 of 718 in Hong Kong
650 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 718 in Hong Kong
482 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#187 of 718 in Hong Kong
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wifi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wifi Hotel

Property: Wifi Hotel
Address: No.366 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wifi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wifi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wifi Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing