We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the design, but watch the bathroom doors if traveling with friends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Butterfly On Morrison
Ranked #73 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

The nearest MTR stop to here is Times Square, NOT Wanchai. We were amazed at how narrow the tall building was, yet they architects were able to maximize the space. Don't be surprised if the main entrance is just a desk and elevators, since check-in is at the 3/F.

Travelled here with a male friend (note: NOT partner, just a buddy), and we specified a superior twin-sharing room with 2 single beds. We were upgraded to the Executive Suite at the 28F and was pleasantly surprised, till we saw that there was only 1 Queen Bed.

On our return 4 days after, we got a Deluxe room upgrade. Yes, it finally had TWO single beds, but alas, the bathroom doors were practically see through, and you could hear EVERYTHING from inside, as if there wasn't any door!

Other than bathrooms not offering any privacy (if you were with a partner/spouse/fiancee then it would've been perfect), I'd reco this anytime! Delicious street food serving seafood and local fare, plus ice cold San Miguel Beer, is located at the back of the hotel, about 2 minutes away on foot. Of course, the famous Times Square mall and restaurants are just around the corner, not to mention the MTR. Would come back to the Butterfly on my next HK trip!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rezywezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed in Butterfly On Morrison on Valentine's day and took their Valentine's day package with a bottle of wine, chocolates and a bath set with extended stay until 3pm. The price for this was if I recall correctly around 1,000HKD which is reasonable. The room was clean and modern and felt really comfortable. The service was basic and I can't really comment on that after staying only for one night. The location is not as bad as other reviews make it look as it's right next to a major bus route, but the rooms are high enough so even the traffic didn't bother the slightest. I wouldn't exactly call it great value, but if you don't care paying a bit extra for a really comfortable stay, I'd say that this is your place.

I would definitely stay there again just because of the extremely comfortable room with windows facing two directions.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My wife and I stayed for a full week and really enjoyed the location and the room. We were on the 22nd floor and traffic noise was minimal and not noticed.
The hotel and services are simple - don't expect extravagant luxuries here - but the rooms are neatly designed, the bed comfortable, the room spacious enough (especially for HK), and the shower was great! All hotel rooms in HK are small, but the double walls of floor to ceiling windows, the mirrors, and the lighting all help to make the room FEEL more spacious. The bed is high enough off the floor to slide luggage under it. The couch and desk are small, but that helps conserve space - especially with 2 people in the room. The views from the upper floors are good - Happy Valley and the surrounding hills in one direction, WanChai and interesting bldgs in the other.
The location near enough to public transport, great area for walking around at all times of day and night, and has a good mix of local and western food/drink/shopping. The local market is great for people and produce watching - look for the VERY fresh seafood (beating fish hearts on display!). The street fish resto (Kiu Kee I think it was called) on the next street over is super for the gastronomically adventurous! A really great meal - have no fear!
Follow the street directions advice from other reviews in this column - it is easy to find if you cut directly through the market.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Smallish but well very furnished and highly functional room. Great bathroom with spacious shower. 26th floor provided amazing views especially at night. Helpful and friendly staff. Good location. Pricing well below Hong Kong average.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrettSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Excellent value, very clean, nice, spacious rooms. Even provided DVD player and travel adapters in the rooms! Only problem is the bathroom doors being see-through..
Excellent service from all the staff, very helpful and informative. Special commendation especially to the bellman on the 1st floor, who obligingly walked 3 streets dragging our luggage with us to help us get a taxi.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagle_eye22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Having read all of the reviews on this site, I can concur the following:

ROOMS
*quite a tight squeeze, we stayed in a deluxe room (280sq feet/26sq mtrs). We had 2 large suitcases, one was placed on the sofa, the other on the floor, leaving hardly much room to walk around.
*fantastic shower!!!
*sturdy, medium / firm mattress and great pillows!!!
*There's a bar fridge, but no mini bar service and no room service
*NO privacy in bathrooms. There are venetian blinds, but they only cover one wall of the bathroom, the sides are completely exposed
*sink is small
*plenty or room in the bathroom for all your products
*towel hook is not close enough to the shower, so you need to get out of the shower and walk to it
*if you're over 5 foot 11, then the study desk will be too low for you
*good consistent WiFi (internet was included for us)

LOCATION
*easy 7 mins walk to Causeway Bay
*taxis will stop on the opposite side of the hotel, not out front
*reception is on the 3rd floor
*close to shopping, restaurants
* Morrison Rd is a VERY busy road. We were on the 22nd floor and we could still hear the hum of the traffic, so ask for the rooms of the highest floors

SERVICE
*flawless
*other reviews complained about slow lifts, we experienced no such issue
*efficient, speedy check in/check out
* there's a Chinese restaurant on the 1st floor

In summary, for AUD120 per night for a 4 day stay, this suited our budget and satisfied our needs. You'd need to spend big bucks if you want a bigger room with a view in Hong Kong

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScruffSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

If you get a good deal for this maybe 500HKD-600HKD it is OK. Otherwise, it is pretty average (that said this may pique expectations!)

Pros:
1. Relatively short walk to MTR PROVIDED you know your way. Exit A of MTR, walk through or around wet markets for Morrison Hill Road.
2. Modern and relatively newish so things don't look too shabby at all
3. DVD and nice flat screen in room
4. Free broadband in room BUT IT IS not wireless so you are stuck to the desk (I wanted to surf in bed :))
5. Nice Panasonic cordless phone - better than the usual hotel phones IMO

Cons:
1. Well I am staying on the 9th floor and I can tell you the traffic noise is high. I can hear everything so really really bad for light sleepers. Also the elevator door DINGS loudly each time adding to the noise. Reception couldn't help, said they were all that way
2. Lifts are quite slow, wait wait wait etc so with 2 lifts, if you are in a rush, best to plan a few minutes more to wait
3. Small rooms, small shower but if you are just looking for a base to plod out of it should do the trick
4. No room service, no gym

I wouldn't stay here again unless they have really good hotel deals.

Good Luck with your travels!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#64 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,479 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#48 of 729 in Hong Kong
194 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#84 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,395 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#45 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly On Morrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly On Morrison

Address: No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £54 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly On Morrison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining contemporary comfort with a classy dose of European pizzazz, Butterfly on Morrison cannot enjoy a better location than where it is at Causeway Bay. That means 5 minutes away from the heart of shopper's Hong Kong (think Times Square, Sogo and the brand new Hysan Place); 5 minutes from the high-octane actions of the Happy Valley racetrack and the Hong Kong stadium; 10 minutes from the nightlife and heritage cool of Wan Chai and the same number of minutes from the chic and quirks of Star Street Precinct. In short, everything that makes Hong Kong buzz and hum with energy is right outside. To fulfill travellers’ need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers “4G Pocket WiFi Device” to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Inside, 98 guest rooms are filled to the brim with sophisticated amenities, offering every comfort for both work and play, including a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. However busy the night gets, the hotel will be your refuge. So when you're tired from a day of non-stop shopping, Rugby Sevens watching or nightlife exploring, return to us, relax and lounge. Our 24-hour front desk and 'Local Ambassadors' have got you covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Butterfly On Morrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Morrison Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Morrison Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing