We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly On Morrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Butterfly On Morrison
Ranked #74 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Few months ago, I stayed at the Butterfly on Morrison in Causeway Bay Hong Kong. The room I had was the "superior room". It was quite small but since I travelled by myself; it was still quite comfortable. In the bathroom, the vanity area had no place to put toiletries. There was no lobby in the hotel, the reception desk was on the second floor. The computer center was right there next to the desk. Staffs were very nice and helpful. There was a person staying at the ground floor near the entrance, but at night around 9 o'clock, he would be off duty. The elevator was near a corner behind a wall, the light was dim. All that gave me a feeling of not so safe.
You cannot get a taxi right outside the hotel. After checking out, you have to walk down the street with your luggage in order to get a taxi. All and all, the hotel was very affordable (for H.K. standard.) though rooms will be too small for a family. 1 or 2 people is Ok. Location is excellent. For me it felt more like a service apartment more than a hotel. Will I stay there again? Yes, but I will check out if there is any other deal first.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floor for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirage2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    635
    169
    21
    12
See reviews for
174
387
149
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

For HK standard, the hotel is priced very reasonably. There is nothing to complain about. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The location is good, is accessible by bus, tram or metro. Though you need to walk in order to ride but aside that very centrally located. Also, if riding the bus from the airport, take the A11 and stop at the 12th stop (tonnochy rd, hennessy rd.) walk straight ahead and turn right before the intersection and cross the street. Go straight from tin lok lane to morrisson hill road. You'll see the hotel very easily.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GelOng_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I can't really say anything bad about this place. Clean, comfortable room, friendly and helpful staff, and a pretty good location. I would stay here again for sure. Frankly, I don't know what the other reviewers are complaining about. I stay in hotels about 150 nights per year for business, and I can honestly say that this is one of the better ones!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyinFoodieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

For what you pay, this hotel is actually quite comfortable for HK standards. Its no-frills and the space is adequate for a single or couple. I stayed with a buddy I was travelling with so we had 2 single beds but it was fine and didnt at all feel cramped. Location isnt too bad either - within walking distance to Times Square and the MTR. Highly recommended for those on a budget looking for a nice, clean and comfortable 3 star boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Generally it was a pleasant experience living in this hotel for the price we paid for. Location is great. Enjoyed our stay. Right outside the hotel is a bus stop and no stopping, so get the cab right in front of the South Pacific Hotel about 100m away.

Room Tip: Higher floor seems to give better views and less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gadgetfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in November. It was one of the reasonable offers in Hong Kong with good, convenient location.
Our baby was 2 months old, and we had asked for a cot. However, when we turned up at the room, the cot had made the room so small and uninhabitable, we had to upgrade - which was done right away, and it was a lot more spacious.
Rooms are clean, and staff are friendly.
I particularly found the cleaning lady to be very friendly and amiable.

We stayed on 33rd floor facing the mountain, and the view was good.

Conveniently located near Times Square, and there is a wet market behind the hotel, providing some interesting walk.

Room Tip: See the room before you move in. If not happy, ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carioca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and 2 kids stayed there after a long trip to Europe, and was really satisfied by the dedication and alertness of the staff. Everything was very well taken care of, and they were very attentive to details. I asked for a babysitter and it was arranged without hassle and at ease. The rooms were very nice and modern and the location is just in the middle of everywhere. I would recommended this to anyone going to Hk!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#70 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly On Morrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly On Morrison

Property: Butterfly On Morrison
Address: No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly On Morrison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining contemporary comfort with a classy dose of European pizzazz, Butterfly on Morrison cannot enjoy a better location than where it is at Causeway Bay. That means 5 minutes away from the heart of shopper's Hong Kong (think Times Square, Sogo and the brand new Hysan Place); 5 minutes from the high-octane actions of the Happy Valley racetrack and the Hong Kong stadium; 10 minutes from the nightlife and heritage cool of Wan Chai and the same number of minutes from the chic and quirks of Star Street Precinct. In short, everything that makes Hong Kong buzz and hum with energy is right outside. Inside, 98 guest rooms are filled to the brim with sophisticated amenities, offering every comfort for both work and play, including a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi tethering, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. However busy the night gets, the hotel will be your refuge. So when you're tired from a day of non-stop shopping, Rugby Sevens watching or nightlife exploring, return to us, relax and lounge. Our 24-hour front desk and 'Local Ambassadors' have got you covered. How well connected are we? - 6-minute walk to Causeway Bay MTR. - 15-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Butterfly On Morrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Morrison Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Morrison Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing