We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms but clean”
Review of Asia Travel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asia Travel House
Ranked #417 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Location wise, it's perfect. Just a few blocks from the train station and bus station. There's also a night market next to the street and a few restaurants offering local cuisines. 711 and Mcdonald's are just next to the establishment as well.

Care taker of the hostel is very approachable as well and can understand and speak basic English.

Room is very small but clean and there's sanitizer and tissue everywhere for proper hygiene. We are a group of 5 and the room is around 25sqm only with just the beds in it but it's not bad considering that we paid 150hkd per person per night only, it's very cheap considering the other options in the area. They also make up the room everyday and they replace the used towels to new ones.

All in all, it's not bad for a hostel considering what you've paid for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cherry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great Value & Friendly Boss!The boss is very helpful in helping us when HK was struck with Typhoon when I visited HK a week ago. Overall not too bad considering the budget and amenities provided. Some room might have a very hot air cond so might be a bit hot. As for others, i'm quite satisfied... I'm a happy traveller

Room Tip: Request room with newer model of air cond. Some might be using old version of air cond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ethan_Law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My sister and I stayed for four days this September 2013. I used my mastercard credit card and they accept it with no hassle and delay. They clean the room daily while we're out so as soon as we arrived it's neat and clean. Aircon is cold. Wifi is at stop speed. 23Mbps download and 20Mbps(speedtest.net) upload so uploading pictures don't take a minute for ten photos atleast! Restroom is private and comfortable but a bit small. There is no power outlet near our beds. No SINGLE English channel in television among those available channels. Elevator is too old and slow. The location is a bit far from MTR station but near bus station. Service is very good but not 24/7 though they will still be there if needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AeronPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Clean place, we took 1 room with 5 bed... The location just 100m from temple market.. Some of staffs are indonesian.. It really helps when i ask something.. The bathroom too small but it didnt really count because its also clean. It also hv microwave and hotwater facility... Overall its worth it for budget hostel...i stayed for 2 nights and didnt hv any complain at all..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diralangenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

we came in a big group around 45 people, we stayed here because it was close to King's Park Hockey Stadium. Not to play Hockey but our team was in the Kowloon 10's. The rooms was very small but the bed was clean and comfortable. Very strategic and close to the temple market and Mong Kok (Ladies Market). the alley was a little dirty and I got stuck inside a lift once. They have oven, fridge and free tea coffee making facility, Hairdryer and they clean the room everyday throughout our entire 1 week stay.

Room Tip: Accommodations in Hong Kong are very expensive even at backpackers units. this is ok to stay..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nuruljaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I've stayed 4 nights at this hotel (guest house) during my recent visit to Hong Kong. The reason chose this place to begin with is because during this period all the hotel prices spiked & to be honest I was out so much, it would be pointless to pay for such luxurious hotels when I'm only back during only for sleeping 8 hours before my daily adventures. I kind prefer to go a bit Oppa Local Style lol...

The building itself, Ping An building is actually an apartment block which the locals reside in but there's a lot of little guesthouses in the building itself. Check out the listing above the security room at the lift lobby & you'll be amazed at how many there are. I counted around 30+ myself.

Don't bother to try finding the entrance as it's too small to be recognizable via Google Street View. Instead look out for the newspaper vendor along side Nathan road, just walk into the corridor from behind the old uncle who's half asleep (most of the time) & you'll reach the lift landing. Prepare to put down a deposit of $100 HKD which I did as the owner of the premise requested even though I'd booked it through Agoda.

The immediate surroundings you'll find an assortment of fortune readers, opera singers (at night) & the building itself is on the northern end of Temple street. I suggest you take a walk south from here & you'll find an assortment of local restaurants & night bazaar. Going north from here & you will be able to reach Mong Kok the shopping district. It has more shopping variety to offer than Temple street.

To summarize, it's a great location based hotel if you're like me who prefers to walk, shop & eat more localized food. It's a very simple, no frills, cheap & very accessible hotel for anyone whom prefer to go on a free-&-easy trip and would rather spend their money on other things like shopping & food :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Eric_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 雑居ビルに入って一番手前のエレベーターは5階には行かないので注意です。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 鞠之介
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
#399 of 725 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
Hi Inn @Nathan Road
#208 of 725 in Hong Kong
114 reviews
Jin Xiang Hotel
#437 of 725 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#430 of 725 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Mong Kok
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#212 of 725 in Hong Kong
51 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Strawberry Guest House
Strawberry Guest House
#376 of 725 in Hong Kong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Travel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Travel House

Address: 5/F, Alhambra Building, 385 Nathan Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £23 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asia Travel House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Asia Travel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Travel House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing