We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My second favourite hotel in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My second favourite hotel in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have stayed at the Upper House in Hong Kong about half a dozen times when I am there for pleasure not work and it has become my favourite hotel in Hong Kong after the Mandarin Oriental.

The best thing about the Upper House has to be the size of the rooms and the bathrooms reflecting the building's previous incarnation as serviced apartments for the JW Marriott. I have stayed in the Studio 70 (entry category room), Studio 80 and Upper Suites - the latter in particular are bigger than many people's apartments in Hong Kong. The rooms are decorated in a Scandinavian style (light wood, minimalist) and the bathrooms come with rainfall showers and a separate bathtub.

The hotel has a Michelin starred restaurant at the top (Café Grey Deluxe) and the food is very good. Make a reservation and snag a window table for a great view over HK harbour. Given how good the food is in the restaurant, I do not know why the room service food is not better. My only gripe about the UH is that the room service food is pretty bad - limited selection and it doesn't taste particularly good.

Would highly recommend this hotel but probably more suited to the leisure rather than business traveller. At least if your business requires you to be in a suit and tie.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samueloShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Many thanks for having taken the time to write a tripadvisor review.

We appreciate your loyalty and are grateful that you return so frequently.

We are aware of the myriad of choices of excellent hotels to stay in Hong Kong –we are glad that we are part of your top list.

Café Gray Deluxe indeed is very well received; by our guests who stay for business and/or leisure as well as the local residents. Chef Gray visits several times a year from New York and the menu offerings are constantly reviewed. The size of the room service menu is indeed kept short. We do however always offer menu items which are not on the menu to any guests.

Do stay in touch and please let me know next time you visit; I would love to meet you personally as well as suggest an extended menu offering specifically tailored to your likings.

My email address is marcelthoma@swirehotels.com and I am very much looking forward to hearing from you again.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,925
    124
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
263
752
165
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having worked in Luxury customer service for some time, it's easy to often over-analyse luxury experiences. Scanning to ensure every detail is perfected, I often leave hotels, stores or restaurants with a mental list of things which can be improved.

The Upper House managed to trump all my expectations. My partner and I commenced our honeymoon in Hong Kong, just visiting for a few days before travelling onwards. From the moment we arrived at the Hotel (tucked to the side of the J.W. Marriott - stylishly subtle for those who like luxury which isn't 'in your face'), it was like we were returning to our second home. The team at the concierge desk addressed us by name even before we said anything. After travelling for 15 hours, we were thankfully taken straight to our room, accompanied by a charming young woman who was inquisitive, polite & respectful. No standing around whilst tired and grumpy, looking a mess, waiting to be checked in... It was all done in the room.

The room was magnificent. We were fortunate enough to have a room which had both partial harbour views and mountain views. It was simply stunning. The details in the room were beyond. It was really a signature for simple, elegant luxury. The maxi-bar is a perfect touch. When coming home after a long day of Hong Kong exploration in the Summer heat, a few drinks from the maxi bar is more than enough to soothe a stressed and tired body.

Marcel Thoma and Nicole Tai were the perfect hosts, ensuring every step of our stay was well looked after and accommodated. Every morning as we had breakfast at the beautiful Cafe Grey Deluxe on Level 49 of the Hotel (there's nothing greater than being greeted with that magnificent view in the morning), one of them would come and greet us, making casual conversation and seeing what our plans were. Without fail, they would leave and return shortly after with some fabulous paraphernalia to assist us with our plans. They were the consummate hosts, without being too intrusive or personal.

I could go on and on.... but essentially, if you're looking for an amazing, beautiful hotel, with a perfect location within Hong Kong and a wonderful team who will ensure no detail will go unnoticed, stay at The Upper House. You won't regret it.

Sam & Dean

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deanchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Sam
Dear Dean

Many thanks for having taken the time to write a tripadvisor review.

Your extensive feedback reads beautifully and I am delighted to hear that we were able to keep “your mental list of things to improve” to a minimum.

We are privileged to work with such dedicated colleagues such as Kate. She has been an integral part of the team since the hotel’s opening in fall of 2009.

I am happy to hear also that you perceived our service to be unobtrusive – not always easy to find the right balance especially in a fast paced environment such as Hong Kong.

We do hope you had a great continuation of your honeymoon trip.
Do stay in touch and let Kate or I know if we may assist with anything in the future.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

...Not to take away from the fact that the hotel is superbly located, has a spotless, modern yet relaxed feel to it, the main restaurant / dining area has been laid-out to take absolute best advantage of the shape of the hotel and the bar has a great vibe, it really has managed to put together a unique team who are always at hand to assist with every request immediately (and convince you that it's no bother!). The views from the rooms and restaurant are fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback about The Upper House with the tripadvisor community.

We are particularly happy to hear of your high praises of our team as well as the service they provide.
We are indeed privileged to work with such a dedicated team and rest assured, I have shared your feedback with all of them.

Do stay in touch with us and contact me personally if I may ever assist with anything in the future again.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Upper House offers a unique experience that combines incredible (but simple) luxury with nearly unprecedented personal service. If you or anyone you know has the opportunity to stay there, do! It provides the perfect oasis in the midst of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dwlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback about The Upper House with the tripadvisor community.

We are particularly happy to hear that you describe our service as “unprecedented personal”.

Do stay in touch with us and contact me personally if I may ever assist with anything in the future again.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I didnt stay at this hotel but had heard so many wonderful things about it that we visited the Hotel to get a feel for what is being said.
We visited the Hotel for drinks and dinner.
The enterance was very warm just the right lighting, ambiance & smells.
I loved the living room effect with fire place of the reception .
The food at the resturant was amazing as the ambiance
Will definitely stay here on my next trip

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Naita

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback about your visit to Café Gray Deluxe with the tripadvisor community.

We appreciate the fact that you took time to read some of our reviews prior your visit to our restaurant. We are indeed blessed with all the positive word of mouth we have received for both – The Upper House as well as Café Gray Deluxe. Did you get a chance to at least view our amazing rooms during your visit?

We would love to have you as our guest next time you visit Hong Kong. Don’t hesitate to contact me directly via email and I will personally take care of all the arrangements for you:
marcelthoma@swirehotels.com

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just a great place overall. Let the escalators lead you into a highly controlled but personable environment. Would highly recommend visiting the lawn on the 6th floor and Cafe Grey in the evening for drinks. Rooms are large and half of the space is the bathroom / staging area. Luxe in every way. You can order room service using an iPod touch and everything us automated to a tee, and intuitive to boot. I appreciated the free minibar and the wine prices within the mini bar aren't too bad either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Michael

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House with the tripadvisor community.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. We appreciate the fact that you highlighted the points you particularly liked to “our house”.

I am not sure though if we “rival the best old-world luxury bastions” but rather complement the extensive offer in the luxury Hong Kong market with a product/service which is right for the modern day traveller.

Do stay in touch and do let me know if we may ever assist you with anything here in Hong Kong or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

A 5 star boutique hotel with the most attentive staff. The attention that the Hotel gave us, particularly Mr. Vinchi Chau, Guest Experience Manager, was impressive. We had discussed some issues we had and Vinchi promptly made accommodations.

Never mind the birthday cake they made for our daughter, which other hotels in HK had done for her also; but when Vinchi found out that our daughters were a little under the weather, he actually sent thermoses of hot water, lemon and honey. But the most impressive was he even sent a bottle of vitamin C! We were quite sure that would not be repeated at another hotel.

The suite was spacious with views from not only the living room and bedroom but from the bath tub as well.

A great hotel with the most attentive staff.

Room Tip: The higher the room…the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ipixoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House with the tripadvisor community.

I have shared all your comments with the entire team and of course Vinchi. We are very privileged to have him in our team – he is actually part of it since our opening in fall 2009.

To get feedback from a guest like yours is very rewarding. I am particularly proud to hear that you describe our staff as “the most attentive”

Do stay in touch and do let Vinchi or myself know if we may ever assist you with anything here in Hong Kong or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing