We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange Place... Pros and cons”
Review of Comfort Hostel HK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Hostel HK
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I'm so mixed on my feelings about this place... I'm not really a fussy type and I don't go to a hostel to spend my time there - I'm always out. So if this is how you are, you'll probably be OK with this place. Let's not forget, it IS very cheap. I had some good times and met some interesting folk there...we even all threw a party in the communal area! But there were some people (older people, it has to be said...) who were clearly used to staying in better quality hostels and who said this wasn't for them. I think it really depends what floor you stay on. The main receptions on 3, but there are rooms on floor 6 and 9, too. I hear 6 and 9 are better than 3, where I stayed. So to summarise, here's the good and bad things so you can decide if it's for you or not:

Pros:
Good location
Communal area always seems to be full, so you meet lotsa people if you're a lone traveller
Cheap
Staff mainland Chinese but speak good English and cantonese
Owners were flexible/helpful about me storing my stuff there for a couple of days once I left

Cons:
Only averagely clean
Dorm room I stayed in was very small - not a place I could hang out or really relax in
Internet was APALLING - really bad connection on 3F, but I hear 6F and 9F is better
Sign in lobby says hostel is operated illegally - weird.

Room Tip: Ask for 6F or 9F.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Haley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Hong Kong is an expensive city, so don't expect to pay cheap and get good accommodation. Comfort Hostel is VERY well located and affordable but that's where the qualities stop.

The staff is friendly enough - but only one guy speaks english, which is strange for HK. The rooms are old and the bathrooms are horrible - specially if you remember how much you're paying for it. Wifi works on and off, which is a drag. The space is really tight, so if you're big or claustrophobic, do not stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After finding the place we booked online for a week long stay, we squeezed into a windowless cubicle of unbelievably small dimensions. The flatscreen TV was mounted at an angle, that you could only watch it whilst standing up. Instead of the booked double bed, we did get 2 dwarf sized singles. The micro bathroom had no real ventilation and outside scaffolding reached this floor. So we had to barricade the vent. Security in the building was o.k., elevators worked fine. It was cleaned daily but we didn't spent any time in this cell other than for sleeping. Another horrible experience in this generally overpriced city. Reception was in a different building across the road. It was cold and no heating option available.

Room Tip: Insist on booked features such as window or type of bed, they tend to squeeze non-regular guests int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank abstinent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

While after all it is a Hostel and you wouldn't expect luxury, it is an excellent value and compared to the hotels in the immediate area about 1/3 the price. I had a private roomand bath with a/c and wifi(writing this now on hat wifi). Outback Steakhouse (separate review) is right across the street. It's in he middle of fashion district and you can hit all the high end Brand stores like Calvin Klien is next door.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank MikeOliverAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I went to visit my dad in Hong Kong with my mom and sister around Feb. 22, 2012 and we stayed at Comfort Hostel Hong Kong. My dad was the one who booked it for us since he lives there and when we arrived (via Hong Kong Airport Express train then taxi) it was very easy to find. For other mode of transportation, one can also ride on the airport bus. The elevator was small, can only fir 2-3 persons at a time, but not possible for travelers with huge luggage. Reception is on the third floor which is also accessible using the stairs. The reception desk is manned by a husband and wife team, but the husband is nicer than the wife and speaks better English than the wife. Please be advised that there is a $100 HK deposit on the room key which will be refunded once you checked out. Our room was located on the 10th floor (Room 1016), there were one queen sized bed and one single bed no cabinets except for a dresser & mirror and the toilet was a tad small with hot & cold shower (but it takes a while for the water to be hot). Also they don't have towels, it's either your rent from them (around $10 HK per towel or just buy your own).The room was clean and there's nice view of the harbor from our window . The bed mattress was hard but I loved it! Because that means that the bed is still in good condition and they take care of it. Great good night's sleep. No insects at all (maybe because the weather was too cold? not sure) The room adjacent to us is bigger (Room 1017) so if you want to have bigger space (there's a closet) and a bigger bathroom that room is a must. Hairdryer is outside the hall for common use and there's a water dispenser & fridge as well. There's also a local phone that you can use if need to call someone in a jiffy. They clean the room everyday. They also have CCTV camera 24/7 so safety is not a major issue. There's a Wellcome store in front of the building that's open 24/7 literally and 7/11 so running out of food is not an option. The hostel is like 5 minutes walking distance to Sogo and other major malls. There's also a lot of fast food chains and restaurants nearby. No problems with transportation since just down the building is a taxi stand and mini bus stand, just walk a little bit more and you can ride the double decker bus, trams and MTR. For travelers who are not fussy and just needed a clean, cheap place to stay I highly recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: For rooms in the higher floor with a better view, I highly recommend Room 1016 and Room1017. Room 31...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is a very reasonably priced hostel in a very central location of Hong Kong. The staff is very helpful in telling people how to get around the city. The rooms themselves are basic and the water pressure in the bathrooms is a bit of an issue, but it is an expensive city to live in. Being a hostel, there is a common area with everything from internet to the usual backpacker pontificating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabai_sabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

convenient location & clean bathroom. Wellcome supermarket across the street. Causeway Bay MTR exit E. only drawback is WiFi doesn't work. free internet on 2 PC's from 9 am till 11 pm with 15min quota. HP 3in1 scanner,fax & printer available. their Canon scanner is out of order. microwave and hot water at lobby is a big plus for those wanting to heat up bagels or croissants for breakfast. there's a common fridge. next time i bring my wife & baby daughter to Disney & Ocean Park, I'll stay here again; but in a bigger room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxus88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#307 of 727 in Hong Kong
277 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 162 in Hong Kong
601 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#22 of 162 in Hong Kong
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#24 of 162 in Hong Kong
310 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Causeway Bay Inn
Causeway Bay Inn
#12 of 162 in Hong Kong
111 reviews
Mong Kok
Geo-Home Holiday Hotel
Geo-Home Holiday Hotel
#75 of 162 in Hong Kong
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hostel HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hostel HK

Address: A1, 9/F, No.47 Paterson Street, 3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £25 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Hostel HK 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Hostel HK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hostel Hk Hotel Hong Kong
Comfort Hostel HK Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing