We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend stay with families :P” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noah's Ark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Noah's Ark Resort
Ranked #195 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend stay with families :P”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Went there with 3 other GFs for a relaxing weekend stay at Ma Wan. We did not have much expectation before we checked-in for we knew it's hostel instead of hotel. However, the facilities inside our room was out of our expectation and comparable to that of hotel. Besides, its proximity to the beach at Ma Wan allowed us to enjoy the beach and the nice dinner next to it.

Will defn recommend it to other friends!

Room Tip: This time we got upgraded from 4-person to 8-person room for free because all the 4-person rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feichit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    46
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This hotel locates inside the Noah's Ark Theme Park and the theme park locates in a small residential island called Ma Wan which is near the Tsing Ma Bridge. It's far away from all major tourist attractions, business area, or shopping area.

I chose this hotel because my family wanted to visit the theme park. The theme park is a good choice only if you have young kids as there aren't much to see except some indoor exhibitions and kid activities.

The room is decent with a modern accent with a large flat-screen TV. There' a nice balcony which you can use to access the outdoor area. Free wi-fi is available in room -- ask the front desk staff to give you the password to access the service upon check in.

The breakfast included in the room price is disappointing as food choices are non-existent! There's a "choice" of chicken sausage, eggs, toast and fried noodles served with coffee or tea only.

I would urge you to instead access a nearby public beach (only a 2-minute walk from the hotel) with several restaurants or a 15 minute walk to the pier nearby for some much better choices.

This is a small hotel with only a few dozen rooms so it is usually quiet. Not a bad choice if you want a quick escape from the bustling city center. Transportation to and from the hotel is easier than expected -- a 20-minute bus ride can take you to several MTR stations (Tsing Yi/Tsuen Wan/Mong Kok/Kwai Fong) or a ferry ride to Central.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ruadocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our family of four had a pleasant short stay at Noah's Ark. The rooms are modern, have high ceilings and lots of natural light. There is a small table with chairs. The shower has great water pressure. The staff are very helpful. Our shower flooded the bathroom at first use, but hotel staff immediately dispatched a team to resolve the issue -- and it stayed resolved. There are complimentary shampoo dispensers in the shower, though the soap dispensers at the sink didn't function very well. Our only complaint was that the beds are very hard. The kids slept fine but we weren't too comfortable in our bunk beds. It'd be great if the hotel offered family rooms with a double bed for adults and bunk beds for the kids. The hotel is nicely situated on Park Island. We walked along the beach, enjoyed local food at a nearby town square, and had an easy ferry ride to Hong Kong attractions. Breakfast is served in a spacious and light-filled room looking out on the water. The noodles were great. The most inconvenient aspect of the hotel is the ill-defined route you must take to reach reception from the airport shuttle bus stop. The hotel could do better with signs explaining where to go, and perhaps have someone on hand to help with bags. We gave the resort theme park itself a skip and don't think we missed anything. All in all, a decent place to spend a couple of nights away from the bustle of Hong Kong proper.

Room Tip: There seem to be only two options: double room for couples or bunk beds for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnzeWereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Nice scenery and near the beach. It's very silent at night. The room and toilet are very clean. It's awesome that 8 bedroom attached 2 bathroom inside. It's help us to save our time.
The location of hotel is a bit far from City but you can either choose to take bus to "Tsing Yi" or take ferry to "Sheung Wan". It's very convenient and 24 hours Bus services there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

In our year end trip to Hong Kong in 2010, we decided to stay one night here before moving over to the Disneyland Hollywood.
There were 9 of us so we booked two 4-bed dormitory rooms and a twin-bedded room. The kids loved the dormitory rooms with the bunk beds and the private reading lights. The rooms did look rather nice. The dormitory rooms and the normal double/twin room are on separate sides of the building, with the reception in the centre.
When we were there, there was a group of school children staying in the dormitories and they were indeed noisy. Because of the visiting school kids, the restaurant was crowded, noisy, and not much food was left when we got down. The free breakfast was simple with eggs, noodles, fried rice, sausages and toast along with coffee and tea. It was hazy that day otherwise the view from the restaurant would have been magnificent.
We visited the park after breakfast, and took many pictures. It is not the usual theme park setting, so it has no pool, no ride, no show. If you specially make a trip to the park and expect all these, you will be disappointed.
If you don't need all those theme park features, you could do well by taking it easy, spend a few hours inside the park, then take the shuttle to the city to eat lunch, look see around, take the ferry back and stay a night on the island, you might like this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LemonJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanchang, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Noah's Ark in Hong Kong was selected as a last minute stop over while returning from mainland China. The cost was OK, especially given typical Hong Kong prices. However, the advice I received that I could get a taxi from the airport was incorrect. That is ONLY true between 7 am and 8 pm. Outside that time, you must take the bus, and you must have exact change!

I finally found that out, finally found the bus, finally got to the bus stop ... and was not sure where to find the hotel inside the gated community within which it resides. After some searching I found a sign, and followed it ... and followed it ... and followed it. Down some stairs, along a beachside footpath, up some stairs, past a security guard I had to awake to check that I was in the right place, more walking and FINALLY an elevator and the registration desk.

I was able to check in relatively easily, and got to my room. Ah! They provided free water. But wait ... it is DISTILLED water which is almost as bad for you as drinking ordinary tap water in most cities. Distilled water wants to be at equilibrium with your body so the first thing it will do is suck the nutrients and minerals from your body until it is in equilibrium. It may not be much if you have only a small amount, but if you drink distilled water regularly over a period of time, then you are basically taking your vitamins and minerals and removing them from your body.

When I complained, the front desk person offered to allow me to purchase some bottled water from the vending machine. The next morning I was given a bottle from the machine, but the front desk commented that most of their customers wanted distilled water. Actually I doubt their customers thought about it.

The bed was fine, but the room I had was right next door to a noisy family that stayed up quite late.

The breakfast was pitiful, and what was worst was the coffee was some horrible pre-packaged stuff that tasted like instant coffee. I could not stomach it. I decided not to have the soy noodles or the sludgy scrambled eggs with "ham", and settled for a couple of pieces of toast. I made a hasty retreat for the airport where I was able to find good coffee at the Pacific Brewing Company.

So all in all, I suppose it was worth what I paid for the room, but there are a lot of problems - access, water, breakfast, bad coffee. The beach looked nice, and there were a few other restaurants along the beachside footpath, but they had restricted hours.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcn_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a nice clean and completely quiet hostel with well designed rooms and beautiful grounds in what appears to be a completely safe community. It is also amazingly well priced compared to the rest of Hong Kong which can get very pricey.

That said the place also has a real weird vibe. The place has a huge park and conference facility with no one in it. That and the very remote location which requires a bus or ferry ride to get anywhere just gives this place a really weird feel. If coming here wear walking shoes and pack lightly, you will be walking a good long ways. It is poorly signed. Your best bet when coming in at night is that when you get close to the ark from the walkway dip down toward the beach, the night entrance gate is located right down at the edge of the water and cannot be seen from the road. Also remember that you need to budget at least 45 minutes to get anywhere around HK from this hotel because of the isolated location.

The price is good and I might even stay there again, but I would not recommend to others.

Room Tip: Stay near the beach at night to get to your room, the night entrance is hidden and not well signed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DisneylandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#361 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#90 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#53 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noah's Ark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Resort

Property: Noah's Ark Resort
Address: No.33 Pak Yan Road, Ma Wan, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Ma Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Noah's Ark Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful greenery and natural habitats, the Solar Tower Camp offers visitors a quiet and relaxed atmosphere for a simpler take on life. All of our homey rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, and lockers, and our rooms for 4 to 10 people are equipped with refrigerators. Whether you’re travelling individually or in a small group of up to 10 people, you’ll find the perfect room f ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Noah's Ark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noah`s Ark Hotel Hong Kong
Noah's Ark Resort Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing