We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ever slept in a glorified broom closet?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lee Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lee Garden Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Ever slept in a glorified broom closet?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Room G is long and thin, the access door at the east end and the washroom at the west end, two narrow beds placed end-to-end along the north wall. A/C unit is over the west bed, so when the bathroom exhaust fan is operating (at the west end) it quickly sucks away all the cold air, leaving the occupant of the east bed to swelter.
Pleasant reception, clean because of good housekeeping practices, basic accommodation at reasonable (for Hong Kong) prices.

Room Tip: Spend twice as much and stay in a real hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    66
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
35
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and even though the room was small it was clean and comfortable and well set out. Good quality TV, free WiFi and local phone calls, clean towels daily, basics like toothbrushes and shampoo were provided plus the room was serviced every day. The humidity was in the 90s so the very efficient AC was a blessing. The staff were friendly and helpful especially when Thypoon Usagi was approaching and our flight out of HK was cancelled. If you want to spend most of your time and money on sightseeing and shopping then this is the place to stay. It only cost us $800 HK per night and security was great (we needed 4 keys to get into our room). There is a locked gate at street level with an intercom if the security guard is not on duty and reception is open until midnight. My only concern was that the fire exits had bins and boxes stored in them. If you stay here make sure you visit the Charlie Brown Cafe just a few doors up the street.

Room Tip: Room 812 sleeps 3 (1D + 1S) and overlooks the street. From what I could see all rooms seemed to be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20grace13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a great base from which to visit Hong Kong and environs. It's centrally located, and you can easily walk to most of the attractions in Kowloon, and if walking isn't your thing bus and MTR options are very close. There are lots of restaurants nearby, as are the Hong Kong museum and the Science museum.
The premises are kept very tidy, and the rooms are cleaned and new toiletries provided daily.
They provide cold drinking water in the fridges too, which we found to be a big bonus in the humidity of July and August in Hong Kong.
The staff are very nice and accommodating, and when our flight from Indonesia was delayed we had airline staff call them and they even stayed late for our arrival.
Booking was very easy, we just emailed Mr. Chan, and he responded with amazing speed to all our inquiries.
Coming from the airport at night, for our first time in Hong Kong, after a 15 hour flight, we really appreciated the precise and 100% accurate directions, including pictures of the entrance from the street (which is a big bonus when you see the visual neon cacophony that is Hong Kong streets at night).
We stayed there twice on stopovers to and from Indonesia (3 nights and 4 nights respectively), and would definitely stay there again if we visit Hong Kong.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamiamadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and it was a good option in terms of location. Our room was tiny but fine for us. The bathroom was tiny too but again fine. The double bed was quite small but comfortable. The A/C was functioning and the service was good. For what one gets, it is expensive.. welcome to HK!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lee Garden in May 2013 for 5 nights.

We found the hostel very easily from directions given to us by the hostel (its just one bus from the airport, takes about an hour).

The location was great, right in the centre on Kowloon near to Tsim Sha Tsui tube stop and close to the harbour making it easy to pass between islands.

Our room was small but we've heard that all rooms are small in Hong Kong. The bed was a bit smaller than a standard double but it was OK. Each day our towels were replaced and shampoo, shower gel and toothbrushes were provided.

There was a small room containing a fridge and a microwave which we found useful. The staff were really friendly too.

The only downside was that there were some small ants which seemed to congregate by the window and I thought it was abit expensive but I overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

it was a great experience to stay in this guest house, staffs were all superb friendly especially Mrs Chan , she will introduce which tourist attraction to travel . Besides, it's safer compare to other budget hotel in Chung King Mansion. The price is a bit high compare to those in Chung King but this guest house is just worth for the price- Hkd 800 per room for 3 ppl per night . As this guest house is situated in heart of the city area, so it will be super convenient to travel around. The room that we stayed is not that spacious but it's worth. Recommended for those budget traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopaholic888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

First off, booking with this guesthouse was very easy, no down payment needed, all that was needed was email communication with Mr. Charles Chan who was very prompt in replying to emails and inquiries. I booked for 3 adults and 1 child, we were offered Triple room with extra mattress. We took the airport bus going to TST and the stop where we alighted was a few steps to the guesthouse. When we were shown our room I was pleased to see how clean and bright it was but didn't expect it to be so small that it was hard to imagine how an extra mattress would fit in the spare space in the room. The cabinet in the middle of the two beds made it even smaller. But when we retired at the guesthouse during our first night I was surprised the mattress did fit it in! and the person who slept on it woke up next day without any complaints at all! A/C Worked fine, there was LCD TV but only 1 English channel (sort of MTV). Toilet/Shower very clean but very small. You are literally showering under the toilet. Toilet sink is so small that even if you wash your hands you do not feel clean as you cannot avoid touching the sides of the sink. Hot shower worked fine. There is pantry outside the rooms where hot water was available, however drinking water in the fridge tasted like tap water so we had to buy bottled water at 7 Eleven for drinking to be safe. Despite of the bits of cons on this guesthouse i still recommend it specially to those on tight budget and first timers in Hong Kong. Staffs are friendly and speak good English. Location is perfect as it is walking distance to MTR station and HK Tourist spots like Stars Avenue, Space Museum and Star Ferry Pier. 7 Eleven just across the building. KFC and McDonalds just around the corner, and Charlie Brown - recommended for kids is also on the same street. Overall, I give Lee Garden Guesthouse 4 Stars! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank La C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#24 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#5 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#18 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hop Inn
Hop Inn
#6 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Yiu Fai Guest House
New Yiu Fai Guest House
#20 of 245 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Garden Guest House

Property: Lee Garden Guest House
Address: Block A, 8/F, 34-36 Cameron Road,, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lee Garden Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travelers who are looking for a laid back and private feeling atmosphere budget accommodation in central location of Kowloon, with more than 30 years of experience and good reputation, welcome to Lee Garden Guest House and Star Guest House. Certification of excellence from Trip Advisor of 2012 to 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lee Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee Garden Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Lee Garden Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing