We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“contemporary design room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Y Loft (Youth Square)
Certificate of Excellence
philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“contemporary design room.”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Everything is great in this hotel. Nice, big, clean and comfy room. The downside of this hotel is that it has no outlet (You must bring our own adapter). It is far away from famous places ( approx 30 mins from central stn mtr). and lastly i was stuck in the elevator for 10mins.( the elevator was defective) good thing the hotel staff was there to help in spite the lateness of the night. otherwise the hotel was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    166
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
65
60
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Despite it's distance from the airport (at least an hour away via MTR and 1 hr 30 min by bus), this is a very good place to stay. I don't know if it's the cheapest, but I am very happy with the cost (HK$400 per night was what we paid). The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We have our own toilet and bath, enough space for all our baggage, a TV, and our own wi-fi router. I could have worked if I wanted to, but then again, I was on vacation. :) Each room also has two security vaults where you can keep your valuables if you're going out, a hair dryer (very useful!) and a water heater if you want to drink tea or instant coffee. Shampoo/body wash is also provided, but you have to bring your own toiletries.

The building is bigger than I expected. Apparently it's also a school and community center. There are some shops on the 4th floor where you can eat, as well as a on the 12th floor. The MTR is a few minutes walk away, and there are two buildings where you can shop for essentials and food.

The fact that they have their own laundry area is a big plus if you're staying a while and don't want to bring too much clothes. Note that you have to pay HK$30 per use. Washer & dryer is separate so that is already HK$60. There's also a limit of 6kg per load. Didn't try the gym but it was nice that they have one.

It's a little odd to navigate around here though. Our room was located on the 5th floor, but the main elevator that seems to have no access there. Instead, we had to take the main elevator, go up to the 12th floor then take the service elevator by the stairs to go down to the 5th floor. I don't know if it's really like that or if there's another way that's under renovation.

Overall, I'm satisfied with my stay. I'd pick this place the next time I go back to Hong Kong. The plus side is that the staff speaks great English (a challenge that I encountered while there) so it wasn't difficult to communicate with them. The distance is all right, as trains and buses run late so it really isn't a hassle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lunedi_enair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

very good value for the price. direct sky bridge connection to the subway., near banks, market and restaurants. only 12 mn from Wan Chai and 17 mn from Central. Very modern and very clean in a student activity high rise. Fast internet available in room or computers in the student activity computer room, all free.

Very friendly staff anxious to help out and give information about the neighbourhood or downtown. Very quite and well air conditioned.

Room Tip: top floor has better balconies on the inside garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malagamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We are a young couple, and usually stay in hostels. This place is not really a hostel, it's one up from it. For instance they advertise that there is a kitchen, but all there is in the kitchen is a microwave and a sink. This was not an issue for us, as it is cheap to eat out (or you can buy instant noodles from the 7/11 and use the kettle in your room), but travellers should be aware that the kitchen is not like hostel kitchens in Australia, USA and NZ. It is therefore, a great deal- hostel priced and hotel quality. In agreement with other reviewers, Chai Wan is not central, but the hotel is very close to the MTR station, and the metro is quick, cheap and easy into the CBD. The only other drawback is that it is a little bit difficult to find on first arrival, but if you just head towards the Youth Square (look for signposts in the MTR station), you should be able to find an entrance to a lift, and the reception is on the 12th floor.
The rooms are great- spacious, clean, modern and new. Each room has its own FREE, very fast internet which is rare in hotels in HK, and free local calls.
24 hour reception, very friendly, efficient and helpful staff.
Towels and hand soap are provided (take own bodywash and shampoo etc). The cafe down the corridor of reception is very poor, don't go there (despite discount with room card). Overall a great experience, would reccommend this place.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have twin beds (but try requesting a double bed if you want one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadagain091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Good

- Large, clean, private rooms, many with balconies facing into a central courtyard and all with ensuite facilities
- Modern custom furnishings with a zingy colour scheme.
- Big flat-screen tv with a couple of English language channels showing mainly boring British and American imports (except Big Bang Theory which is brilliant).
- Unusual room design. Enormous sink in the bedroom, separate from the rest of the ensuite bathroom.
- Direct connection to a shopping mall with shops and eateries open until late. Great if you have a late-night hankering for tiramisu.
- Power shower! Perhaps the most powerful shower head in the history of mankind. Was literally blown about the shower cubicle.
- Kettle and mugs in the room but bring your own tea bags and milk.
- Staff spoke good English and were very approachable and helpful. They could book tickets for you and had good local knowledge.
- Very quiet. No street noise at all.
- On-site laundry was spotless, easy to use and cheap. Buy tokens from reception.
- Free on-site gym looked barely used. Equipment was top of the range.
- Free Wifi in all rooms.

The Bad

- A bit of a slog to get to. The building is directly connected by flyover to Chai Wan Station on the MTR Island Line (well signposted), but to get to Hong Kong Central takes around 30 minutes.
- Finding the reception for the first time is a complete pain and navigating the building itself will make you want to punch your way through a wall to save yourself time and effort. Read my advice in the verdict below if you need some help.
- The Youth Square building has four lifts, but they always seemed to be in use when I needed them. I often had to wait several minutes for one to become available.
- Firm bed. Very firm bed. Don’t jump onto it on arrival. You’ll snap your neck. Took a little getting used to but I did so much sightseeing, I still slept like a sloth.

The Verdict

Every box ticked as far as I’m concerned. Y-Loft was comfortable, clean and modern. On the negative side, a degree of patience (and maybe a degree) is required in getting to and from the building and navigating the building itself, but this problem is almost negated by the hotel’s many positives. In other words, it was worth the hassle. Price wise, Y-Loft was a complete bargain. Book through dedicated hostel booking websites for the best deals.

Where's the Reception?

I’ve never had to write a ‘Where is the Reception?’ section before, but for Y-Loft, it is completely necessary. Finding it for the first time is a nightmare if you don’t do some research beforehand.

I’m assuming that you’ll be traveling to Y-Loft in the MTR. Take the train to Chai Wan, the last stop on the Island Line. Upon alighting, follow the signs for Exit A. Go through the doors into the New Jade Shopping Centre. Pass through the centre, veering right and pass through a second set of doors leading outside. Walk along the footbridge, then take the first right. Look up. That’s Youth Square. Look down again. You’re approaching a bizarre, user-unfriendly entrance to the building. Head straight on by stairs and slopes (not the escalator) and find the lifts. Call any lift and head for floor 12. Upon alighting the lift, turn right. Reception is just around the corner. Phew!

Where my room?

Listen carefully to the instructions given to you by the person on reception about where your room is. This building makes no sense whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MattFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was on a budget trip with my backpack through Asia and found this place on a Hostel webpage but after visiting this place I don't really know how to rate it, as it's more of a Hotel experiance than a Hostel. The main problem with this place is the location, its on the end line of one of the subway lines. It takes about 40 minutes to reach it from downtown Hong Kong. Even after exiting the station, you don't really know where to go. Had to ask the locals for the directions. The hotel lobby is on a high level and it shares the floors with a Garden Patio, a coffee/snack bar, laundry and a small gym. The rooms are big compared to other Hong Kong locations and they offer a balcony overlooking the patio Garden on the reception level. The flat TV screen in my room was attached to the wall in a silly way, cause you coudn't see it while being in bed. The bathrooms are small but clean and offer everything you need on a budget trip. The beds are comfortable and the A/C worked perfectly. The only thing that makes this place a hostel like is the fact that they don't make up your room everyday. If you want to eat anything, there is a mall on the way to the subway and also for a overnight snack you can walk to the 7eleven location block away. There is a bus running from the bus stop next to the hotel to the Hongkong Airport, it takes a while to get there, but the views are wonderful,

Room Tip: Ask a local how to get to the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomasztomczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The hotel is next to a mall, in what appears to be a residential neighborhood, and is conveniently located near the subway. While it's a bit far from the center of HK, it doesn't take long to get there by subway. (It's actually the most remote subway station, but one doesn't need to switch lines from Central.) Although not exactly a romantic hangout, the hotel has a young, modern feeling and the rooms are clean, quiet and pleasant. The staff was very nice and spoke English. In the winter, the heating isn't turned on when the temperature is over 20 degrees (C). I was cold and requested a second blanket, which was kindly provided. Because they charge by person, it's a fantastic deal if travelling alone, but still a very good deal if travelling with company. I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panruisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#3 of 158 in Hong Kong
569 reviews
The Mahjong
#1 of 158 in Hong Kong
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 158 in Hong Kong
406 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hop Inn
Hop Inn
#6 of 158 in Hong Kong
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Loft (Youth Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Loft (Youth Square)

Property: Y Loft (Youth Square)
Address: 12/F, Youth Square, No.238 Chai Wan Road | Chai Wan, Hong Kong 000000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 158 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Y Loft (Youth Square) 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Loft houses 148 rooms located in the Main Block and Hostel Block of Youth Square. Room selection includes Twin Rooms, as well as Twin Rooms With Balcony, Triple Rooms, House of Six, Duplex and Accessible Rooms. Equipped with full-service facilities like The Oasis, SkyTrack, common area, fitness centre and laundry marts, etc., Y Loft provides a perfect accommodation for budget travelers all over the world. It also offers concession rate to youth organization or youth activities held by non-profit organization or International Student Identity Card (ISIC) and International Youth Travel Card (IYTC) members. Y Loft has been awarded the Certificate of Excellence for three consecutive years in 2012 – 2014 and 2016 by TripAdvisor in recognition of its well-appointed facilities and the attentive service provided by staff. Y Loft further received a Bravo Badge and Certificate of Recognition from TripAdvisor and an online travel agent respectively, for delivering good levels of guest service and experience this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Y Loft (Youth Square) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y-Loft (Youth Square) Hotel Hong Kong
Y Loft (Youth Square) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing