We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butterfly On Morrison
Nearby Hotels
Conrad Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$399
US$379
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$266
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$235
US$208
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$157
US$123
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$529
US$463
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$79
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,615)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveller rating
586
787
203
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
787
203
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarecauseway baysouth pacific hotelwet marketpocket wifideluxe roomboutique hotelhappy valley race coursehandy phonemtr stationmin walklocal callsbus stopfloor to ceiling windowsconvenient locationrooms are smalldefinitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Location is very convenient. within walking distance to Time Square. Clean. Staff is fluent in English. Room is very very small and choice of colour scheme makes the room dowdy. The good side is that the shower is powerful and no problem in communicating in english with the staff. It is a good thing that our days are pack during our 3 nights stay. Thus the room is just for us to have a good night rest. Definitely not suitable for those who want to laze in ; not for those with young kid. No one area in the room has a space to allow 2 persons to walk by.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank seekingadvice2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel is very clean and the bed super comfortable. The bathroom is modern with a powerful shower .. even if the cubicle is rather small.. You wouldn't want to be oversize in anyway otherwise the door wouldn't shut!
I found the actual room I had depressing in colour and the lighting just added to the gloom. The carpet was thin and you could feel the nails of the tread through it.. not pleasant.
On the positive side.. staff were polite, cheerful and welcoming. I wouldn't stay at this Butterfly again..... but for the money it was reasonable and fine for an overnight.

Room Tip: My room 802 was at the front of the hotel, and the traffic noise was pretty loud as the hotel is on a main road, next to a big intersection.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and were happy with our welcoming service. We appreciate your feedback on the room carpet and we have coordinated with concerned department to fix such issue in specific rooms. By the way, we are sorry that the mood of your assigned room was not to your liking. Please accept our apology for not having the chance to offer you other room types which have different ambience and design during your stay.

Thank you again for your valuable comment. We sincerely hope to welcome you back for a much better staying experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Had a great stay here when we holidayed in Hong Kong. Staff were very polite and always helpful. Staff spoke excellent English, which was helpful as whilst we are Asian neither of us speak Cantonese or mandarin. The room was small, but larger than other places in Hong Kong. The room was always clean and the shower was a good size. Comfortable bed, adjustable air-conditioning. There aren't many additional facilities but we were happy as we were out shopping or eating most of the time and didn't spend that much time in the room.

The location was a little hard to get to when asking taxi drivers on arrival (Pretty sure they were being dodgy to get the extra fare). I suggest asking the hotel to drop you at the South Pacific hotel instead, as you can't stop on Morrison road and they know where the hotel is. Once you've figured out where it is, its easy to get anywhere, quick walk to the MTR and times square where the major shops are.

Despite it's reputation in the past, it's quite a safe area. Walked back to the hotel many times late at night after shopping trips with plenty of bags.

Highly recommend for business people or short stays for young people looking to explore, shop and eat. If we go back, we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiveLoveDanceLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel is very clean, comfortable and modern. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location is great! Very safe and only 5 minute walk to Time Square Plaza and Causeway Bay Metro Station. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We arrived very late in the evening in Hong Kong and took a taxi from the airport express station at IFC - as stated in the map provided by the hotel, which specified vehicular access by Bowrington Road, we told the cab driver to go to Bowrington Road in Causeway Bay. Warning: the access from Bowrington Road is a service access, you should direct your taxi to Morrison Hill Road instead.

The reception is on the 3rd floor of the hotel and the receptionist was very pleasant and spoke well. We had booked a Superior room but were told that we would be upgraded to a Deluxe room instead. Pleasantly surprised, we headed up to the room. Despite the many positive reviews on cleanliness of the hotel, we were not impressed with the state of the room and made a call to the management. The hotel manager came up to do a physical check immediately and offered us a change of room in the morning.

I was very impressed with the level of service - akin to what you would expect for a 5 star establishment. The room change was done the following morning and suffice to say, the new room was in much better shape. We thoroughly enjoyed our remaining stay, it is very well located and the level of service was exceptional and despite the room being on the small side (although definitely not as small as some Hong Kong hotels - the bed was not pushed against a wall), it had all the necessary amenities.

If you are after a clean and safe hotel, close to public transport (5 minute walk from the Causeway Bay MTR station) at a fairly reasonable price, I would definitely recommend the Butterfly on Morrison.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, upgrade to a Superior or Deluxe room as the additional space is definitely welcome.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews