We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #39 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Broadwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend. Its a fantastic hotel... the staff were friendly and the rooms are beautifully decorated.
The location is excellent - short walking distance to the airport express station, central MTR and the ferries.
Literally outside the door in the morning is a local market, a great place to pick up some fruit for breakfast, its close to the bars in the evening (go for happy hour as drinks are expensive in HK) and some tasty cheap, local restaurants. We stayed on the 9th floor, which was very quiet.
We arrived at 9am after an 11 hour flight, and were able to leave our bags so we could explore until check in at 2pm.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    469
    101
    17
    15
See reviews for
142
373
183
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I loved this hotel! For those who had some negative comments about it...you are in Hong Kong! All hotels are rather small and all have small elevators that serve 30+ floors. Also be prepared to walk a bit in Hong Kong...it is ok just be ready for it :)

This hotel was great! The room was plenty big for myself and a companion (but I was alone). There was wifi at the hotel. The bed was very comfy and it was in a good location. My room did not have a view...but that is ok...I was not paying $300 plus US dollars for a room with a view at other hotels. If you fly into town...take the express line to the Hong Kong station...walk south through the big IFC mall and meander your way south and a bit west. print out a map before you go and you can find it. However expect to have a 15-20 min walk and if you have tons of luggage you may want to get a cab. I traveled rather light so it was not problem. head south on Graham street (up a hill and it looks more like an alley than a street with tons of food shops and stuff) and it takes you to Wellington, turn right and there the hotel is on your left. See my pics I took of my room and see for yourself.

There are tons of restraunts and shopping around...and Lan Kwai Fang is also nearby...5 min walk..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Me and my husband love going to hk once or twice a year. We tried some high end hotels and some more affordable locations. This hotel is definitely worth staying in. The location in superb. It's tiny, but really lovely. Will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaowaiFromShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room, thanks to a free upgrade. The room was a decent size and comfortably enough furnished. It worked well for me as a base from which to spend 3 days in HK on business. It was refreshing not to have to pay for wifi in my room (often HK$100-200 per day in other hotels). The bathroom was reasonable (very good "rainfall" style showerhead) but the lighting was not that great, making shaving slightly tricky. The hotel has no restaurant or bar so you have to go out for all refreshments; as the hotel is right in the heart of Hong Kong this is not exactly a problem. There was a minibar style fridge in the room so you could stock up with water etc if you so wished; there is a seven eleven within about 11 yards. The hotel is very conveniently placed for Central. It is very close to the Lan Kwai Fong hotel, at which I have also stayed this year. Of the two, I would tend to prefer Butterfly for longer stays as the rooms are bigger and thus less claustrophobic but I would say both hotels offer good value for money relative to the big chain hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Hotel is nice, modern and clean. Free Wifi is a nice touch too. Service is very cordial and the price is pretty reasonable for HK. The hotel is very close to Lan Kwai Fong area and to the IFC mall. Grab the airport express train for HK$100 and get off at central. Its a very simple 10 - 15 minute walk from there. Very close to the action but also not too close so the immediate surroundings are not loud. Rooms are on the smaller side, but still reasonable. If you arrive after midnight I suspect you may have a problem getting into the hotel so make sure to coordinate with them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The hotel calls itself butique, but it must be as compared to other Hong Kong hotels, as no hotel in Europe with so many floors and rooms would call itself this. Still, despite its many floors and rooms, the hotel is cosy and has a boutique feel, as there is no lobby area or other big commun spaces, so you don’t bump into other people very often.

The European-sized room was nice and clean, no smell. We had free Wi-Fi in the room, and not only in the lobby as the hotel’s own web page suggests.

The location is very good for all the main sights on the Hong Kong side – short walk to SoHo, Tram peak, Star ferry, and airport express station. You don’t need a taxi, you can walk to the hotel along the Elevated walkway (only bear in mind that there is no lift down to street level, so you’d have to carry your luggage down some 20-30 steps at the end.

There is a street marked just by the hotel, so the area might not look nice, especially in the evening after the marked closes, but before they clean up the mess, but it’s just appearances, as the neighboorhood feels totally safe (just as the rest of the city).

They don’t serve breakfast at the hotell, but there is a small café selling coffee, sandwiches and muffins a few hundred meters up along the same street (direction towards Tram peak).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo-dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I've traveled on business to China for 15 years, usually 4 trips per year. Early on, I fell in love with Hong Kong, and always spend at least 1 day / night on each trip to enjoy this beautiful city. I have always stayed on the Kowloon side. Lately, at the Butterfly on Pratt in Tsim Sha Tsui.
On this trip in late October, I stayed 2 nights at Butterfly on Wellington. What a pleasure!
I had never spent ANY time in Central, and in particular in the area near Butterfly on Wellington. So getting to the hotel by taxi from the Airport Express Central Station seemed twisted in knots. Driving down Wellington heading to the hotel, frankly I was worried I picked the wrong hotel in a dicey location....
I could not have been more wrong! Butterfly puts their hotels in the center of the greatest neighborhoods - and once we walked around, discovered that this is the place to BE in Hong Kong. Everything is in walking distance or escalator trips. So many restaurants! Pubs! Shopping! Malls! Seriously good fun for 2 days.
The Hotel is set up a little differently from the Butterfly on Pratt. The door takes you to an elevator, and reception is on the 2nd floor. Check in was easy and quick. The "lobby" was quiet, with rich wood decor and comfortable seating. We rushed up to our room, with 2 single beds for my work companion and myself. The room was fresh, clean, perfect. Not that small, I expected much tighter quarters. I have a huge luggage case, and was able to open it, stow it, and keep it out of the way.
Bedding was world class, and the beds were softer than most in HK.
The bathroom was typical of the Butterfly Chain. Great detail to materials, sinks, faucets and showers. I was pleased to see that all Butterfly hotels use the same shampoo - a great citrus scent - I actually looked forward to that scent, after 2 weeks travelling in China hotels with industrial strength "complimentary" shampoos.
Finally, the view from our window looked back up Wellington street towards the esclators. The city view was awesome from our windows. The room was quiet, no noise from the streets nor the elevator. One last treat...walk up Wellington at night and look back to the Hotel. You will see huge, colorful Butterflys floating up the exterior walls of the hotel - a neat trick with LED lighting.

I highly recommend the Butterfly on Wellington, and will make this my new home base for some R&R at the end of business trips.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the more you are removed from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSk8Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 717 in Hong Kong
802 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 717 in Hong Kong
336 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#80 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,223 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,103 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 717 in Hong Kong
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Property: Butterfly on Wellington
Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing