We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy of the Raves”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worthy of the Raves”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the Upper House for 4 nights in mid Nov after finishing a cruise. I didn't know if it would live up to it's reviews, but it did. From the time our cab pulled up the Upper House was wonderful. Eva checked us in and took us up to our room. Loved all of the windows and the Zen like atmosphere. Then we saw the bathroom! The largest soaker tub I've ever seen with an incredible view. We loved the not so little maxi bar in the room that had complimentary treats. Those cookies and snacks were wonderful and they just kept appearing for us. Loved the breakfast up in Café Gray Deluxe and the amazing views. This was our first visit to Hong Kong and we wanted to see as much as we could, but we loved the Upper House so much that we didn't want to leave it. The hotel is located above Pacific Place Mall. There is a MRT station right there with easy access to get you over to Kowloon is just a couple of minutes. There also is a wonderful Great Food Hall that is on the lowest level in the mall. They had prepared food such as sandwiches and such if you wanted to grab something on the go. So glad that we stayed here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieW6016UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Many thanks for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at “our house”.
We are thrilled to know that you had a great ending to your cruise around Asia. We are furthermore happy to hear that you chose us amongst the myriad choices of luxury hotels and that we did not disappoint.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and please do let me know personally if may assist with any future reservation.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,963
    127
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
269
764
170
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had another incredible stay in our favorite hotel in the world.

We travelled with our two girls (8 and 11), and while not known as a "family-friendly" hotel, the staff at the Upper House were incredibly accommodating and made the stay great. We stayed in an Upper Suite room, and used the sofas as sofa-beds. The view from all three rooms (living room, bedroom, and bathroom!) was stunning. Watching the sun rise every morning, walking through Hong Kong Park, and enjoying a breakfast with a "life-changing pancake" at Cafe Gray Deluxe were amongst the highlights.

One evening, we returned from our adventures in Hong Kong to find a small gift from the hotel staff in the room - bottles of nail polish for the girls. They'd noticed the girls' painted nails when we arrived, and this was a thoughtful and appropriate gift.

In terms of location, service, facilities and views... this hotel can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Bradley

Many thanks for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at “our house”.
We are thrilled to know that your stay was “impeccable”.

It is wonderful to know that also your girls enjoyed themselves – you may not have known, at times more than 50% of our guests are actually families / guests on leisure.

You described the “location, service, facilities and views” as “unbeatable” and we are glad to know that this appeals to both business and leisure travellers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and please do let me know personally if may assist with any future reservation.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House

P.S. I love your “nail polish story” – very sweet indeed and the team member who organized this has actually been with us since our opening in 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had heard wonderful reviews of Upper House. I'm usually a Mandarin Oriental guest. I was keen to stay at this Andre Fu designed hotel. Very impressed with the excellent service from the minute I spoke to the reservation team to book my stay to the door man who hailed me a taxi to the airport express on departure. Well designed, comfortable bed, indulgent bathrooms.

Room service, housekeeping to the guest relations team were all friendly and helpful. I had left a pricey unfinished bottle of whiskey in the room and receive an email within 24 hours following departure asking if they should dispose or hold it for collection. In all my hotel stays over the years, no other hotel has had the courteous to make contact when items have been left behind! I'm impressed! Well done Upper House. I will be back.

Only wished you had a swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpoonloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Many thanks for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at “our house”.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
There are indeed many options of luxury hotels in Hong Kong to choose from; we are proud to know that we exceeded your expectations after you stayed previously at Mandarin Oriental.
We are looking forward to welcome you back and please do let me know personally if may assist with any future reservation.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House

P.S. We do offer pool access options to other hotels within a short distance in Pacific Place. Do let me know if I may organize this for your future visit as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just finished a 3 week trip in Asia. This is my 2nd time in the region and over these trips I have visited 15 5 star properties in China, HK, Thailand and Japan. The Upper House stands apart from the rest. The level of personalized service is unmatched in HK. They make you feel like you are the only guest at all times! The staff remembers your name, and is always there to support and even anticipate your every need. The room is incredible. 800+ sqft in HK is unheard of. The room and bathroom boast complete floor to ceiling views of the city and harbor. The hotel encompasses every modern amenity without ever feeling cold. The room offers surround sound for your iPod, and of course free WiFi and even better, free minibar drinks and snacks (AKA Maxibar). Cafe Gray is mind-blowingly awesome, and deserves a Michelin star ASAP!

The location is stellar and property delightful. We liked this so much, we extended our honeymoon an additional day/night just to stay here for a third night!

A very special thanks for Kate Tai- a very thoughtful and warm guest relations host. Also a special thank you to the rest of the staff- all exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saul1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Saul

Many thanks for your kind review and for calling us "the best hotel in Asia". We would like to think we are different and we are glad to know that you especially like the level of service at our property.
Kate is indeed an amazing colleague with whom I have had the pleasure since our opening in fall 2009!
Rest assured I have shared all your lovely feedback with the rest of the team as well.

Do stay in touch and do contact me personally if I may assist personally with any future reservation at "our house" or any other Swire Hotel in Asia.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After staying at Upper House for two nights I tried to think of anything I could criticize. There is not one thing. Superb personal service, spacious and elegant rooms, beautiful design, spectacular views and extremely comfortable beds. If they could put a pool on the roof it would be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us on tripavisor.com

Delightful to know that you could not think of anything to criticize.

We appreciate of course that you praise the level of service in your review.

Do contact me in the future in case you are planning a return trip to "our house" or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to stay at the Upper house for two nights : allowing 48 hours to cope with jetlag / do HK and transit to Bali . I had heard this hotel was good but then .. It's a luxury hotel , available at a luxury price . But , dear friends it didn't disappoint . Lets start with the decor
It's one if those places where the perfect finish in wood meets the correspondingly tasteful execution in fabrics . The rooms are large ... The windows offering floor to ceiling"exposure" to this intriguing city . This is spectacularly evident in the bathroom where caution and modesty fly out of the window - you can sit in the bath and observe the vertical world - best at night with bathroom lights off in my opinion ...
The public areas are glamorous and cool with interesting art structures linking rooms ... Hallways don't seem to exist ... Just another " gallery" ...
Location - wise you are at the heart of the central distinct ... We walked MILES in that 48 hours even though transport is diet cheap ... We needed to stretch after that long flight and make ourselves properly tired ...
You can access pacific palisades mall ( Gucci ... Prada ... You name it ...) and the mtr ( HK underground ) in 2 minutes flat ) the star ferry to Kowloon us a ten minute walk ...
The staff WALKED us to the mtr one evening when we looked a little sceptical ... And rang ahead to book us a space fir cocktails and a view of the "light symphony " which illuminates HK's buildings and can only be seen from the mainland ...
Marcel and his team could not be faulted fir their smiles and genuine willingness to help . Yes if course it's expensive but it's an experience you won't forget . I promise .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guernseygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Many thanks for your very personal review; we appreciate the time you took to write this lovely, detailed review.
Surely like minded travelers will appreciate your account of the 48 hrs you spent in Hong Kong.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed "our house" both in regards to the service we deliver as well as the physical layout.

Do come back soon again and thanks again for all your support.

Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

It's all been said here. Understated, refined elegance. No pretension. Totally personal service. The ultimate Hong Kong experience start to finish. Cafe Gray above the best spot in HK. My absolute favourite. The word keeps spreading further about this absolute gem. And so it should.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OzCondeNast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Many thanks for your positive review and thanks for sharing it on tripavisor.com

We are much honored that you describe us " understated, refined, elegant, without pretension".

Do contact me in the future if I may be of any assistance for a future reservation at "our house" or any other Swire Hotels.

Exciting travels!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,550 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing