We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper House at upper end of scale”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A wonderful hotel in a great location with fantastic rooms and views. What more can I say? We were greated by courteous and friendly team who were indeed please to welcome us to the hotel. After enjoying a wondeful lunch at the Cafe Grey on the 49th floor, we were escorted to our room. You could not wish for any more features in the room which also included an expresso machine, itouch for ordering room service and even playing cards if you ever tired of the scenic view of Hong Kong Harbour.

The room was modern and the seperate bathrroom had a large rain forrest shower and an equally large bath.

Overall, the experience could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,105 - 2,111 of 2,443 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

I am a regular traveller to Hong Kong and have stayed at most of the rated hotels on the island and reckon that this one is right up there. Probably shaded out by the awesome Four Seasons for facilities and view but room versus room I would probably go for the Upper House.

Probably worth mentioning the free wireless Internet and free in room bar for beer and soft drinks.

In value terms the Upper House knocks the stuffing out of the Four Seasons and, in my opinion, is a tad trendier. I will definitely be returning there next time I am on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed in the Studio 80 a couple times. The interior design is the main attraction of this hotel. The design is so elegant and soothing.. It is really sanctuary from busy HK.

Once you get to your room, you will not want to leave... The bath robes are probably the finest I have ever experienced. The minibar and snacks are FREE. The sound system hooks up easily to your ipod or MP3 player. The floor-to-ceiling views from the bathroom / spa are stunning.

This is probably the finest hotel I've ever stayed in. Expect to pay $450 to $500 a night, but considering HK, it is very worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Usually staying at the traditional 5 and 4 star hotels in Hong Kong, I decided to give the newly opended Upper House a try on my 3 day trip. Transfer from the airport in the hotel's Lexus is smooth, the in-room check-in reminds me more of a friendly chat than usual protocol. The room (I had the smaller one) is huge, the design clean, minimalistic and functional. Furthermore I like the concept of the complimentary minibar (well, it's not really mini...) and snacks.

Bar and restaurant are nice, too. Staff is young, yet attentive and friendly; however, they could enhance on speed (e.g. fetching stored lugguage took 15 minutes).

If you like a stylish hotel combined with some understatement, then I definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

In the heart of Pacific Place, lies the Upper House Hotel, being the inaugural Hong Kong Hotel for the Swire group. Just getting to the restaurant is an experience in itself; certainly in the evening the ambiance sets the tone for what’s in store. While modern minimalism is a feature of the Hotel, making ones way up the long sleek escalator with warm teak wood hues gives way to a lift lobby that then takes you to the top floor of the Hotel wherein lies on the 49th Floor Café Gray Deluxe. A short candle lit hall leads to the interior. With the bar and cosy semi private booths on the right and the main dining area straight ahead, the inimitable style and refined aesthetics are both soothing and sophisticated.

Service

It’s not that hard to build and create a great looking restaurant, however, while one can build and create the most amazing places on earth it takes people to make them a reality. This is where Café Gray Deluxe exceeds expectations. Quality service should always be unobtrusive yet professional and efficient. Café Gray Deluxe is both. More than that, it’s carried out in a genuinely caring manner. Making this a place where casual meets sheik with attention to service. On our visit our service was superb and again proves that in Hong Kong, it is indeed the five star hotels that can attract and retain quality people.

Food

While there has been “mixed” reports in the media on the food, on our visit we ordered a variety of dishes, all of which were both enticing and delicious. Mixed Oysters with Crab legs (the latter already carefully slice open for easy access) being tastefully presented on a bed of ice, both the Oysters and the Crab were of the freshest and finest. Other dishes to follow where: Pork Chops tenderly cooked with a nice selection of vegetables, a whole Lemon Sole cooked to perfection with a tangy light lemon sauce, and Beef Cheeks, being tender and gelatinous accompanied by a light sauce and medley of vegetables. Now this is were some other reviews had differing thoughts, but my point is this. Good food done well, prepared fresh and with attention to detail is the key to success. It is a simple as that, and while some diners may have different conceptions or follow other fads in reality there is no need for food to be convoluted or complicated. This is where Café Gray Deluxe excels, with quality produce and a traditional approach, neither will never go out of style.

Overall it further elevates the dining status for which Hong Kong is famous. Dining at Café Gray Deluxe can be like dining anywhere else in the world and certainly comparable to, Tokyo, London, Paris and New York. No doubt the fact the Chef Gray Kunz, spent sometime at a very successful establishment in New York, evokes a major influence in this dining venue.

Personally I can’t wait to go back there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnthonyHKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Stayed there for business - sadly just for 1 night. Great room - with awesome views of the bay. Huge bath area and spacious room- all the high tech gadgets etc. Good location for work- efficient staff. Great bar on the top floor. Had room service breakfast which was good. Not cheap and the gym is a bit small- but otherwise hard to fault.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scalpel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed at Upper House for one night, and absolutely loved our stay. From the great introduction to the room & hidden bathroom by Christie, to the mostly complimentary maxi-bar, the ipod Touch, and the Very Very soft bathrobe, our stay was filled with surprises.

We stayed in an Island View Studio 80 room in late May 2010. This stay was more enjoyable than our past stays in Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Island Shang-ri La, Conrad, and JW Marriott, in Hong Kong.

Likes - Large room, great design. Free soft drinks, espresso machine in room, free snacks. Paper-less Hotel, ipod touch. Free Internet. Bathtub w/ Excellent view. Walk-In closet. Very soft bathrobes (for sale for HK$400, but on waitlist). Very thoughtful items, like a foldable environmentally-friendly reusable shopping bag, playing cards in the room. Large sofa.

Dislikes - Nothing about the hotel, but a few items on the travel experience. In the taxi leaving the hotel, the driver lied and said the Airport Express in HK Station was broken, and tried to convince us to go to Kowloon station or to the airport directly. Luckily we were not fooled.

Also, would recommend to book early, since we missed the advanced purchase deadline.

Would highly recommend to anyone that expects the best.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biztraveller_atHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,323 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,152 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £401 - £1,850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing