We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in Aberdeen with poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'hotel Island South
Ranked #121 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have family in Aberdeen and thought that we should try this nearby hotel. It's modern, new and well appointment, it's unfortunate that the staff were almost all terrible. Check in at 2am was a slow and rude, check out was slow and stupid, no one offered to help with our luggage even though we were travelling with an infant. The suite layout was poorly designed and thought out. We had 2 rooms with 3 doors to access them, very silly. Lots of little niggling things, like the pool was closed for half of our visit with no warning or apology. Breakfast was well below average and the staff again were terrible. When my wife approached them they tried to walk the other way and ignore her!
Ultimately its a new hotel with good rooms, but the staff and layout are a hassle. If you can overlook rude an inept people and inconvenient design then this might be for you.

Room Tip: If you are getting a suite, ask for one that doesn't have 3 doors to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here for 8 nights, arranged at short notice when other travel plans changed. It was my first time in Hong Kong, and this was a great base from which to explore this awesome city, even though it is a little out of the way. In fact, we liked its location, and that we didn't stay in Central or Kowloon, as it gave us a little sense of 'coming home' at the end of each day, and also spurred us to explore interesting areas like Aberdeen, which you may not if you were staying more centrally. Moreover, it was incredible value for money compared to other places we considered.

The style is contemporary and modern and it all feels well cared for. The outdoor pool on the 2nd floor terrace is really nice in general, and excellent for babies and children. Our room was a double and had such a big bed that we ditched the extra single in preference for extra floor space and all four of us slept comfortably in one bed! Wifi is free.

Concierge would advise that all restaurants are a taxi ride away, and that would largely be true, but we did discover a couple of good options if you like local Chinese food and street food. First, a great dimsum place (open morning and afternoon but not seemingly in the evening), outside the street-level back entrance (turn left). Secondly, the hot food market, can't remember the name of it, but is about 5 mins away, near the building site of the new subway. Also there's a Starbucks the other side of the highway, behind the petrol station, which comes in handy if you're not having breakfast at the hotel. Agree with other reviewers that breakfast is pretty poor, so only tried that the once. One other criticism would be that concierge, whilst very friendly, did not seem particularly knowledgeable about the city. But on the whole, we were really impressed...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

this hotel is clean, modern and stylish. The service is great. Flatscreen, good storage space in the room (cupboard to hang clothes, desk etc) The only reason I give it "very good" instead of "excellent" is because whenever I stay there the pool is closed. It is only open during certain months and I usually come in March. To me it is definitely hot enough to swim but not to the management. I haven't eaten much in the hotel and my discount rate never includes breakfast, so can't really comment on the food. If you are staying in Hong Kong because of activities around the Island South area than this is a great value place to to stay.

Room Tip: I prefer the hill facing rooms as it is quiet and you can see nice trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank transientduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed at L'Hotel, Island South for a week and was very pleasantly surprised. The location is excellent and buses run past the front door to almost every part of the island so getting around was easy. I used to live in Hong Kong and so did not want to stay in Central or pay "Central" prices. However, if this was your first trip to HK you might find the location a little out of the way. The hotel room was functional and well equiped and the gym was a good size with plenty of equipment. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnsonsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I bought the package with including one superior room and 2 X ocean park tickets.
The hotel location is quite hard to search and quite far from the central.
But it is a perfect choice for you to visit ocean park. Ocean Park can be reached from hotel with walking around 10 mins.
The room is clean. The bed is soft.
But some of the front dest staff is not professional and even no smiling to guest.
No restaurant, no convenience store near hotel.

In my personal comment, This hotel is not recommended for staying if you are not visiting ocean park.
.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

At first glance this place seems to have it all; good location, modern furnishings and decor....but so did Hitler's bunker.
Apart from anything else; you can not eat, drink or move your chairs closer while you're by the pool...in fact sitting down and shutting up to admire the concreted hillside opposite is all that the poolside offers. (except for the latest 'Now that's what I call appalling' music playlist.)
The food which requires no preparation (coffee, cheese) is ok because all they have to do is spend money on it but anything that requires the slightest bit of human contact is left severely wanting (croissants left under a desk lamp don't taste good no matter how expensive the butter is).
Basically DO NOT be fooled by the L' as it belies no Parisien charm or Bordeaux beauty whatsoever. In fact the only thing slightly French about the place is the rudeness of the staff.
All in all, find a good park bench with a starbux next door, and you (and the entire family) will have a better holiday experience than at this badly run, inhuman, boring, unfriendly "hotel".

Its as if there is native unrest just outside the gates and this joke of a hotel only houses the staff that don't have the sense to run for the hills.
Stay away...for God's sake, stay away!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

*Excellent price point especially in Hongkong where other hotels are very expensive.
*The location might be a put off for Business people as it is located around 1.5 hours from Airport, though in a quiet location.
*Construction around the hotel still going on which can be a put off.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamHereIamThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 727 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Kwun Tong
L'hotel elan
L'hotel elan
#108 of 727 in Hong Kong
659 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#68 of 727 in Hong Kong
457 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Island South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Island South

Address: No.55 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £58 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Island South 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the southern district of Hong Kong Island, the contemporary L’hotel Island South is the development of the Chinachem Group. This 37-storey hotel offers 432 spacious and design-led guestrooms and suites that are redefining conventional notions of comfort and style. As a convenience for today's global travelers, L'hotel Island South provides complimentary Wi-Fi internet connection and an array of other advanced technologies, plus superb meeting and banquet venues, a gymnasium and an outdoor pool that offer green vistas, and comprehensive business support. Complementing all of these is an eco-friendly attitude as well as a smart casual service style from our friendly and highly dynamic hotel crew. Whether for business or leisure, guests also enjoy quick and easy access to the territory's prime business, shopping, dining and entertainment hubs as well as a host of nice beaches, nature parks, plus heritage and cultural trails along the southern end of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your L'hotel Island South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Island South Hotel Hong Kong
L'Hotel Island South Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing