We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best?”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Boracay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best?”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Almost perfection..... what a great place this is! The rooms have surprises in every corner. The espresso machine, the amenities, the jar with M&Ms and biscuits, the shoe trees (never seen a hotel which offers these for use by guests!). Rooms are well sized, and the bathroom is a real pleasure. But for that price this is all expected (except for the shoe trees....)

It is the small things that make the difference. Getting out of a cab without cash on hand, and the reception will front you the money (how often does that happen nowadays?). The delicious scent went passing the lobby heading up to your room. The genuinely friendly staff. The yoga mat in the room. They really get it right in the UPH! Well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your detailed feedback about your stay on tripadvisor.com

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay – not only because of the physical aspects of the hotel but also the service.
I understand you like our “Upper House fragrance”. Do let me know via email at marcelthoma@swirehotels.com on where to ship some additional samples to your home.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again. Do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations either at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,021
    128
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
281
778
176
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Went to the bar/restaurant last evening for a night cap.
A great place to take our visitors who were able to see Hong Kong Hotels at their very best.
Unable to get a seat in main restaurant but were able to sit in" library "next door where we enjoyed a few late drinks in superb surroundings. Drinks are reasonably priced for a top HK hotel, however the young lady who served us needs to improve her manner. It felt like she was doing us a favour to allow her to serve us. She was dour to say the least and spoilt a fine evening.

I would ask that Hotel Management do more to improve staff courtesy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianseabourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your brief review about your visit to Café Gray Deluxe.
We appreciate that you took the out of town visitors to our hotel and that you call our hotel "iconic".

I am disappointed to learn of your comments about the service in our skylounge.
Do let me know via marcelthoma@swirehotels.com on where to contact you as I would like to receive more detailed feedback.

I am very much looking forward to hearing from you again.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Seamless quality throughout from being picked up at airport to return and everything in between.
Great personnel.
And I will find fault with reviewer who claimed no reception was a problem.
No, not at all, we went straight to room and charming young man (Edwin) did everything ! Marvellous: surely more points not less.

Room is divine: calm, not over the top chintzy.
It's luxury for grown ups.

The bar is a must. Fantastic food. Great drinks and wonderful service (maybe some perimeter seats a bit low for older people).

Had a minor medical emergency. Personnel responded very promptly. Eternal gratitude.

Breakfast for Europeans is fine. But Chinese breakfast was magnificent. Service good-ish (Mary delightful). Kept forgetting sweetener.
Went for stroll to check out rest of restaurant. Met chef de cuisine (Joey) who showed me round, which I loved. What a really nice guy. Passionate about cooking (but nicely so). Has one of the best restaurants in Hong Kong (but I wanted to try Cantonese during my short stay).

So what did'nt quite work. Well nothing really except poor replacement of all things you need to eat and drink with in room. Had to ask more than once. But that is all and it seems that kicked off a full investigation ! It's a small thing, really.


So this rates as one of the best hotels in the world. No other for me. Loved the intimacy.

Go, stay, you deserve it.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms but ask for bay side. Corner suite is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hohum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your detailed feedback about your stay on tripadvisor.com

We are happy to read that you describe us as “luxury for grown ups”. No one else did actually before but we believe that we offer a different product than other more traditional luxury hotels in town.

Edwin and Joey are doing indeed a fabulous job; rest assured I will share this review with him and the rest of the team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again. Do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations either at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I write few reviews, however when one is priviledged enough to be able to stay somewhere as excellent as Upper House I feel they deserve the effort and time to review them positively.
From start to finish the team, including Kylie, were courteous, professional and friendly. The attention to detail is exceptional. Views wonderful, bar awesome and I've run out of fitting expresssions that do just to the food. You simply must try the short rib!
Great place and if ever we're afforded an opportunity to return to Hong Kong we'll be staying at Upper House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabbitCarrotGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your feedback about your stay on tripadvisor.com

We are honored to learn that you usually don’t write online reviews and you did so this time as you enjoyed the stay with us.

Kylie is indeed a pleasure to work with and she has been part of the Guest Experience team since our opening in late 2009.

Thanks for your compliments about the short ribs – they are actually one of Chef Gray’s signature dishes.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again.
Do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations either at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Fabulous Hotel in every aspect. I knew I would love this hotel from the moment I made the reservation. The staff was so helpful during the weeks leading up to our stay; communicating, suggesting, making reservations etc. It never mattered who we spoke with, the right hand always knew what the left was doing! On arrival we were warmly greeted at the airport and taken to the hotel where we were shown to our room. The rooms are very large suites, so beautiful, clean and full of amenities. The windows and views, just stunning! Love the complimentary 'maxi-bar' and the toiletry kit, another nice touch. The room includes an ipod to use for music as well as information and communicating with room service, free wifi, very large TV, with also a screen in the mirror in the amazing bathroom! Warm milk and cookies for our first night after the long flight were another perfect touch. Marcel Thoma and his team at the Upper House are so professional and friendly. Never before, anywhere, have I experienced quite this level of attention, it's hard to describe, not pretentious in your face attention....subtle yet efficient and knowledgable of your every need. Knowledge they acquired through conversations, then suddenly a book, map, metro cards were in our hands, or waiting in our room like magic. This includes the restaurant staff as well as those in guest experience. They knew what we needed before we even did. One evening we met a staff member in the elevator on our way to go out for dinner, she called a cab for us from the lift, the car was waiting when we reached the entry, and the driver already had the address of the restaurant we had simply mentioned we were going to! Another evening a staff member actually escorted us to a nearby restaurant after we asked directions! The Upper House's Cafe Gray is delicious for breakfast, as well as dinner, and cocktails at the beautiful bar are a must, the views are so gorgeous! The departing gift left in our room, a candle, I am hoping will smell as wonderful as the hotel did every day when we arrived back at our 'house' for our week's stay in Hong Kong!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTravelQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your detailed positive feedback about your recent stay on tripadvisor.com

We are thrilled to know that your week at “our house” was a pleasant one. The biggest compliment to hear is the fact that you appreciated the service levels and the anticipation of your needs by the team.

Do stay in touch and do contact me personally if I may assist with any upcoming stay at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My mom was in transit in HK, from Auckland to KL and I thought it would be a nice treat for her to stay at the Upper House over the weekend. She being wheelchair bound, I thought it would be hard for her to move around. Every member of the staff ensured her every need was taken care of - from a room with disabled facilities, to ensuring a bath stool readily available for her at check-in. It also helps that the room (more like a suite!) was spacious enough to allow her to move easily.

We had a very relaxing time lazing around in the room, enjoying a luxurious breakfast each morning and shopping/sightseeing around the vicinity. Some hotels like to tout VIP service and being treated like royalty. At the Upper House, I It felt more like coming home, albeit a very nice home! From the welcome email (even before you check in) asking you whether you have any special needs, to the warm farewell by the Customer Service Manager at the end of your stay, these are the small touches that really stand out. Not to mention the complimentary mini bar and M&Ms!

The Upper House comes with my highest recommendation, and I shall look forward to a future opportunity to book another "staycation".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scho72en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay on tripadvisor.com

We are thrilled to know that your mother had a good stay at “our house”. The biggest compliment for us is to hear that she felt “at home” and not at “a hotel”.

Do stay in touch and do contact me personally if I may assist with any upcoming stay at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellipalmbeach
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Upper House far exceeded our expectations in every way. The view from our room, and even bathroom was unparalleled. Exquisite service, great food, lovely helpful people in every way. Just ask a simple question, and there were maps printed, books delivered and every other possible service to assist us. I could have never left the room and been happy. Spectacular views and service at the restaurant as well. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellipalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Many thanks for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay on tripadvisor.com

We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and hope to see you return soon again.

Do stay in touch and do contact me personally if I may assist with any upcoming stay at “our house” or any other Swire Hotel.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing