We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Butterfly on Wellington
Nearby Hotels
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Hotel ICON Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Langham, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,378)
Filter reviews
1,378 results
Traveller rating
697
542
106
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
697
542
106
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswellington streetgreat locationboutique hotellan kwai fongthe mid level escalatorshong kong stationairport expresscentral districtqueens roadexecutive roomifc mallportable wifiwet marketwalking distancerestaurants and barspocket wifinespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 1,378 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have to say that I never expected to find something so well-priced AND nice in the heart of Central, considering most of the hotels in Central are, although gorgeous, ridiculously expensive. Butterfly on Wellington is situated in one of my favourite areas in Hong Kong - within walking distance to a lot of sights and neighbourhoods, tons of the best restaurants in the city, and every form of public transit you could need. The hotel is nicely decorated, and we were surprised to find that our room was so big, considering how small most rooms in Hong Kong are (given the crazy price of real estate). Our room was North American sized, and well-equipped. It was also quiet despite the area. Our one complaint about the room is that the carpet seemed a bit musty due to humidity, but we asked for a dehumidifier, which seemed to correct the problem. Staff were friendly and professional, and check-in and check-out were quick and painless. I will definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyetotelescope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for your candid review. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient and you were impressed with our professional guest services team! We are glad to be one of your favorite hotels in Hong Kong and we’d love to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We received excellent service from guest relations manager Patricia before we even checked in. We had booked Butterfly on Hollywood but upon learning that a guest in our party is wheelchair bound, Patricia took it upon herself to visit Butterfly on Hollywood to take photos of the obstacles that a wheelchair-bound guest might face accessing that hotel and offered to change our booking to Butterfly on Wellington which was a lot more wheelchair-friendly. What's more, she offered that at the same (lower) rates we would have paid for Butterfly on Hollywood.

In addition, Patricia's great patience with our party's requests regarding room configuration was admirable. We were a big party and Patricia arranged for us to take up an entire floor (4 rooms) so we could leave the doors open and the kids could run from room to room.

In addition to the excellent service, the disabled room was truly a gem. Most disabled rooms in hotels are not truly designed for the wheelchair-bound so we weren't expecting much. The disabled room at Butterfly on Wellington was a wonderful surprise, with a proper disabled bathroom that even had a chair in the shower stall for the disabled guest.

The regular rooms were ok. Small as with most HK hotels. We appreciated the free wifi and the good water pressure. No tubs but that was not a concern to us. No king size beds as well, only queen size beds or twin beds.

Location wise, great for people wanting to get a taste of old HK with a street market right next to the hotel, a dai pai dong (hawker stall on the street) just down the street and wide variety of dining options. There is also a small supermarket just across the street and a larger Wellcome a short walk away. The main Central area with its retail shops, skyscrapers and MTR station is only a short 5-8 minute walk away and the mid-level escalator is literally just overhead.

In terms of value for money though, it's just average mainly because it's still a walk away to the retail shops and MTR station and the rooms are not big. For the same price there are other options that offer better access if you're in HK mainly to shop.

Warning for those wheelchair-bound - the street where the hotel is located is not that wheelchair-friendly unless there's someone helping to push.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for writing this comprehensive review for Butterfly on Wellington, your appreciation to Patricia and the hotel is simply encouraging. It’s always our mission to walk the extra miles to satisfy our guest’s individual needs, and we are glad to have made your trip a hassle free, enjoyable experience. Pease feel free to contact us directly for your future stay’s arrangement and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hong Kong isn't a new to us...so for this trip we found and stayed at Butterfly on Wellington which we never regret staying, the decor is filled with traditional oriental themes.

Great location to great eateries and hangout places! Can get around easily and also walking distance to MTR stations, Lan Kwai Fong and also Mid-Level area... Would like to try the rest of Butterfly hotels when I return to HK again....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonkoh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

It was our pleasure to host you and your friends! We really appreciate your kind words about the rooms and guest services. It’s lovely that we are capable to make your stay an enjoyable experience and we look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I came back to Hong Kong with a friend to enjoy and explore the city. We decided to venture off and stay in non-name boutique hotel. We're actually quite impressed with the rooms that were at this hotel. For the price and the square footage and the location you really can't be another selection especially if you're on a budget and traveling to Hong Kong. This was walking distance from Soho which has some great restaurants. Also the staff was great at giving directions and information to anything. I would recommend this hotel for anyone that doesn't want to stay in a hostile or pay five-star hotel prices go to Hong Kong

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank GlobalSShoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for such great comments. We are very happy to know everything was up to your expectations, and it’s especially encouraging that our guest services team has impressed you so. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent friendly and helpful staff with great knowledge of the area. Room was comfortable, well appointed and serviced. We cannot fault this hotel and will definitely return and recommend. Thanks especially to Jo for his assistance :)

Thank plainnotjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are very pleased to learn that you liked our hotel as well as our guest services team so much. We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful experience soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews