We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #37 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 for 2 nights. The location was amazing. Right in the heart of Hong Kong, just one block from the travelator. The rooms were modern, had a nice design, even if small. The staff was helpful. Bathroom was nice. We found that the location was so great, we were able to take breaks back in our room without having to go out of our way too much. Highly recommend this hotel for the value, cleanliness and location in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froufrouBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

I choose this hotel on trip advisor as the LKF hotel recommended by office was too expensive for my business allowance. I wasn't disappointed with my choice.

When checking in they upgraded me to an executive room without asking. I also got free wifi/ internet which is always most welcome. The internet worked well and was super fast.

The hotel is in a great location, they offer great service, great rooms with fantastic views of the city, good shower/bathroom and most important a good night's sleep. What more could you ask for?. Well the only addition would be some kind of breakfast. I recently stayed in a hotel in Australia where they had the idea of Brekfast on the go for business people. This consisted of a small pack of cereal, milk, a breakfast pastry, fruit and a fruit juice. All for around 15 Austrailian dollars. I think an addition this that would add a finishing touch to this hotel.

There is plenty to eat and drink around the hotel and it is all very cheap!. The streets feel very safe late at night.

Will certainly be staying there again next time I am in Hong Kong!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

As most every review here notes, this hotel is optimally located with quick and easy access to transport, shopping, dining and area businesses. In fact if you arrive by air and take the Airport Express into HK Island, you can easily roll your light weight luggage from the station to the hotel [though a taxi is only about 25HK$].

The deluxe room was stylish and spacious by HK standards - we've paid plenty more for smaller rooms. Bathroom was also large with ample sized shower. We were on the 10th floor with windows facing two directions - one down Wellington the other facing construction... not great views but we experienced no problems with noise. Hotel team was friendly and helpful. As noted there are no rec/health facilities if that's a must on your list - but the savings is reflected in the competitive room rates offered.

If you're visiting from the mainland China and in need of any Apple products, the HK store is a ~15 min walk over to the IFC mall and the prices saving can be significant.

Dining and drink options are plentiful both in Central and up into SOHO. One suggestion is lunch at "The Square" in the nearby Exchange Building 2 - small but outstanding dim sum lunch menu, as well as additional excellent main menu dishes on offer.

Room Tip: As for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhileasFoggII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Have stayed here on our last three short visits to Hong Kong and have not found any reason to complain yet!
Great location near to the mid levels elevator and only a short walk to Hong Kong Station for the airport express if you are travelling light. No breakfast but on Hong Kong Island you are hardly stuck for a variety of options! Free WiFi internet in the ample sized room.
Staff have always been friendly and helpful and we will continue to stay here when we visit in the future.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Colleagues went to Four Seasons, Hyatt and the like on a recent trip to HK but I like trying boutique hotels and so gave this a shot. Splendid location for enjoying the restaurants and nightlife in LKF along the mid-levels escalator, convenient to the ferry, a short cab ride or 12 minute walk to office buildings of Central. I had a nice executive suite room for a cost much lower than at the aforementioned hotels but as nice as a typical high 4 star room. No room service or gym, but u are surrounded by restaurants and food stands and with Inge to do. Only disappointment was that being a very early arrival meant few room choices and a suite on a low floor with a view of a brick wall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in Executive Room on 22nd floor given an offer to upgrade as I was staying here more than 1 week. Room is spacious, clean and also very quiet despite of the location - as this hotel is situated close to SOHO and street markets, it's a bit nosy from morning till night.
Easy to access to Central, SOHO, MTR, and Ferry terminals. All is walkable.
In neighborhood, you'll find local restaurants - there's a good congee restaurant and a noodle shop nearby, or if going up by mid level escalator, you'll find lots of international restaurants and bars where are always busy with foreigners.

Hotel receptionists are always helpful - on weekend we asked to borrow cutlery, wine glasses, wine opener and wine cooler, then they tried to get them for us even though they do no have such things since they do not have a restaurant or cafe... Suppose they went to borrow these from neighbor restaurants.... Wine cooler was full of ices...We are grateful for their outstanding services.

Overall, I recommend this hotel - but would be better to book as earliest as possible since it seems this hotel is fully booked always...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YukiTakeuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Love the location, its close to everything, 5 minutes walk to get to metro station, Soho area, restaurants. Rooms are small and clean, but amenities are adequate for short stay. Not much facilities in the hotel though, it's a good choice if you just need a room in central area at a reasonable price. Reception service is excellent, very efficient and welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#22 of 726 in Hong Kong
832 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#21 of 726 in Hong Kong
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,004 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,342 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £105 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing