We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Island Guesthouse
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and Good”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hostel tour: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUppLTTvECU&feature=c4-overview&list=UUFy7CZkpTlG6ZwZYHKqeMZg

It was very strategically located. Close to most of the major attractions and very easy to get around. Pretty small but clean enough just to sleep in for the night. Overall a good experience if you're not too fussy. :) Will be returning to stay for the next trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelenatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
7
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ozamiz City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have stayed here in 2010 and I must say that they have really made improvements. There are new rooms located on the 9th floor!

Pros:
* Free slippers to use in the room and/or bathroom
* Fresh towels everyday
* They might not provide the same housekeeping as that of hotels but they see to it that your trash bins are cleared when you come back from a whole day of fun in HK
* What I really love about them is that -- they allow you to check-in early! Yey!!! I guess this is only possible if they are not fully booked. Some guesthouses or hostels do not allow you to check-in early even if they already have an available room for you.
* Free wi-fi
* You can take the bus to go to the guesthouse from the airport. It will give you a 50% savings from taking the Airport Express. The bus stop is just 3 to 5 mins away from the guesthouse. Very convenient!

I don't really want to say Cons but below serves as my warnings to potential customers in this guesthouse:

1. Hong Kong is a very small country so naturally the hostels or guesthouses are also very small.
2. Stay in this guesthouse only if you wish to have your own private room & not share with others; although, they also have a dorm room but I can't comment on that as I have not seen (nor stayed on) it yet.
3. They do not have heater in the room. So if you go there during the winter season (like us) be sure to brave the coldness in the room. They do have duvet/comforter/quilt as blankies though which would help you get a good night sleep during the cold weather.
4. They have a/c in the room so don't worry if you stay with them during summer time.
5. The bathroom is a little tricky. It's quite small as expected. Our cistern lid may be missing but it didn't really bother us. Also since the bathroom is very small, please expect that the toilet will be showered as well. Just cover the toilet seat and have your shower :D
6. The water heater is also tricky. You have to complete your shower in 20 mins time or else you'll run out of hot shower. You'll have to wait another 5 to 10 mins for you to get your hot shower back.
8. They will ask for a $100hkd deposit for the room key. It will be returned at the end of your stay if you didn't lose the key & if you still have the receipt.
9. There are no other hidden charges. Unlike other hostels or guesthouses in Chungking Mansion that asks for an accommodation fee on top of what you have already paid for online. It will screw your budget if you're on a tight one.
10. The elevators are really small. Avoid the rightmost elevator as it service even floor numbers only. Since the guesthouse main floor is at the 7th floor, take the middle or the left side elevator instead.

The guesthouse is very near to night markets for you to shop & try street foods. But if you're not the adventurous type, there's a McDonalds nearby. There's also Starbucks across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows. They do have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeeGalacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I don't even know where to start with this hostel. There are many issues to get through. We had script problems from day one -- we couldn't find the thing. Granted; Hong Kong is a city of crazy alley ways and back passages, but to access this hostel, you had to delve down a side alley and up the world's slowest (and often most congested) elevator. Once we got up to the hostel, we were a little confronted that the main passage way was about shoulder width. "Oh, they're just cutting down on common area space, to increase the size of the bedrooms". How wrong I was. The bedrooms were very small – with 5 beds in a 15 square meter area. It was a squeeze. Then the piece de resistance! The bathrooms. The toilet cistern was broken, and was missing a lid. So that was nice. The tiled area in the 5 square meter bathroom also doubled as the shower recess; so whenever somebody took a shower, the entire bathroom (toilet seat and all) was saturated with water. Some positives for the room were: 1. It was air conditioned 2. I spent most of my time outside of it.

We only happened across this hostel as a matter of convenience (i.e. we didn’t book anything until the night before), and I would not recommend it to any of my family, friends, or potentially, my enemies.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Anyang, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I would strongly advise against this hostel. We stayed in Causeway Bay at a MUCH better hostel during the first few days of our Hong Kong trip, and it was almost the same price. You can find something a lot nicer in this price range.

Pros:
-Inexpensive
-Not too far from Jordan MTR station

Cons:
-Tiny, dingy room and bathroom
-Dark room with no windows
-Located in a very run-down building
-Very hard to find (no sign outside the building in which it is located)
-Seemed like only one staff member spoke English
-Shaky, dirty elevators in the building

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcbride0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This place is situated in Nathan Road where shopping stores is just a walking distance. We even walked from the guest house to victoria harbour to avenue of the stars and back to the guesthouse. It's quite far but you wont notice how far it is because you've got to shop from one store to another and before you notice it you are already about to cross the subway to get to Victoria Harbour.

If you are on a budget and you do'nt wanna be sharing rooms with strangers in a dorm, this place is great. My friend and I arrived in the guest house 11am too early for our 2pm check in but they allowed us to get in to our room early without extra charge. We had a twin room.

Their room is small. I guess it's built for asian use because if you are a bit bigger(western built) it would be a challenge for you to move arround especially if you are in the bathroom. But their room is clean and the water heater is good. The staff are friendly. There's just one lady who can speak English. Nice and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

First off, if you're not used to cheap accommodation, you won't have a good time. However, we really enjoyed our stay. The location was great on Nathan Road, between two MTR stations, near a market and lots of cheap eats. The building was a little rundown but who cares. One staff spoke English, the rest would call her and pass you the phone if needed, all were nice. We were also able to get next day Chinese visas, no hassle. Yes the room and bathroom were small and cramped but you get a private bathroom, air-conditioning, a kettle and a TV, can't complain really. Expensive for what you get but the cheapest we could find out of the mansions. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The location is not good; while marketed as located by the Nathan street stop, it's actually a decent walk away. You can find lodgings for the same price and more centrally located at Chungking Mansion.

Staff only speaks Cantonese and very limited Mandarin/English. Even though I made a reservation, they had over-booked.

After walking a very long time, the staff dropped me off at one of their sister guesthouses (I believe it was called Jordan House). While inspecting the room, I found dried blood on the sheets. After pulling back the covers, I found a live bedbug.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#294 of 718 in Hong Kong
271 reviews
Jin Xiang Hotel
#435 of 718 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Tai An Guest House
Tai An Guest House
#78 of 158 in Hong Kong
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Pearl Premium Guest House - Premium Guest House Limited
Pandora After 80s
#26 of 158 in Hong Kong
122 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#8 of 158 in Hong Kong
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Island Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Island Guesthouse

Property: Golden Island Guesthouse
Address: Room 1-2, 7/F Alhambra Building, No.383-385 Nathan Road, Yaumatei, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Golden Island Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Island Guesthouse (GIG) is newly decorated in 2008 and located in Nathan Road where is the heart of commercial and entertainment district in Kowloon. We're nearby Jordan MTR Station and Yaumatei MTR Station, and can be easily accessed by most of major public transportation from/to anywhere in Hong Kong . We provide clean and comfortable accommodation to budget travelers at most affordable price. All the rooms are equipped with private bathroom, television, telephone and FREE WIFI internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Golden Island Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Island Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Golden Island Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing