We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Wellington
Ranked #39 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I used to live in HK. Did for 14 years. It's definitely one of my absolute favourite cities in the world. So on a recent trip (with new husband in tow) I wanted a hotel that really performed. Close to the night life. Walking distance to the shops & restaurants. Easy in & out location to get to the MTR (train service) so naturally first thing I did was go on Tripadvisor to check out any new offerings. I left HK 12 years ago & things change. I knew Tripadvisor would show all the new places & luckily I know all the areas. I wanted to be in Central. I wanted stylish, boutique style accommodation. I didn't want to pay hundreds & hundreds of $$$. I wanted a lot. And did I get it. Of course I did. I booked the Butterfly Hotel on Wellington St. Fab location. Super personalised service. Lovely spacious (by HK standards) room. Amazing price. No downside other than no view. However you can put another 0 at the end of the price tag for that

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback from your recent stays with us. We are very happy to read your review and pleased to have offer you a highly valuable stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed the location as well as the personalized services so much, we look forward to welcoming you back to Butterfly on Wellington soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
There are newer reviews for Butterfly on Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I'm travelling in Hk from long time . this is the second time I booked in this hotel , as the location is great . you can walk easily to Central , LKF , MTR station and upper levels . escalator to Soho is just few steps away . It will be simply perfect if breakfast would be available . they said you can take cookies and coffee at the reception but it's quite impossible to find them even after 5 minutes they open . but you have many options around once out of the hotel . I would reccomend this hotel to my friends .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks so much for visiting us for the second time and we are glad to have impressed you again. Next time when you're coming back we will definitely give you some wonderful recommendations on breakfast and dining. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

On a recent short (one night) stopover in Hong Kong, we were looking for a centrally located hotel with easy airport access.

Having a preference for boutique hotels as opposed to sterile chains and cavernous lobbies, we opted for Butterfly on Wellington and it was truly outstanding.

Leaving our main luggage at the excellent Left Baggage facility at Hong Kong airport (terminal 2 - about USD20 per piece per day), we took the Airport Express to Hong Kong station - a short 20 minute trip for about USD12.

With only carry on bags, we were readily able to complete the walk from the station to the hotel in about 10 minutes.

The check-in was quick and efficient, and the room was a delight.

Butterfly has gone to great lengths to ensure comfort and convenience, with an emphasis on quality fittings and consumables.

The high speed wi-fi was free, a choice of pillow firmness welcome, and the provision of a Nespresso machine a pleasant change from instant coffee sachets.

Given the outside bustle, inside the hotel is extremely quiet, and a good night's sleep was easy.

Before that however, we took advantage of the Butterfly's great location to wander into the Soho area and find a wonderful Italian restaurant for dinner.

In summary, we recommend highly and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Great to hear what a fantastic experience you had with us. It's definitely encouraging to understand that our hotel quality and comfort level impressed you well, we will keep up our outstanding standard and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband, our 10 month old boy and I stayed at Butterfly hotel on Wellington Rd, Central in May 2014, we had an Ex signature suit located on the top floor. The room was spacious for a crawling baby, a good cot and linen were provided and the bathroom was a good size as well, for HK standards.

The staff were always accommodating and love babies, the hotel is in a great central location, wet markets right around the corner. Prams are not ideal for central HK, a baby carrier is best. Good coffee and tea facilities in room provided and bar fridge.

If there was 1 improvement it would be that the carpets need an update.

Congrats guys on a well run and maintained property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larrymull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

It’s great to know you had a fantastic time at Butterfly on Wellington. We hope to make you next stay with us an even better experience, thus thank a lot for letting us know your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the second half of our week in H.K. The first hotel was paid by work, this was now personal vacation.

All the staff was very helpful, getting checked in was a breeze, helping us get a cab to lunch straight away, replacing the fridge when it wasn't keeping cold, we were very pleased with the level of service at The Butterfly.

We stayed in a deluxe room and had a view up Wellington St. towards the mid-level escalators and it was so fun to look over the neighborhood! The room was cozy but well appointed, we appreciated the fridge being empty so we could stock it with our own snacks. Electrical outlets were smartly placed- an issue with some places! and they had an adapter in the room. The bathroom door isn't the most private, it slides shut and doesn't seal, so there's a small gap between it and the wall but the shower pressure was good.

Location is fabulous. Close to MTR stations, Mid-Levels, very walkable, surrounding neighborhood very fun with lots of hip shops and great restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keb0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to have delighted you with our rooms, the amenities as well as the convenience and accessibility of our hotel. It's especially encouraging to hear your wonderful words about our guest services, we look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Smart and simple fuss free hotel along one of the most popular restaurant infested streets in Central Hong Kong with excellent access to the MTR, Hong Kong station and the mid levels. A good number of highly recommended eateries (including Michelin rated) and local coffee shops are within walking distance. Rooms are on the small side typical of a boutique hotel in HK but well equipped and with blazing fast internet connection- a big positive for business travelers. Hotel staff are most helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Opt for higher floors
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Butterfly on Wellington. It sounds like you had enjoyable time staying with us and exploring the area around. Next time when you are visiting us again, we will surely give you some more travel, dining recommendation and to make your trip a refreshing and memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location for Hong Kong travelers , its close to MRT and right next door to some great restaurants . Nice sized rooms and the staff have been amazing . Very impressed . I will be definitely staying there again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

It’s our huge pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our guest services team amazing! We look forward to having you back and to impress you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 721 in Hong Kong
810 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 721 in Hong Kong
359 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,249 reviews
Sheung Wan
Travelodge Central Hollywood Road
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Wellington

Address: No.122 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £104 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address says it all. Located on one of Central's liveliest, most historic thoroughfare, mere steps away from Hong Kong finance centre and high-end shopping and entertainment nucleus, Butterfly on Wellington is a magnet for those looking for a classic boutique hotel experience in the heart of it all. From designer boutiques at the Landmark and the ifc, the nightlife of Soho and Lan Kwai Fong to the art and heritage profusion along Hollywood Road and the Central Escalator, everything you need to keep your finger on the big city pulse is right here on your doorstep. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Radiating intimate old world charms that captivate the essence of Chinese elegance and complement its historic surrounding, the 80-room hotel combine contemporary décor with branded amenities, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour front desk and sophisticated technology to create a perfect environment dedicated to both leisure and business travellers. Think device friendly docking station, or even a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Given all the helpful tools, getting to know the neighbourhood's diverse fabric of life is easy! But before you step outside, be sure to consult our 'Local Ambassadors" who might just have a story or two for you. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Central MTR subway station. -10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Butterfly on Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Wellington Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Wellington Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing