We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$207
US$166
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$268
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$514
US$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$333
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$196
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$603
US$410
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$245
US$224
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Upper House(Hong Kong)
US$673
US$626
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveller rating
173
425
302
72
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
425
302
72
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoptical illusiontsim sha tsuikowloon cityshuttle servicetaxis are cheapswimming poolfree shuttlebreakfast spreadhung hommtr stationhotel is locatedhouse keepingcomfortable staypublic transportearly checkladies marketsmall room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely family break to HK. Harbour Plaza are welcoming and helpful. Rooms are well set out and comfortable. The pool is relaxing and inviting. My hubby suggested the gym was in need of more equipment. Breakfast is sensational catering to American, Korean, Japanese, Indian, Chinese and English cuisine. Free Shuttle is first in best dressed however Taxi's are frequent and affordable. Location wise this Hotel affords its guests an in-site to the local people & their lifestyle. Thanks Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees - The Hood Family Melbourne Australia :)

Room Tip: Try for high floor preferably facing the harbour
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lanee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I would rate the property as a Nice & Decent place to stay. It is not very close to the main market areas but there are decent eating options (McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Asian Restaurants...) at a walkable distance, although we didn't see any Indian Restaurants nearby.
The Hotel is surrounded by some repair shops and hence opting for a Room on a higher floor is definitely a good idea. I had called the Hotel a day before to request for a higher floor, and at the time of Check-in, we were pleased to find our rooms reserved on the Top Floor.
Most of the Hotels in HongKong ask for a refundable Safety Deposit at the time of Check-in (the amount varying with your length of stay). It came as a surprise for us, as our Travel agent had not advised us regarding the same. Please do cater for this extra amount when travelling to HKG.
The Hotel has a Nice Breakfast spread and also a very Nice Cafe. The Rooms are not very spacious (I guess thats the norm in the whole of HKG), but they are adequately furnished and quite comfortable.
The WIFI is chargeable, unless it is already a part of your stay package.
There is a Convenience Store a few steps away which should cater for all your needs.
The main Market areas like Ladies Street, etc. are not very far and minutes away by a Taxi (Taxi's here are not expensive).
The only down-side is, there are no Tourist attractions or Lovely sights in the vicinity, but I guess thats the Bargain for a place with reasonable charges.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are less noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptAkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Harbour Plaza 8 degrees on our way home to Australia after a Europe visit.We found our stay quite interesting.We where fortunate to get a room on the top floor with a view towards the city.We could also see the Harbour from our window.The room was very clean and comfortable, little gestures like complimentry bottled water was a nice touch.We found the staff there very friendly and helpful.The reason I say staying at 8 Degrees was interesting was the area around it.Having explored and walked around the area,I would say you are staying in real Hong Kong,,not the commercial side of it.Loads of local markets,,although I must admit,I wasn't tempted to buy any fresh produce it still gives you a feel of the area.There are a few rough looking parts but at no time did we feel threatened.

Getting into the main tourist area can be done using the shuttle bus,although as other contributers to this site have said,can be very busy.Found it very frustrating when having to use more than once a day.Beware,,the last few buses are very popular and there is no one controlling who gets on first,,,it is literally everyone to themselves,so don't try to be polite,you will probably end up having to get a taxi home.

The pool was wonderful,I was wondering if it is heated.Hong Kong was very hot during our stay there and whilst jumping into the pool offered some relief,it would have been nicer if it was a little cooler.The pool bar was great,and the staff very helpful,,nice cold beer after a long day exploring.

Resturant is also worth a visit,good service,good food.

In closing,,would I recommend this hotel to a friend,,Yes,,as long as they didn't mind being away from the "action".I must also say,,having a top floor room was great,not sure I would feel the same if we had a room on the other side or lower down.Also thank you to managment for the late check out,,very useful when your flight only leaves at 10 pm.

Room Tip: A higher up floor with City views,the back of the hotel is surrounded by very high rise buildings.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Campo196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees, for 3 nights and four days. Here are the favourable and unfavourable factors about the hotel.

The positives:
# The hotel has a great ambiance, decent size rooms (at compared to HK standards), fab swimming pool and gym facility.

# The breakfast spread is too good with a variety of food items including an item or two from Indian cuisine.

# The hotel staff is very courteous and always ready to assist the guest. A special shout-out to the concierge team who were extremely helpful.

# The Hotel has a great multi-cuisine (including Indian) restaurant and even McDonald's and 7-Eleven stores are located in close proximity if one needs to buy mineral water, burgers, etc.

# The Hotel also has a cafe on the ground floor which serves good coffee, sandwiches, cakes and muffins.

The not so positives:
# The hotel's location is a bit of a let down as it is no where close to Tsim Sha Tsui or any tourist attractions. Only the Ladies market is somewhat close-by in the Mongkok area. However, the hotel provides free shuttle bus service to TST every 20 mins throughout the day.

# Also there is a skyscraper right behind the hotel and if you get a room facing the backside of the hotel then you will always have to keep the curtains in the room closed to avoid any peeping toms. We had a room on the 18th floor facing the city which was great.

Overall a good experience!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front /city side have a good view. Also choose a room on a higher floor. Ours was #1825.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sujit25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Location is interesting. In the car fixing district (seriously). There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby but it is miles from where you want to be. There is a very reliable shuttle bus to the harbour but it is first come, first serve. Plenty of taxis about and buses too. The pool is excellent andmusually quiet. Happy hour at the pool bar is 3pm till 8pm which means some drinks are half price. Breakfast was awesome. Anything you could want. Rooms were very nice and very clean and the pillows were very comfy. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. You can use the computer room for a small fee so that you can check into your flights online.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bianconero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews