We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hop Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hop Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Location and Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a hostel, and not hotel. The location is great, close to Nathan road, BTS and places to eat if wanting to grab a quick meal. We had stayed in triple room, which was not huge - this is Hong Kong but was big enough after all you only need a place to sleep. It is very clean, and the ladies at reception are great in keeping you informed of weather and what is best to do if you have limited time in Hong Kong. Also the rooftop area and commom area is great just to relax and have some time out after long day Overall I would recommend, this to fellow travellers and would stay again if back in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    235
    50
    11
    9
See reviews for
63
135
104
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I had a 2 night stay at Hop Inn at Carnavon in the single room. The room is small yet adequately furnished with whimsical wall painting and bathroom. The facilities are minimal. If there are so many things to do outside, you certainly won't be staying in the room for too long.

The hostel is near exit A2 of Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station. There are many eateries and a few convenience stores along the street. The hostel occupied the whole of 9th level. Waiting for the only lift serving alternative floors can take some time. Wifi is available throughout the place. There is a common room with DVD to borrow, drinks for sale and water dispenser for guests to use. Rooms and parts of the corridor can only be accessible by your card. Security is ensured. There is a small window in my room overlooking the busy streets that intersect.

Wifi signal is strong. However, the wall and door are not really soundproof as you can hear doors opening and footsteps outside your room. TV channels are limited but you have access to the collection of DVD in the common room.

If you need tickets to various attractions in HK, do check with the reception counter for discounted tickets. Savings can be substantial if you are going to a few of the ticketed attractions. Staff of Hop Inn is friendly. I was shown to my room and brief instructions were given on the various switches inside. My only gripe was there is only one power socket in the room, making charging of multiple electronic devices impossible.

I chose a hostel nestled among the overlapping buildings of HK to have a more authentic experience. My choice is right! I will definitely choose Hop Inn if I am coming back to HK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluemist11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Can't say enough about this hostel. Perfect location in TST. It was clean, the staff helpful and courteous. Cute roof top patio and common room. Some beverages like water and beer available for purchase. 7/11right downstairs. We had a double room with twin beds. Word of warning the bathroom has glass walls with a shower curtain for privacy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank Patty103_103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good location. Near mtr, good food around, near shopping area. Consider very good if u looking for budget stay. Room is good. Toilet is good. Free wifi. The staff was oso very nice to actually let us check in way earlier before the check in time so we could rest first.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shumin156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay in hong kong. Close to everything. Very easy to find. I enjoyed the dvds that u can rent for free. They also offer free water just bring your own bottle with you. The good this about hop inn is that you can deposit via paypal, and deposit is only 10%. Usually other inns require credit cards. They only have limited rooms so book in advance. They also offer free hong kong maps at the reception area. I will definitely visit again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was my 2nd time staying with Hop Inn and it was as good as the last. Both times I stayed in a Double Room. Granted, the walls (ear plugs recommended for light sleepers) & pillows are pretty thin (bring an inflatable pillow to help). The room is really small but so are all the other hotels in Hong Kong where space comes at a premium. However, the hostel is incredibly clean, has ensuite bathrooms and free wifi! At less than SGD 60 per person per night, it is an incredible deal for the superb location. If you are very tall, big-boned or looking for a premium hotel experience - this place is not for you.

All in all, here are some pros of staying here:
- 5 minute walk from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR
- Walking distance to plenty of good food & shopping (anything from breakfast options at 7am to supper at midnight)
- Walking distance to attractions like Avenue of Stars and the Victoria Harbour
- Free wifi & luggage storage area
- Free water dispenser in the common room

I would recommend booking months in advance to ensure you get a room. They are becoming increasingly popular.

I'll definitely be back! (:

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theorangepassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at Hop Inn, Hankow ( the other branch of Hop Inn, not far off from the hostel at Carnavaron Road ). It was an absolute delight to stay there as the hostel was not only located in a central area, but it was SO INCREDIBLY CLEAN and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As it was our first time in Hong Kong, we were still getting our bearings right but the Hop Inn team were always very approachable and helped to point us in the right direction when we needed some guidance. Psst..Thank you Ellen!!!:) I would like to highlight that the hostel always smells like fresh laundry. ..Needless to say the room we got was very clean, cozy and cute too!

The hostel is also located near convenience stores and malls. It's also a 10 minute walk from the Star Ferry pier, so it was literally a breeze for the feet.

Will definitely return to Hop Inn in future. Keep up the great work :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su-Yi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hop Inn

Property: Hop Inn
Address: 9/F James S. Lee Mansion, 33-35 Carnarvon Road, | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hop Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tripadvisor's CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 2015 / 2013 / 2012 Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2013 WINNER - Top 20 Bargain Hotels in China Tripadvisor's TRAVELER'S CHOICE 2012 WINNER - TRENDIEST HOTEL Most Popular Hong Kong Hostel 2012 by Hostelworld Voted the No.1 HONG KONG HOSTEL 2012 / 2011 / 2010 By Hostelworld ~ Recommended hostel by Lonely Planet / Fodor’s / Petit Fute ~ Located in TST, each living space is unique – designed and transformed into living artwork by a different talented local artist or illustrator. Whether you are travelling with only one backpack or lugging along a couple of suitcases, we are pleased to offer you a comfy, modern and clean, yet affordable, living space while offering friendly and helpful service. HOP INN is more than just lodging -- HOP into a living art space! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hop Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hop Hotel Hong Kong
Hop Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing