We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very impressive hotel and experience”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A very impressive hotel and experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed for one night at the Upper House with our 5 year old daughter. Check in was very efficient - done in our room with an ipad by our charming host. We were upgraded on arrival and our suite was AMAZING! Huge bedroom and bathroom with views over the harbour. The room was incredibly sumptuous and my daughter was thrilled with the complimentary snacks (M&M's, biscuits.) The mini bar was also complimentary and full of our favourite beverages.

Our daughter was very much welcomed - the was given a cuddly toy on check in and it came everywhere with us.

We dined in the bar that night as we wanted something low key and quick. She was allowed to sit in their with us and everyone was very friendly. The bar is very cool - brilliant views and populated by HK's 'in' crowd! We didn't feel out of place though and the staff were great. The food was good and the cocktails better. The restaurant looked incredible but alas our jet lag got the better of us.

The wonderful service in this hotel showed itself later than evening when my daughter was taken ill. She was very sick in the room - it was cleaned up quickly and efficiently by staff and her bed made up again as good as new. It smelled fresh and clean afterwards, miraculously! We were extremely grateful.

We loved this hotel - our stay here was faultless. We'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Many thanks for your kind note on tripadvisor.com

We are delighted to know that you and your family had a memorable stay. Thanks for describing your experience as “faultless”.

I like the way you talk about your experience at Café Gray Deluxe in regards to the visiting “in-crowd”. It is important to know for us that all our guests feel equally comfortable.

Please do let me know when you return next to Hong Kong or other Swire Hotels; I shall be happy to assist with anything for your upcoming visit.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,953
    127
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
268
762
169
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel triumphs in every aspect and I cannot praise all the staff more highly.
You never have to ask the question about anything I felt they all had ESP.
I have travelled and stayed in many 5 star hotels and they have never been as attentive and insightful as the staff here.
On arrival you are greeted like a family friend. There is a seamless check in at the room no desk queues and everything is explained carefully.
The rooms are beautiful the design minimalist but environmentally great and the amenities and little extras spot on.The bathroom view is incredible bathing overlooking the harbour very interesting.
This trip was for pleasure and that's how the staff made it.My husband had his birthday at the wonderful restaurant and they were so attentive and made his day very special.
I hesitate to tell all about this hotel ( home) as I want it to be available very time I stay but I cannot be selfish. I am going to UK and will look at the other Swire properties.
I cannot name staff as that would be so difficult they were all incredible from every department of this house
Thank you all for making these days so memorable never change !

Room Tip: Noise level Nil amazing and we were on 4 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolffy781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Many thanks for your kind note on tripadvisor.com

We are delighted to know that you perceived our service as “attentive and insightful”.

It is also pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time at Café Gray Deluxe. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the team, it is indeed very motivating for all of us.

Please do let me know when you return next to Hong Kong or other Swire Hotels; I shall be happy to assist with anything for your upcoming visit.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I had heard great things from two good friends and had expect had high expectations of the Upper House - and were they right? Answer is totally!

The welcome I received and the kind attention from GM Marcel Thoma, Duty Manager Paul Stanton and all the staff I had dealings with was outstanding! Design, quality of finish, views across the city and standards of food and housekeeping constantly impressed me. Dinner or drinks in Cafe Grey is a must for anyone visiting Hong Kong (and is obviously a regular haunt of discerning Hong Kong residents) and I enjoyed a delicious dinner there complete with stunning views.

Would I return to the Upper House - absolutely! I fact the Upper House is good enough reason to return to Hong Kong at the earliest opportunity.

With thanks to all who made my stay so memorable!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Frank

Thank you for your kind note on tripadvisor.com

I have shared your wonderful feedback with Paul. We are indeed very lucky to work with such amazing individuals.

It is great to hear that “our house” has become an important reason to return to Hong Kong soonest again.

Please do let me know when you return next; I shall be happy to assist with anything for your upcoming visit.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I cannot say that I think this is the best hotel I have ever been in....but if if isn't the best it is in the top 2. I would have to think real hard to come up with something even remotely disagreeable during the week.

The check in and check out process was quick, easy and efficient. The staff was fantastic and very attentive. I will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TCPDump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your kind note on tripadvisor.com

We do take the “five stars” and are happy to hear that you had a great time.

Especially delightful to know is the fact that you like our way of service delivery.

Please do let me know when you return next; I shall be happy to assist with anything for your upcoming visit.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I travel a fair amount and while I appreciate and enjoy a good hotel, finding one that stands out from the crowd is a rare and wonderful treat. The Upper House is such a hotel. The design and details from the entrance to your room are truly one of a kind and manage to be distinctive without overwhelming you.

Often I find some hotel designs to be innovative and creative, but at the same time calling out for attention that make it difficult to relax. Andrew Fu's creation, has mastered the balance of fine detail, innovation and total relaxation (perfect after a busy day in busy Hong Kong). As soon as you enter the lobby, your stress levels melt away and once you are in your room, you are totally re-rejuvenated.

Cafe Grey upstairs serves great food and drink with outstanding views but be sure to reserve a table at either the bar or restaurant in advance as it can get crowded.

A special thanks to Marcel the manager and his staff who run a pitch perfect tight ship, without being stuffy or too intrusive in this one of a kind property. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelyplanetguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your kind note on tripadvisor.com

We are delighted to hear that you found in “our house” a hotel “which stands out”.

We appreciate your continued patronage and please do let me know if may ever assist with anything personally for your upcoming visits.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I travel a lot, I've been to hundreds of hotels. The Upper House is the best hotel I know. I really have nothing negative to say. The overall environment (design, atmosphere...) is exactly what I like, the rooms are truly amazing but what makes the difference is the quality of the service. It's simply in another league. I must have stayed at least 10 times, they never have once not over-delivered. This is truly an inspiration for what a hotel, at its very best, should feel like. I will never book another place in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: the rooms that end in 08 have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Emmanuel

Thank you for your kind note on tripadvisor.com

We are very much honored to have you return time and time again! We are much flattered also to know about all your praises in regards to our services. We do indeed try to create a special experience for all of our guests; delightful to hear that you appreciate the way we do things.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon again. Let me know if I may ever assist with anything.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

On a recent flight over to Hong Kong I started feeling unwell so was thrilled to check into this beautiful hotel upon arrival. I was escorted to my room by the extraordinarily GM Marcel Thoma and was treated to amazing service the rest of my stay. I came down with a terrible flu on my first day there and was upgraded to a suite with a stunning view of Hong Kong where for the next four days the incredible staff acted like a first class hospital. They did everything possible to make my difficult trip extraordinary. I have been back again and again and know this is Asia’s most extraordinary hotel. The flawless interior, incredible views, and perfect staff make this luxury hotel top notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Christopher

Thank you for your kind note on tripadvisor.com

All your positive feedback has been shared with the team; very motivating indeed for all of us to receive such praises.

Stay in touch and we are looking forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,535 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing