We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay - not necessarly in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Y Loft (Youth Square)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights to cut travel costs slightly as HK rooms in Centre show exorbitant prices. Y-Loft occupies 12. - 14th floor of a new building. To MTR Chai Wan Station by footbridge 5 min, shops , resto nearby. Occupied a clean room w/ balcony. Indoor bathroom, quite dark and moisture due to missing window. WIFI fast. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny N, Manager at Y Loft (Youth Square), responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Andreas S,

Thank you for staying with us. Our great thanks for your valuable comment regarding Y-Loft. This is utmost motivation for our further improvement.

Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to warmly welcome you back in the near future.

Y-Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Y-loft has a great atmosphere with a really helpful staff! Although it's location is a little far from most places we had to go it is located next to a great subway station and shopping center so you'll have to account for travel time in most cases but i think it was worth it. The staff was amazing, most of us were English speakers in China for the first time, they were able to answer all of our questions and even lent out electrical convertors to those that needed one. The atmosphere in general is great, I met a lot of fellow travelers one night that we were all sitting in the lobby relaxing. The rooms are really spacious and modern, wi-fi is also available in every area of the building.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ktrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny N, Manager at Y Loft (Youth Square), responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Ktrex,

Thank you for staying with us and post your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

I would take this opportunity to extend our great thanks for your remarkable comment regarding Y-Loft. This is utmost motivation for our further improvement.

Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to warmly welcome you back in the near future.

Y-Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Non-flexible administration. We were charged 113 CAD as a penalty for canceling our reservation 36 hours in advance after we found out at the airport that there was a way around to get our Chinese visa at HK airport on the Saturday we flew in. A very similar situation happened to us in Shanghai and the hotel was very helpful. We just found 113$ to be quite an expensive penalty for not even staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cat4C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny N, Front Office Manager at Y Loft (Youth Square), responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Cat4C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor. We are sorry about the late cancellation charge applied to you last Mar due to our critical booking situation. We fully understood that there might be changes on travelling schedule but a 48-hour notification period has been honored and stated on our booking confirmation. We thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Y-Loft, Youth Square soon.

Yours sincerely
Y - Loft Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here during the end of May 2013. Incredible find and will definitely come back to Y-Loft for my future visits to Hong Kong. Rooms are very spacious, staffs are courteous and thorough with their services. At this price, this is hard to beat.

It is not right at the main shopping malls, but it is steps away from the Chai Wan MTR station. Since it is the terminal station means you can a seat every time, which is rare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelJensenWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Y Loft (Youth Square), responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear MichaelJensenWong,

Greetings from Y-Loft, Youth Square.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed stay with us. Your remarkable comment and compliment is utmost to encourage our team to maintain and improve the services. We are looking forward to warmly welcome you back in the near future.
Please don't hesitate to contact us if any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Kong
Manager, Hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Was pleasantly surprised! Good size rooms and clean, with pleasant staff. Right next to the MTR, though it's true it's a little far out from the main shopping, eating, tourist places. Breakfast was simple and a little limited but still ok. Good value for HK for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_lofty_attic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Y Loft (Youth Square), responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear the_lofty_attic,

Greetings from Y-Loft, Youth Square.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your valuable comment on the TripAdvisor. Your comment is utmost to encourage our team to retain the services and our further improvement.
On behalf of Y-Loft Team, we are looking forward to warmly welcome you back to Hong Kong in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Kong
Manager, Hostel
Y-Loft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel! It was far from the hustle and bustle of Central HK but it was so conveniently located near the Chai Wan MTR. We didn't mind that it was a bit far from the City. The rooms were huge by HK standards. The staff were very nice and accomodating and can speak English! We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Y Loft (Youth Square), responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Tessa N,

Greetings from Y-Loft, Youth Square.

First of all, thank you for your recent stay with and trust you enjoyed your stay with us. I would take this opportunity to extend our appreciation that your remarkable comment. It is utmost encourage for our team and our service retention that it pride itself on.
Once again, thank you very much and looking forward to warmly welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Kong
Manager, Hostel
Y-Loft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very safe. Ensures a good security for everyone. Area is okay, there's a mall next to it and an MTR station nearby. However, it's quite secluded and is kinda far from the city area. So if u want to step out of ur comfort zone, step out of ur hotel to live a calm peaceful HK type of residence

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Zulkarnain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Manager at Y Loft (Youth Square), responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Zulkarnain H,

Greetings from Y-Loft, Youth Square.

First of all, thank you for your recent stay and trust you enjoyed stay with us. Thank you for your valuable comment on TripAdvisor for our improvement and maintain the standard of the service that pride it self on.
Thank you once again and looking forward to warmly welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Kong
Manager, Hostel
Y-Loft, Youth Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 164 in Hong Kong
608 reviews
The Mahjong
#1 of 164 in Hong Kong
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 164 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hop Inn
Hop Inn
#6 of 164 in Hong Kong
511 reviews
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#23 of 164 in Hong Kong
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Loft (Youth Square)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Loft (Youth Square)

Address: 12/F, Youth Square, No.238 Chai Wan Road | Chai Wan, Hong Kong 000000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £46 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Y Loft (Youth Square) 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Loft houses 148 rooms located in the Main Block and Hostel Block of Youth Square. Room selection includes Twin Rooms, as well as Twin Rooms With Balcony, Triple Rooms, House of Six, Duplex and Accessible Rooms. Equipped with full-service facilities like The Oasis, SkyTrack, common area, fitness centre and laundry marts, etc., Y Loft provides a perfect accommodation for budget travelers all over the world. It also offers concession rate to youth organization or youth activities held by non-profit organization or International Student Identity Card (ISIC) and International Youth Travel Card (IYTC) members. Y Loft has been awarded the Certificate of Excellence for three consecutive years in 2012 – 2014 and 2016 by TripAdvisor in recognition of its well-appointed facilities and the attentive service provided by staff. Y Loft further received a Bravo Badge and Certificate of Recognition from TripAdvisor and an online travel agent respectively, for delivering good levels of guest service and experience this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Y Loft (Youth Square) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y-Loft (Youth Square) Hotel Hong Kong
Y Loft (Youth Square) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing