We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, easily accessible by MTR”
Review of EAST Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
EAST Hong Kong
Ranked #33 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just got back from my second stay at East Hong Kong.

Location: conveniently located right next to Taikoo MTR (Exit D) with lift access so you'll have no trouble getting there with your luggage. Whilst it is a little bit further away from the action in Central or Causeway Bay it doesn't take long to get there ('bout 12-15 minutes from door to Causeway Bay; 30 minutes to Mongkok). It's great as long as you don't mind a short commute. I used the HKD$300 tourist octopus card with 2 airport express rides and unlimited MTR rides for 72+ hours - it's a great deal if you're in HK for 3-4 days (you get $50 refund if you return the card at the airport, and the airport express round trip is already worth $180).

Service: quick and painless check-in / check-out. Excellent service all around. 3 sets of towels and room slippers already in the room at check-in.

Room: upgraded to a Harbour View Queen with a view of East Kowloon and the old Kai Tak airport which now serves as a cruise terminal. Decent size by Hong Kong standards. We had a little bit less space due to the extra bed, but if that bed wasn't there it would've been more than sufficient for our needs! Sockets available at the desk as well as bedside with another socket in the cupboard for the hairdryer.

Toilet/Bathroom: Night lights for the toilet. Toiletries in eco-friendly large bottles. I only wish that the shower door was opaque/frosted rather than clear glass (magic glass would've been great!).

I didn't dine at the hotel, but noticed a lot of locals heading up to Sugar (bar on the top floor) for drinks and a great view!

All in all it was another great hotel experience! I will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scytong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are happy to learn that your second experience at EAST, Hong Kong was just as good as your first, and thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate you mentioning what makes this hotel great, including our quick and efficient processes, our well equipped and spacious guest rooms, and the memorable service provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hong Kong very soon.

Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Tai koo shing is 5-10 mins into the center by taxi that's about $50-70 HK which is cheap. This hotel is a great alternative to the central. It's good quality, trendy, great service, clean safe tidy etc etc etc and relatively cheap. The restaurant is very good and the staff well trained, polite attentive and on the ball. The rooms are large for HK, very well equipped with sat tv, wifi, walk in shower iPod etc. the buffet in the restaurant is very good and it's not a usual buffet ... It's more like a set menu, ie the main course is properly cooked to order, not hanging around having people pick poke and sneeze on it like most other buffets..

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are great but only above 18 floor... Otherwise you look not other buildings ( lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for positive such a great review of your experience at EAST, Hong Kong. We sincerely appreciate all the wonderful comments about all our offerings, and most importantly about the level of service provided by our team. We have shared this exceptional review with the team, and we all hope to welcome you back to EAST, Hong Kong in a very near future.

Warm Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed there for business, location is great since office is just across the road. Rooms are modern if a little on the small side. Bar is great, breakfast excellent, restaurant in the evening tends to be full which s annoying if you want to eat and haven't booked. Location is a little residential and will not suit everyone, the harbour views are variable in my experience. All in all good Hong Kong business hotel if you can cope with location, to sure I would stay there for a holiday though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post a positive review about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you find the hotel suitable for a business stay and are grateful that you highlighted the many different aspects of your stay that stood out to yoy, including our rooms, bar and restaurant. As for the location, although we are situated in Taikoo Shing on the Eastern side of Hong Kong Island, we are conveniently located right next to the MTR station, which allows you to be in Central in only 10 minutes. Our team will be happy to point you in the right direction if you wish. Until then, we remain at your service for anything you may need.

Sincerely,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very impressed with East each time I stay. Efficient checkin is always great when you fly in from an international location and many hotels make check in a pain but East seem to get you to your room as quickly as possible. I like the corner rooms and the little extras like the sweets in room. The breakfast is exceptional in the cafe. The room service is average - only "fast food" type options. Location is good if you need to be close to work (not so good for tourist)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you very much for your continued loyalty to EAST, Hong Kong. It is always wonderful to see that our guests keep returning to the hotel because of great service. We are also happy to learn that you enjoy the in-room amenities and have noted your profile so we can give you the corner room you like so much during your next stay. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Good business hotel. The location is good for business but otherwise not terribly exciting. Hotel is well designed with a modern foyer, nice restaurant and roof top bar.

Smallish but modern rooms. Comfortable bed. Gym is okay but nothing amazing and could do with being a bit bigger and with better treadmills. Nice pool and great views from the rooftop bar.

Service was great at the door and the restaurant was good. I returned from the gym at 7:30am to find my room already being made up so I had to ask the lady to leave so I could get ready. Seemed very early for housekeeping.

Only other concern was my booking. I booked through Expedia instead of the through the hotel directly and I was given the choice of a twin room, no views or a queen room with views. I chose the latter and paid extra but was then told by the hotel that Expedia did not have the right to sell this and that they would not honour it, resulting in me being in a twin room. Other than that, fine stay but nothing amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_love_holidays_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hong Kong isn't the most spacious city. East Hong Kong is located in the quieter part of Hong Kong, and is directly on top of an MTR line. Its next to a big mall, and close to food. What more can you ask for.

The hotel is modern, service was excellent, we stayed there on xmas and got a xmas stuffed toy on our bed after room service. Small but welcome gesture. Everything about the room was perfect, except the toilet door. Its not frosted!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelvinTan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your Christmas holiday with us and we appreciate you highlighting the exceptional service provided by our team. We hope to welcome you back to EAST, Hong Kong, for another holiday very soon.

Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Good, convenient hotel with standard rooms (ask for bay view and higher floors), good restaurants with amazing views from the 32nd floor.
Staff is always cordial and available for your needs.
Only not so positive point is the room service, that offer pretty small portions in plastic dishes .... Not very classy but probably more ecological ....

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mauro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darraya, Manager at EAST Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and for highlighting the great service provided to you by our team. You are right in that our in-room dining packaging was designed to be ecologically-friendly. For future reference, we can gladly serve your in-room-dining on “normal” chinaware during next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly at davidarraya@swirehotels.com and I will ensure to add a note on your profile regarding your preference for room service delivery.

We hope to welcome you back to EAST, Hong Kong very soon.

Kind Regards,

David Arraya
Hotel Manager
EAST, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
TUVE
#29 of 723 in Hong Kong
308 reviews
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#53 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,406 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,135 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EAST Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EAST Hong Kong

Address: 29 Taikoo Shing Road, Taikoo Shing, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Quarry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £128 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — EAST Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EAST is a lifestyle business hotel from Swire Hotels, designed primarily for savvy business travellers. The 345 rooms and suites offer harbour or urban views of Hong Kong. Complimentary broadband / WiFi internet throughout the hotel. EAST also features a 24-hour gym Beast (Body by EAST) and an outdoor swimming pool. Dining is highlighted by Feast (Food by EAST), the all-day dining restaurant and rooftop bar Sugar (Bar.Dec.Lounge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your EAST Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing