We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, small rooms”
Review of Germany Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Germany Hostel
Ranked #110 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Small rooms, stayed in the dorm. Was pretty alright but really tiny rooms. The staff (Raaj) was very friendly, washed my clothes without any extra charge which I really appriciate. Its located in the Chung King Mansion where there's a lot of different guesthouses/hostels.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindenemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Germany Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

This place is really good, good service and helpful staff. Especially Raaj the the staff of the hostel. the location is really near to the most of the good area in Hong Kong, i really recommend this place

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenvu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It is a horrible place. Don't book the dorm, it has bed bugs all over the place. They are literally walking over the wall and ceiling!! AWFULL. Nothing positive!! The service is bad, after confronting them with the bedbugs they killed one of them en said: tomorrow we are going to change the sheets and just walked away.

Room Tip: Not go to Chung king mansion, not safe for woman. Go somewhere else And if you don't like bedbu...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Backpacker495_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT (LIKE THE REST OF CHUNGKING MANSIONS) THE GERMANY HOSTEL OWNERS ALSO OWN A NUMBER OF OTHER GUESTHOUSES ON OTHER FLOORS WITH DIFFERENT NAMES.

Germany Hostel also owns Paris Hostel, so a booking with one may have you staying with the other.

For those who don't know, Chungking Mansion is a massive, old, decrepit complex, comprising of thousands of rooms (accommodation and apartments). This is the cheapest place you can stay inn Hong Kong - this is for a reason.

We have stayed in Chungking Mansion on a number of occasions, so we are used to it, but it really is quite awful. To be clear, almost all the hotels are of the same standard, with a few better than others, and some are just hovels.

We stayed in a Paris Hostel room, but booked under Germany Hostel (so I have added this review to both).

We booked a double, but were given a triple, which gave us some much needed extra space. The room was average for Chungking Mansion.

As with all rooms here, the shower is over the toilet, and the whole room will be soaked when you shower. The linen was clean, they provided towels, and there was a fridge & TV in the room. Due to the extra bed there was space for our bags. Overall the room was clean, although there was the usual questionable wiring and old air-conditioning unit. There was also a ceiling fan.

Location is great because it's right on Nathan Rd, 1min from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station and in the midst of all the shopping and food. Fairly close to Temple St Night Market as well.

On the bottom floor there are a number of shops including a laundry and some really nice Indian food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

you will definitely regret it!!!
i stayed in hollywood four seasons hostel(for private suite room)hkd275 and paid 10%for early booking without service fee first and it was okay a bit pricey(than those 4)but it was a bit bigger than their rooms the assistant were very helpful to the guests the sheets and the room doesnt smell, 2 pillows not that soft but it is only fair with the rate considering its hong kong...
so i booked online in germany for my 2nd day in hongkong because i saw it is a bit cheaper(a standard private room)it said in my printed copy of the reservation the hostel is in 7F of the same bldg on other side but when i got there theres a note saying receivng room is in 6F(and the 2 elvators only take odds and even floors)so i got lost looking for the connection between the 2 elevators so i end up going down the stairs in each level till ground(and i tell you its not a nice sight,it might haunt me in my derams i was imagining id see a dead body on my turn)so when i checked in and paid for the remaining fee they escorted me to the 6th and the cleaning men talked in their language(and by the way they claim germany hostel is owned by a exbritish army NOT! these 4 hostels were owned i think or is managed by 1group...so they said theyd give me a diff room on the 7th...i had no choice but to accept it so iregret transfering from that moment on.
so when i entered the room it smells even if they had just cleaned it and had me wait for 10minutes because the room is still dirty...
wifi was not working thats one thing
they had me pay hkd80 because i came back late to check out even if i explained to them that i miscaculated the travel time to lantau is(compared in hollywood they didnt charge me extra evenif i checked out late)
and the worst among the worst i lost my phone in my bags!!!
so please beware of these 4 hostels!

Room Tip: im so sorry i forgot my first hostel,message me later and ill tell you...its a private suite room fo...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raquel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Expensive place for what we got. We booked for Germany hostel but got Paris Guesthouse for some reason. We only stayed 3 nights and that was ENOUGH. When we arrived our door had no lock and they weren't able to give us a key, there are no security lockers for your valuables. Charging our phone in the room made the entire power go out on our floor and one night when we came home there was so much brown stuff in the toilet seat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaela n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We are shocked with the services provided here at City Guest house. Block D,D3 & D7 & D8/ 7 Floor 36-44 Nathan Road, TST , Kowloon, Hong Kong . We had stayed here on 02/10/11 and checking out on 04/10/11. We checked out early in the morning at 0920 hrs and as confirmed with staff Raman regarding our another booking Germany hostel for checking in on 04/10/11 midnight time as we are leaving to shenzhen and coming back at midnight .We had made the payment and confirmed the Germany Hostel room to be given once we r back. Staff Raman had promised us to help us Park our 2 luggages in our Germany Hostel Room after checking in time 12noon. To Our Horror when we are back, our 2 luggages are still park outside the corridor. According to staff Raman that he forgot. When we ask for our Germany Hostel Room key, staff Raman and staff Amanda told Us Germany Hostel are fully Booked???? We had book the RoOm online 2 weeks ago and is all confirmed. I had paid all money in the morning 0930hrs and all written down black and white payment and what is call Fully booked??? Staff Raman and staff Amanda just give us the leftover room for us. This is consider a cheating Scam.. How could such things happened to a so call award wining hostel in Hong Kong???

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frieght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Days Hotel
Days Hotel
#74 of 159 in Hong Kong
24 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Reliance Inn
New Reliance Inn
#63 of 159 in Hong Kong
10 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Day and Night Hotel
Day and Night Hotel
#78 of 159 in Hong Kong
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
City Guesthouse
City Guesthouse
#108 of 159 in Hong Kong
23 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Super 7 Hostel
Super 7 Hostel
#56 of 159 in Hong Kong
6 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#23 of 159 in Hong Kong
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Germany Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Germany Hostel

Address: Block D & E, Flat D8 & E2, 10th Floor, 40 Nathan Road, TST, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £16 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Germany Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Germany Hotel is conveniently located just a 2-minute walk from Ocean Terminal and Kowloon Park, and provides affordable accommodations with free Wi-Fi. It also features currency exchange and luggage storage services. The hostel is a 45-minute taxi ride from Hong Kong International Airport and a minute's walk from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. It is located a 5-minute walk from Victoria Harbour and Star Ferry Terminal. The rooms at Hostel Budget are air-conditioned and equipped with a flat-screen cable TV and a fridge. They all have a private bathroom with a hot shower. The hostel has free local calls. It also has a 24-hour front desk and a tour desk. The hostel provides laundry services and a shared pantry equipped with a microwave and tea/coffee-making facilities. Tsim Sha Tsui is a great choice for travelers interested in cold weather, shopping for makeup and fast food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Germany Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germany Hotel Hong Kong
Germany Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing