We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of EAST Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EAST Hong Kong
Ranked #31 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very impressed with East each time I stay. Efficient checkin is always great when you fly in from an international location and many hotels make check in a pain but East seem to get you to your room as quickly as possible. I like the corner rooms and the little extras like the sweets in room. The breakfast is exceptional in the cafe. The room service is average - only "fast food" type options. Location is good if you need to be close to work (not so good for tourist)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stiletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to EAST, Hong Kong. It is always wonderful to see that our guests keep returning to the hotel because of great service. We are also happy to learn that you enjoy the in-room amenities and have noted your profile so we can give you the corner room you like so much during your next stay. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    427
    65
    14
    11
See reviews for
85
236
104
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Good business hotel. The location is good for business but otherwise not terribly exciting. Hotel is well designed with a modern foyer, nice restaurant and roof top bar.

Smallish but modern rooms. Comfortable bed. Gym is okay but nothing amazing and could do with being a bit bigger and with better treadmills. Nice pool and great views from the rooftop bar.

Service was great at the door and the restaurant was good. I returned from the gym at 7:30am to find my room already being made up so I had to ask the lady to leave so I could get ready. Seemed very early for housekeeping.

Only other concern was my booking. I booked through Expedia instead of the through the hotel directly and I was given the choice of a twin room, no views or a queen room with views. I chose the latter and paid extra but was then told by the hotel that Expedia did not have the right to sell this and that they would not honour it, resulting in me being in a twin room. Other than that, fine stay but nothing amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank We_love_holidays_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hong Kong isn't the most spacious city. East Hong Kong is located in the quieter part of Hong Kong, and is directly on top of an MTR line. Its next to a big mall, and close to food. What more can you ask for.

The hotel is modern, service was excellent, we stayed there on xmas and got a xmas stuffed toy on our bed after room service. Small but welcome gesture. Everything about the room was perfect, except the toilet door. Its not frosted!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KelvinTan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your Christmas holiday with us and we appreciate you highlighting the exceptional service provided by our team. We hope to welcome you back to EAST, Hong Kong, for another holiday very soon.

Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Good, convenient hotel with standard rooms (ask for bay view and higher floors), good restaurants with amazing views from the 32nd floor.
Staff is always cordial and available for your needs.
Only not so positive point is the room service, that offer pretty small portions in plastic dishes .... Not very classy but probably more ecological ....

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mauro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and for highlighting the great service provided to you by our team. You are right in that our in-room dining packaging was designed to be ecologically-friendly. For future reference, we can gladly serve your in-room-dining on “normal” chinaware during next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly at davidarraya@swirehotels.com and I will ensure to add a note on your profile regarding your preference for room service delivery.

We hope to welcome you back to EAST, Hong Kong very soon.

Kind Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I'm very surprised by all the positive reviews here. I stayed at the East hotel for business, and while it was ok, I found it nothing to write home about. If you need to be in this part of the island for business, it's a good choice, but generally speaking the hotel is a bit dated, the rooms were smallish (compared to the 7 other hotels I've stayed at in HK), and the price was decent but on the higher side. If you want to be where the action is, this is not the right location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tk2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you found your recent stay average. Your comments have been reviewed with the team and I would like to note that since your stay last year we have worked hard to refresh the property and to keep it well maintained. Hopefully you will have another opportunity to visit us soon to see the changes.

Kind Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

East Hong Kong is a perfect business hotel on the Island East Hongkong. Exceptional good service, nice rooms - I liked the urban view ones. In walking distance to many office buildings and restaurants. Staff is really friendly and very pro-active. The breakfast buffet is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comaxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for such a great review. It is wonderful to hear that your experience was positive and that you found EAST, Hong Kong to be 'perfect' for your needs as a business traveler. We are appreciative of your comments about the service provided by our team. We pride ourselves in being friendly and proactive, and I will certainly share this wonderful review with everyone. We look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon.

Kind Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

It is a modern boutique hotel. Staffs in the lobby, such as the doorman, all dresses in casual outfit. I stayed on the higher floor facing the nice harbourview, which is not the harbourview of central Hong Kong, but the east side. As the whole wall is in glasses, the entire room is exposed to the outside. I loved the feeling of lying on bed and looking at the beautiful view. The design is cool, but the dark-colored material they use to build the bathroom is not easy to keep clean. Choices for breakfast is limited. Not much on the buffet bar, but you can order hot dishes from the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umeshuxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at EAST, Hong Kong. We appreciate the kind words of recognition and do agree with you in that the views from our Harbour View rooms are gorgeous. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#65 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#22 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#79 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EAST Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EAST Hong Kong

Property: EAST Hong Kong
Address: 29 Taikoo Shing Road, Taikoo Shing, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Quarry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — EAST Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EAST is a lifestyle business hotel from Swire Hotels, designed primarily for savvy business travellers. The 345 rooms and suites offer harbour or urban views of Hong Kong. Complimentary broadband / WiFi internet throughout the hotel. EAST also features a 24-hour gym Beast (Body by EAST) and an outdoor swimming pool. Dining is highlighted by Feast (Food by EAST), the all-day dining restaurant and rooftop bar Sugar (Bar.Dec.Lounge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your EAST Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing