We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The service is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern Passage, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The service is amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

One of the best hotel in the world! The service is amazing, the staff is very friendly and always helpful, the spa is wonderful, rooms are perfect...and lot of eateries and shopping places. Give it a try, you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House on tripadvisor.com

We appreciate your comments about our service very much; rest assured I have shared them with the entire team. It is rewarding to hear that you call us “amazing” and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Do stay in touch and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon again.
Let me know if I may personally assist with any reservation at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.


Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    124
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
261
751
164
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a great hotel - from the start of check-in through the entire 4 days, sheer enjoyment and great service. Impeccable rooms, attention to detail and privacy, great food and small enough to have that personal attention.

I didn't book through Centurion this time, but you wouldn't have known it. So many great things about this hotel - courteous, professional, energetic, attentive, etc.

What is the most appealing is the calmness of the hotel in such a city with so much hustle. While I attended the Rugby 7's, this was a tranquil haven away from it all.

I would recommend this hotel for those that look for the best of everything and a great return on their spend.

I can certainly see why this hotel is #1.

Room Tip: While all rooms are great - as we had a group and I saw several, the view of the harbour is recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOfliesglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House on tripadvisor.com

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay during the Rugby 7 week in Hong Kong. Thanks for summarizing your experience with us as “courteous, professional, energetic, attentive”

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again.
Do let me know if I may personally assist with any reservation at The Upper House or any other Swire Hotels.


Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

After all the marketing hype I was expecting that the new Four Seasons Hotel (3IFC) would be out of this world. What I found is a hotel that is on par with some of the other 4-5 star properties in Hong Kong but certainly no better. The standard rooms are nicely appointed, the same space as the Shangri-La although a bit noisier.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinw1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House on tripadvisor.com

We appreciate that you call us “great” and compare us to other five star luxury hotels in town.

We do try to provide a different feel and approach to the more traditional hotel brands. I would be very much interested to learn more about your service experience at “our house”. Feel free to drop me a note on when/where to reach you best to further discuss your stay: marcelthoma@swirehotels.com


Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I am a business traveler with a very high rate of hotel nights stays (including across Asia) and the Upper House was an exceptional experience. From the airport pickup to drop off everything was organized in a highly professional fashion yet with a true personal touch. The hotel itself is highly attractive and manages to combine a highly modern "trendy" feel with actual business hotel service. Could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House on tripadvisor.com

It is great to read that you call us “exceptional”. I am delighted to know that your stay from A to Z was a pleasant one and that you recommend us to other like minded travellers.

We hope to see you soon again and do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations either at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

It's nice to bypass a lobby for check in and it's great to have a minibar filled with snacks, soft drinks and beer that you can enjoy without being charged for it.

Breakfast has traditional fare and some healthier options. The views are stunning as are the rooms.

It just feels like you did something right when you stay here-you don't want to leave the room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House on tripadvisor.com

We are much honored to read your brief but to the point review learning that “we just get it”.
We do try to offer a different alternative to the traditional luxury hotels in Hong Kong; we are glad to know that you like what we do.

We hope to see you soon again and do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations either at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

After having left the Grand Hyatt due to massive renovation work, I arrived the Upper House and was more than pleasantly surprised. A zen-like atmosphere with a highly professional and service-minded staff makes you feel comfortable the minute you arrive. The elegant, sober and highly qualitative interiors is a true change from recent years "boutique hotel concepts" that very rapidly tend to become gimmicky and outdated. The rooms are spacious and well-thought out and you can feel that for once an architect has really given it a thought before deciding where to put sockets, buttons and curtain control etc. which makes the stay easy and user-friendly.

Delicious food and impeccable, discrete service at the restaurant on the 49th floor with one of the best views of Hong Kong and the bar on the same floor is the perfect spot for a casual pre-dinner drink.

The Upper House is truly one of the best urban hotel experiences in the world right now. A must when you stay in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4003 with a beautiful views of skyscrapers and the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Claus

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House on tripadvisor.com

We are delighted to know that after your first choice of hotels, you arrived “home”. Thank you for recommending us to likeminded travellers as well as for describing us as “one of the best city hotel experiences”.

We hope to see you soon again and do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations either at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have stayed in some of the best hotels that the world has to offer but nothing really compares to this piece of heaven on earth. Sashi and Kristina were fabulous as the Guest Experience Managers - and the iPod technology that controlled everything from check in to room service made the whole stay wonderfully easy (and very 21st century). These really are rooms with a view - and particularly from the bathroom. Floor to ceiling windows and baths that you can sleep in. Ren accessories and spacious room plans made for a truly unforgetable stay (and I was only here on business). Cafe Grey is quite special. A popular bar with an extraordinary view and chefs that go out of their way to accommodate (I am vegetarian) their clientele by going off piste with recommendations of dishes that are not on the menu. However, none of that compares to the amazing service and attention to detail. I accounted one evening to Kristina how I was missing my 2 beautiful little girls and that they were missing me (the downsides of Facetime) - but I still had another week of business travel left. On the evening before my checkout, the management team had gift wrapped 2 beautiful wooden boxes of coloured pencils, a children's book on Hong Kong and a gorgeous UH candle to take home. They really listen, they really care and that's what makes this place second to none. I will be staying there again and I wouldn't recommend any other place on Hong Kong Island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcel T, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Upper House on tripadvisor.com

We are glad to read your comments about “6 star service” and I have shared your glowing review also with Kristina and Sashi.
It is the people who make a place and we are very honored to work with such amazing hospitality professionals.

Unfortunately I was not able to meet you in person but I hope to do so during your return visit.

We hope to see you soon again and do let me know if I may personally assist with any future reservations either at “our house” or any other Swire Hotels.

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
General Manager
The Upper House
Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,455 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing