We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! if you are staying island side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
Ranked #124 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic! if you are staying island side”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

If you are staying in aberedeen or that side this is a great option. Very good rooms! don't forget to bargain.....! Good service and nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    278
    97
    27
    20
See reviews for
157
138
52
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
217 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My first impression of their service was when I landed up at 1pm on 16 April to check in. But they politely and nicely reminded me that checkin time was 2pm only. Because the room was "being done up".

Now honestly - in a hotel with ~600 rooms (almost 400+ of my type), I refuse to believe that there was no room available to give to me (and I had a corporate booking). There was only one couple waiting there before me (and only one other couple turned up till 2pm). Pretty perplexing actually. Compare this with my cheap but lovely hostel stay, where they let me check in before 11am - because the room was available!

It has nice views of the aberdeen running track and the boat club.

That aside, its a well done hotel (see the pics) and has great facilities and a shuttle service to central (else just take bus # 70).

At this price/comfort, it doesn't make sense to stay downtown and pay 2x the price.

The morning breakfast wasn't much to write home about. Pretty limited spread for the buffet actually. Quite a non-starter (I'm a non-picky Indian eggetarian who likes more than the usual breads/cornflakes)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddash-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The L'Hotel Island South is the best place to stay in Aberdeen. The service is first rate as are the amenities. The shuttle to and from Central station is very helpful, but it is on a first-come basis. If it is the weekend, the shuttle fills up fast with families going to nearby Ocean Park. The shuttles run continually throughout the day up to 11:00 p.m. or so. Check the Front Desk for the schedule.

The hotel is like a pioneer here. It is situated in a factory district, and I get the feeling that L'Hotel wants to get their place secured here as this neighborhood will develop into a tourist area soon. Ocean Park and L'Hotel are just the beginning. The only drawback at the moment is this location. There are no restaurants within walking distance, however a number of busses stop nearby to take you anywhere in Hong Kong. It is a very quick bus ride to Stanley Market and all the restaurants there. Within a few more years more hotels will open here and the restaurants and bars will follow.

When we stayed, there did not seem to be much difference between the City-view, Hill-view and Aqua rooms. This may have mattered more to us if we spent more time in the room. We really just used it to rest between outings and then to sleep at night. The restaurant and bar are very good. The restaurant puts out an excellent buffet.

This is my favorite place to stay in Hong Kong. The front desk staff are very helpful, and service requests are handled promptly. One small bonus - I just love the fragrance in the hotel lobby. It makes the whole property feel so clean and fresh. The greetings when entering and exiting the main entrance make me feel very welcome here.

Room Tip: Keep checking for discounted rates as they can change frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rudolfo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

we picked this hotel because it close to ocean park and away from the city but easy to get to any place by bus. we could walk to Aberdeen central where there are shops and restaurants. the hotel shuttle bus brings you to ocean park and causeway bay which r American high end stores. Ocean park has many rides, dolphin and seal shows and the cable car that takes you to another part of the park which gives u an great view of the ocean and mountains. we didnt go to the Peak because the cable car in ocean park gives you just as nice views. Back to the hotel, im thinking 5 star, we chose the king size bedroom looking at an big mountain from the huge windows, they do have balcony rooms on the higher floors, we were on the 26th floor that didnt have an balcony. the other side of building your view would be factory buildings. there is only one restaurant, we went for the buffet at night which had everything from beef to seafood. was worth the price 800 hong Kong dollars for 2. the room was big enough along with the bath n shower. very clean and friendly staff that spoke english which is hard to find. we walked to Aberdeen to eat. it seems that the Chinese dont like to talk to us foreigners. i found that in bejing too. the taxi fare was 400 hk dollars from the airport but u can take public transport from the airport to hotel cheaper. we stayed for 4 nights.

Room Tip: learn the language lol im american and outside the hotel they didnt want to answer questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

L Hotel was surprisingly good for the price. The room was clean, well-equipped and flawless. The common area and restaurant is decorated in contemporary style as if it's a fake W hotel. However the location is tricky as it's about 20 minute drive from Central. There're shuttle buses every 30 minutes but you have to be organized to get it right on time. I missed it several times that I ended up paying for taxis. Breakfast is HK$118 extra and gym is quite small. Swimming pool is nice but facing cliff. In conclusion, if you're organized and willing to take shuttle buses, you can stay at this great hotel for so much less price!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuyoungKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Recently stayed here for three nights, and it was surprisingly good stay. It was booked on airline miles, and I wasn't hoping for much when I booked it. I knew of the proximity to Ocean Park, but I actually didn't see that many children. The rooms were bright, clean, and modern. It wasn't a big deal to get to the places we needed to go, either -- a taxi from the hotel to Central was about 60 HKD (less than $10 USD). There is also a shuttle bus that will take you to Hong Kong Station and a few other places, but we never used it. Hotels in Hong Kong can be expensive, so if you can get a good deal for this one, the out-of-the-way location is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyzcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The 'western' style breakfast (HK$110) leaves a lot to be desired, apparently they do not know how to cook scrambled or boiled eggs. Tried peeling the "hard boiled" eggs and each day they would just collapse into a gooey uncooked mess...the scrambled eggs came swimming in batter.

WATCH OUT! Local calls are HK$5/pc, nice little surprise upon checkout. Also, checkout can take awhile..took me half an hour of waiting around in a big crowd.

Also, don't rely on their free shuttles as they fill up fast and way ahead of time leaving you to wait around in a long line for taxis.

On the positive side, the price is reasonable for HK (albeit way out of the way and next to absolutely nothing) and the wifi internet is free and fast.

Oddly, when checking out you are given the option of selecting a HKD amount or a Canadian Dollar amount (USD for US cards probably).

Won't be back.

Room Tip: Hillside is just a big hill, get the city view and as high up as possible. Also, local calls aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Southside
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
633 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#71 of 718 in Hong Kong
674 reviews
Kwun Tong
L'hotel elan
L'hotel elan
#74 of 718 in Hong Kong
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#111 of 718 in Hong Kong
862 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#142 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Property: L'hotel Island South
Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#104 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Island South 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing